We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small hotel with great staff”
Review of London Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London Lodge Hotel
Ranked #312 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A small hotel with great staff”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I and my husband spent last weekend at the London Lodge Hotel.
The room and bathroom were in good condition especially considering the price we paid.
A continental breakfast consisting of cereals, yogurt, fruit, croissants, toast and fruit was included in the price but cooked breakfast could be ordered at an extra price. The service at breakfast was well as in the reception was very good the staff being efficient, smiling and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hleskogar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Hleskogar,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
Hope to see you again,
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    310
    78
    15
    7
See reviews for
151
210
127
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here in October, we had requested a quiet room but when we booked in we were next to the kitchen where you could hear every word spoken. We asked to change but were told this was impossible. When we came back from our first trip out from the hotel we were told we could have our room changed but it would be twin rooms not a double. We changed rooms and then at breakfast next morning we were told they would move us into a double, in actual fact it was a family room. The staff at this hotel could not have been more helpful, especially the girl on evening reception, she was superb. We found the continental breakfast perfectly adequate. The hotel is very well placed for seeing the sights of London. The only downside was the noise. You can hear every footfall from other rooms and if they use the shower it sounds like the tube station is next door. If you don't mind the noise then you could not be made more welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Sue A,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I sincerely thought that you would appreciate the size of the family room with it's double bed (and single bed which you obviously didn't need) especially as it was on the back of the hotel which is supposed to be quiet.
Unfortuantely, due to the age of the building (1880), occasionally there is noise from the pipes.
I'm sorry to hear that your stay wasnt a happy one and I hope your voice is back now.
Maybe we will see you again!
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at London Lodge in October 2012. As many hotels in London have small rooms and low standard bathroom that is what we expected but we were happily surprised! The hotel is about 5 min walk from Earl's court tube station on a quiet street. We arrived around 10 am and they were happy to store our bags until check in and they even put the bags in the room for us.

We got a room on the 4th floor (highest one but they have an elevator) facing the street.The room was a good sized twin bed with comfy beds, a desk, TV, hair dryer, mini-bar and safe. They put in a kettle if you want. The bathroom was of high standard with a whirlpool (!) and well functioning shower. Breakfast was included for us (cereals, fruit, toast, jam, coffee and juice) and you could order warm breakfast for an extra charge.

The minus is that internet access isn't free and actually quite expensive. Why not just have it open? And the heat didn't turn on when the weather got colder, but since we were only there for two nights that wasn't a big problem. The staff is however really friendly and we could borrow electric adapters (of course we forgot ours) without a problem.

Overall this was a nice experience and a very friendly atmosphere!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SannaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear SannaE,
Thank you for your nice review, it is greatly appreciated.
You will be pleased to hear that the heating is now on! Unfortunately, we don't supply the internet which is why it is chargeable but there are many cafe's, bars and restaurants nearby with free internet.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We just got back from a wonderful four night stay at the London Lodge. It was absolutely perfect for our vacation. Very close to the Underground (although being from Canada we did make the mistake of following signs to the subway a few times...). Walking distance to the Victoria and Albert museum and Natural History museum. The front desk staff went above and beyond what was necessary to be helpful. They recommended restaurants, got us extra sheets, helped us book a cab for our flight home, asked how our day was, always remembered us. The breakfast was a wonderful way to start the day and for a small extra charge could be delivered early to your room (the morning we went to Stonehenge we left before 7:30 when breakfast started, so this was particularly useful to us). My husband also tried the English breakfast, which was a filling start to a busy day. I saw some complaints on here about the elevator size, which worried me a little because we have recently travelled all over Greece, Italy and France and some elevators we had to send our luggage up while we ran the stairs. The London Lodge elevator was spacious compared to other European ones we have experienced, we easily fit 4 people and 4 pieces of luggage - I suspect the problem might be more the size of the people trying to fit in. The rooms were clean and cozy, the decoration matched the hotel perfectly, we slept well after our busy days in London, even the room we had on the first floor facing the street was quiet. I have nothing but wondeful things to say about this hotel and especially the staff. Thank you for making our quick weekend vacation to London a success!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karebear85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Karebear85,
THank you so much for your wonderful review, I'm so glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us.
I see that you travel a lot, maybe we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Once again TripAdvisor reviews were helpful and accurate, so I have to return the favor! This was a lovely hotel, really nice staff, clean room, nice bathroom, good location. I felt safe - it was a great spot for my few days in London. Just great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear ECTravelor,
Thank you for your kind review.
We always appreciate any feedback.
Look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the London Lodge Hotel from 3 to 5 October 2012. I would say the main selling point of the hotel is the quality of its staff - without exception, all of them were so accommodating, friendly and helpful. The old adage, "the biggest asset of any organisation is its staff" certainly holds true here. Stayed in a single room (Room 23) and this was ideal. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the breakfast was of a high standard. Service at breakfast was so attentive and polite. As for location, prior to my arrival at Earls Court Underground, I had initially thought the hotel would be tricky to find and be quite some way from the station. Not the case - it's more or less a straight but fairly short walk (about 6 minutes or so) along Earls Court Road followed by a right turn into Lexham Gardens. So easy to find...and my sense of direction is not the best!
Overall, very pleased I stayed there.

Next time I'm in London, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hi Gerard_Glasgow,
Thank you SO much for your wonderful review.
We really appreciate your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to your return!

Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We just got back from a holiday that started at the London lodge hotel. we had a fantastic experience there. Very clean, comfortable, and the staff was amazing. For the price you can't go wrong. we had very little trouble using the tube and buses as the location great as well. Many thanks to the evening reception gal from Spain that helped us with our next leg of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear 29CJ,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#433 of 1,067 in London
764 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#309 of 1,067 in London
511 reviews
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#502 of 1,067 in London
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Rockwell
The Rockwell
#272 of 1,067 in London
616 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#177 of 1,067 in London
939 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#280 of 1,067 in London
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Lodge Hotel

Property: London Lodge Hotel
Address: 134 / 136 Lexham Gardens, London W8 6JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#266 Family Hotel in London
#301 Business Hotel in London
#340 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — London Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London Lodge Hotel is situated in the quiet and historic Kensington area of London; it is approximately 4 minutes walk from Earl’s Court underground station and this prestigious Town House hotel has a style and charm all of its own. London Lodge is sumptuous in its furnishings, attentive in its service and convenient in its location. Bedrooms have air-conditioning and the high level of facilities that is nowadays expected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your London Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel London
London Lodge Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing