We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott Brand on Ritzy Road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Ranked #218 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Pukalani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marriott Brand on Ritzy Road”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

Comfortable American-size rooms on Park Lane. You'd be amiss to expect service at par to the neighboring Dorchester or Four Season and it doesn't compare to other JW hotels in Asia which can be quite spectacular. The hotel construction is grand and I appreciate the attention to detail: large towel warmers in the bathrooms, substantial pillows and full bedding, elegant electronic room keys, and the hotel's own china with Grosvenor House design throughout. Visiting from the States you will feel at home.

Unfortunately the hotel felt servery understaffed. Always a queue at the front desk and at the concierge. We hosted friends on three occasions in the lobby tea room... service was slow and inattentive. I was forced to fetch our waitress for orders, refill, etc.

We stayed on the executive level with access to a crowded lounge. Same here as in the lobby. Rubbish and half eaten biscuits were left piling up on tables while the few staff members rushed around trying to keep the space as tidy as possible. The food offering at breakfast and hors d'oeurves was quite minimal.

Beyond these annoyances expect a friendly staff and, of course, a grand location perfect for visiting London. However, if you are looking for a Marriott n London I recommend the Grosvenor Square hotel before this property.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    706
    271
    117
    59
See reviews for
445
862
123
694
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

We spent just one night here and were extremely disappointed. We tried to check in early as we were meeting up with a group at a lunch within the hotel. No non-smoking rooms were available and we were told we'd receive a telephone call when one was ready. The call did not arrive. We found reception staff to be unfriendly and aloof, as though doing us a favour by speaking with us, and trying to sell us an upgrade at £30 + VAT.

We presented ourselves back at reception at 6pm to be told we'd been allocated a smoking room! It took some considerable time to be allocated a non-smoking room. Reception staff just don't seem to care and obviously don't listen.

The room we were eventually allocated was beautifully decorated and furnished, and provided with good quality bedding and towels, although extremely small. Bathroom was lovely. Housekeeping was excellent.

We were obliged to queue 20 minutes for a table at breakfast, the dining room was in absolute chaos and staff were disorganised and seemed to be under pressure, perhaps there was insufficient staff on duty.

Breakfast offered a wonderful choiceand variety of very good quality food.

Parking is available at a whopping £42 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

This is a lovely hotel which I mentioned to the check out staff that I would certainly give my review at TA and I got it at priceline & again I am goin back this Feb11. Prompt check-in and room is extremely clean. (I called the hotel to request for non-smoking room and they reply to my e-mail in seconds, this Marriott is definitely higher end than Marriott Park Lane which we stayed in Feb10 & I don't mind walking a bit further from the Marble Arch tube station for the extra comfort of this hotel). Concierge is also highly praised for their professional service render. Keep it up & can't wait to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Li L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

Beautifully located, great staff, Absolutely amazing steaks ( in my expert opinion the best steaks I have ever had anywhere) . Great rooms. Lovely lounge for club floor guests with lots of stuff to eat and complimentary drinks. A special counter to get you the best seats to any play you want to see in London ( don't miss the lion king)

Just no complaints. If you don't mind putting your hand a little deeper into your pocket then staying here is an absolute no brainer.

Booking in advance off their website had some great deals often.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shivens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

We wanted to stay in Mayfair, but not at the steep tariffs normally charged. Worked Priceline and landed the J.W. Marriott, Grosvenor House. What a treat. Completely refurbished. Everything from incoming reception (yes, reception and thank you Ann), room service, food and bar experience was top of the line. We upgraded to the next level room for only 30£. Location was great too; easy walk to Marble Arch Tube, but taxis made more sense while staying here. Great neighborhood dining options (think Scotts for seafood. Oh, yes and those with high-end car envy will have more neighborhood eye candy than they can handle.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariahbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

This is a JW Marriott hotel. It's not an old English dame, but a high end American chain hotel which has retained the name "Grosvenor". This is not a criticism - I love the consistent quality of the Marriott brand, it's just that you won't find much English eccentricity in these accommodations. And for me that was great. I can just visualize a marketing team at Marriott corporate headquarters in Bethesda Maryland looking at focus group reports on the name "Grosvenor".

All this is not to say the hotel doesn't retain a certain amount of wonderful English charm and character mixed with top notch service. The rooms are beatifully appointed with sensitively chosen bathroom fittings, luxurious drapes and the best linens. Maid service is top notch and discreet, and there are wonderful little surprises like bath salts, turndown chocolates and luxurious touches that make all the difference.

The platinum lounge is also wonderful with a delicious breakfast selection and a great tea room atmosphere.

All up, it's exactly what you would expect from a JW in London - excellent service, luxurious accommodations and a very high quality product.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmppwwzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Hard to fault this hotel...from friendly welcome, spacious reception area, "newly decorated" appearance, lovely room (perhaps not the biggest but very tastfully decorated).
Those who love steaks must visit the JW steakhouse, but make sure your wallet is healthy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G4CHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Mayfair
Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#326 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel

Property: Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Address: Grosvenor House 86-90 Park Lane, London W1K 7TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Business Hotel in London
#151 Family Hotel in London
#166 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel is a landmark 5-star hotel on Park Lane, Mayfair offering luxurious guest rooms & suites, high quality dining and 24 hour fitness center. Our hotel's ideal location is just steps from Hyde Park and a short trip from Buckingham Palace or the London Eye. The hotel also boasts elegant and expansive meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Marriott, Cancelon, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott London
Grosvenor Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott London
London Marriott
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing