We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Ranked #214 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

After reading the reviews, I was worried about the quality of the hotel. I must say, some of the reviews were probably a bit harsh. Our room was beautiful, well decorated, with a comfortable bed. The staff at the front desk was extremely friendly and the hotel more than lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salli_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,404
    736
    281
    120
    67
See reviews for
472
909
131
721
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I stayed at this hotel in December 2008 and it was a poor experience. Back then, the hotel had just opened under the new branding odf JW Marriott and was still finding its feet. After nearly 2 years, decided to return and try it again.

On checking in (I am a Platinum Marriott Rewards member) I was greeted warmly and the Duty Manager actually escorted me to the room. To be fair, they had remembered on my last trip that I had to complain about noise and service quality sisues, so they were out to impress!!

The room, a spacious corner room overlooked Hyde Park and was wonderful. I visited the Executive lounge that evening and was pleased to find that complimentary food and drinks (including free flowing Champagne) are still available between 6pm-8pm. The Exective lounge is an excellent perk and on this stay, was very quiet throughout my 2 day stay. Continental breakfast is served daily from 6am-10am. a delicious afternoon tea aof sandwiches and warm scones with jam and clotted cream is also served daily from 3pm-5pm. I found all staff from housekeeping to Management, very friendly throughout and everyone had time for a quiet word or two.

Had dinner on my final night at the newly opened, JW Steakhouse - the food was amazing and well worth a visit - servcie was attentive and friendly throughout.

I found my room very comfortable and really enjoyed my visit. The hotel is not cheap, but you do get what you pay for - so if you are after luxury with friendly service - this hotel is worth a visit.

I will be back and already have my next trip booked.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

This hotel used to be a great hotel with brilliant service and a lovely ambiance. I have stayed here every time I´ve been to London for 10-15 years, but no more! The three last stayes have been very disappointing, and despite of the staffs promises to "have their manager call me after the weekend", I have never heard anything from them again. The first time this happened, I thought there had been a mistake, but after three occurences of the same issues, I have resorted to changing hotel. When I asked for something, I had to remind the staff several times before the problems were fixed. I will not list all problems, as I don´t have the time, but here are a few of them: My fiance and I asked for separate duvays at our arrival at the hotel in the morning.
*The following evening, we asked again. The following morning we asked again, and four eight later they had still not acomplished to change them and we gave up.
* I delivered a blouse for cleaning and specified "no ironing" on the label. The blouse was ironed and ruined, but they still hang it on my door withour even mentioning that they had ruined it. When I noticed, they appologised but did nothing about it. I asked to speak to the manager, they told me that he would call me after the weekend but he never did.
*I became ill at one time when I was there, and called housekeeping to get some extra towels. I waited three hours and called four times to remind them. Finally, I had to get dressed and go to the reception myself to get the towels.
*Some of the rooms are very small and some of the so-called double beds are only one and a half bed.
I have stayed in connecting rooms, suites and normal single- and double-rooms and the quality is very varying within each booking category. If you are so unfourtunate to have to stay at this hotel, make sure you get everything fixed while you are there and don´t believe the staff if they say they will have someone call you - it will never happen! (Please excuse my bad English).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying-Duchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This is a wonderful hotel right on Hyde Park. The kids loved it when our taxi pulled up in front of the hotel and the doorman was wearing a velvet top hat and tails. The staff was very pleasant and very accommodating. One thing they don't have is ice machines - ice had to be requested through room service. The large rooms are decorated beautifully and the bathrooms are wonderful. On one street away from the hotel (away from Hyde Park) there are a lot of cafes and a small convenience store. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerfromMD41353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We used Reward Points to book so I cannot tell you the actual cost of the rooms.

The location was perfect, just a five to 10 minute walk from the tube station.

Our room was not ready at 3:00pm but the hotel staff were kind enough to offer us free coffee and pastries from the coffee shop while we waited for just 30 minutes.

The room was very nice with most likely the most comfortable bed I have slept in for quite some time.

What can I say? its a JW and I have never stayed at a bad JW.

Taxi ride to LHR was around 60 pounds

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

nice big room, huge comfy bed, his and her sinks in the bathroom, which again was huge.

