We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Star Stay at the Grosvenor House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Ranked #218 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Five Star Stay at the Grosvenor House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

We are frequent visitors to London having enjoyed stays with many of the more recognizable hotels but quite simply, the hospitality aspect provided by the guest relations team at the Grosvenor House before and during our stay was nothing short of outstanding.

The hotel itself is meticulously well-appointed and maintained, including the common areas and the actual guestrooms. Although the hotel is very large there is an undeniably warm and comfortable feel to the place, and that extends to the Grosvenor staff, all of whom are extremely accommodating. The Marriott team provided us with excellent service without being obtrusive -- a balance that is not always easily accomplished in the lodging industry. Guest services attention to detail is superior, right down to the coffee and cookies that were delivered to our suite with our morning wake up call. Both my husband and I got the sense that the staff had really gone the extra mile to make us comfortable. Now the only place we will stay at in London is the JW Marriott. We will go so far as to plan our schedule around the Grosvenor hotel’s availability!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonAnglophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    705
    271
    117
    59
See reviews for
445
861
123
694
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

I checked in to my room on the 4th floor (what a maze, but I got there in the end) and immediately felt at home - rare for me in hotels. It helped that I was attending a function downstairs in the Great Room that evening.

Plus points: Room size, comfortable bed, pleasant view over the street behind, good-sized bathroom including scales - a rare treat! Lots of storage space, clean and well decorated. I ordered a delicious breakfast (£27, room service), which included loads of pastries, jams, marmalade, butter toast, sausages, eggs, bacon, mushrooms, black pudding, tomatoes and tomato ketchup.

Down side: Not as many toiletries as I have come to expect of a five-star hotel, but when I called reception they quickly brought me a requested toothbrush and toothpaste. The bar was prohibitively expensive, but there was at least free bottled water. TV was a bit cumbersome to navigate. I had a long wait at check in on arrival and departure.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

This was a GREAT hotel. I'm am continually impressed with JW Marriotts worldwide. I was immediately upgraded when I arrived, but I got the feeling that all rooms, regardless of price, were fantastic. The bathroom was huge. My only comment was that, as an American, it took 2-3 minutes to figure out the shower - 4 knobs to twist. However, the location is superb, the staff is very friendly (some of the nicest EVER), and the property is gorgeous!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drbdoubek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas/Ft. Worth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed at the Grosvenor House using our Marriott points for a stay of 8 nights. Upon checking in at 1:30pm we were told the room wasn't ready due to the hotel being full, but we could use the executive lounge because of my husband's Marriott reward status. We were in there maybe 40 min's before they told us our room was ready and gave us the keys. We have nothing but good things to say about the hotel. We had a king size bed, non-smoking room. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was above average in size. The room itself was very roomy and decorated in tasteful colors and well kept furniture. We did use the lounge everyday for breakfast, and some evenings for cocktails and appetizers. This was very helpful so we didn't have to go and find something every morning for breakfast. We were here for vacation and really have no complaints. Everyone was very helpful when asked for something. When we called every evening for a wake-up call for the next morning they would ask if we would like coffee or tea delivered to us for the morning. In past reviews there were some complaints of things being "gone" when they would come back to their rooms. I don't care what class of hotel you're staying in, lock it up if you can. If we left for breakfast just to go upstairs to the lounge for 30 min's we locked valuables in the safe. Anytime we leave the room no matter what hotel we are staying at, valuables get locked up. There were no problems with outside noise. Oh, and the tube is about a 5 minute walk. If you go out the doors in the back and walk up to Mount ST. and take a left then walk about 3 blocks there are a couple of good restaurants. Serafino's and Delfino's both were pretty good, but we liked Delfino's better and the prices were fair also. We would recommend this hotel for just about anyone. No complaints here at all. It was a great stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetolearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
303 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed here last week for two nights. Our room finally appeared after walking along 8 corridors!!! We had never asked for a smoking room but we got one, thank goodness there was no smell. The room was okay, not large, but the bathroom was quite large with great amenities. The one bad thing for us was NO tea or coffee in the room, when have you ever been to a 5 star hotel in Britain that does not have tea/coffee in the room. We had to buy coffee from the cafe on several occasions, and was quite cold by the time we finally reached the room.
We ate in Bordeau the first evening with my husbands reward certificate and when we booked some 6 weeks beforehand we had said it was our anniversary. They did nothing at all, or even pass comment!!!
I was just back from 10 nights in the same named hotel in Dubai before arriving in London and this was what 5 star means!!! I have never in my life been treated the way I was in the Grosvenor House Hotel in Dubai!!! Grosvenor House London is not a patch on Grosvenor House Hotel Dubai!!!
The breakfast was a bit disappointing as well. We use the Hilton hotels a lot and usually use them while in London, and it is exceptional! I have still to find the British hotel