Terrible view though and a handyman came into our room when we were sleeping to change a bulb, which he continued to do, that really irritated me.

Good location though, 10 minutes walk from Oxford St and 2 minutes from Hyde Park.

Also, the most extortionate cup of tea ever, but it was worth it !!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dons1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

After having read about problems with rooms, I telephoned the hotel a week before arriving to make sure I was given a room with some kind of view. I had bought the room at a discounted rate, from a third party seller, Travelrepublic. I have bought many rooms through this site and have never had a problem before. I was told by reservations that I had not paid enough for my room to be able to choose a view. Very nice response, I did not think, certainly did not make me feel a valued guest. I did at least confirm that my booking was correct and when I was due to arrive.

On arrival at the Hotel, my booking did not exist, they had lost lost my booking. I was told that the failure was down to the travel site I booked with and should have booked with Marriott direct. The receptionist called travelrepublic a 2 bit organisation who dont know what they are doing. I have booked a number of hotels through this site and have had no problems before. They had me arriving on the 1st October, yet my booking was for May. They argued with me, even though I had the accommodation voucher stating the correct dates. I was told that travelrepublic must have filed the dates wrongly. I pointed out to the receptionist that I had called the Hotel the week before and all dates were confirmed as being OK. He even argued with me and told me I had not called the Hotel. I was treated in an abysmal way by the Receptionist because yet again and I quote "I had not paid enough for the room and I had booked it through a third party". I am sorry, but if someone at this Hotel, makes a decision to sell a room at a certain price, should I be penalised for buying it? The simple answer to this is NO! The receptionist made several phone calls and after 20 minutes admitted the error was the Hotels not mine or Travelrepublics but gave No apology. We were not given a coffee while we waited, no recompense, nothing whilst we waited. Very very disappointing. Not what you would expect for a Hotel of this nature.

The room was OK but complete;y soulless. Red walls, strange corridor wall paper, nice bedroom and comfy bed......and in the end wonderful views of the park. The bathroom and shower unit were not the best. Turn down service was just that, they turned the bed down. No gift, no slippers, no mat. We are talking a top 5 star property and a 3 room suite and nothing but a sheet turn down. For me, a 5 star experience begins and ends with the small things, that 4 star hotels don't give. This hotel does not know where to start with customer service, never mind the small touches.

At breakfast, I was not asked if I required toast or coffee. I was ignored by staff who were too busy talking to themselves or by managers who were busy talking to other managers or by managers introducing guests to the managers. I was sat on my own with no service. I had to ask for both coffee and toast. While waiting for my toast, a manager in a suit came over and without saying anything removed my plate of jams, whilst I was sat at the table. He lent over me without saying excuse me and took my jam and honey, unbelievably rude. Can you imagine this happening at a top USA Marriott or in the Far East. This abysmal service could only happen in a London Hotel. I had to get up and ask for them back.

I needed some information, so went to the Concierge. The prevailing could not care less about guests attitude, was even here. I asked for some information, but was served as he was also dealing with another guest. He went to google, did a search and printed off some material, that did not match what I had asked for. He could not care less.

I felt like a second class citizen at this hotel. reading other reviews about this hotel, I am not the first to be dealt with in this manner. The hotel is trading from its name and former reputation. I highly rate the Chesterfield in Mayfair. I recommend anyone thinking of booking this snob ridden ignorantly staffed hotel, to book the far superior Chesterfield, which is usually cheaper, where they know how to treat any guest. I am still looking for a London 5 star property that can match for service the Hotels I have stayed in in the USA, EU and Far East...my search continues. Would not stay again

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Chris_Cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living
Mayfair
The Dorchester
The Dorchester
#44 of 1,069 in London
1,565 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#217 of 1,069 in London
4,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel

Property: Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Address: Grosvenor House 86-90 Park Lane, London W1K 7TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Business Hotel in London
#151 Family Hotel in London
#162 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel is a landmark 5-star hotel on Park Lane, Mayfair offering luxurious guest rooms & suites, high quality dining and 24 hour fitness center. Our hotel's ideal location is just steps from Hyde Park and a short trip from Buckingham Palace or the London Eye. The hotel also boasts elegant and expansive meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott London
Grosvenor Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott London
London Marriott
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing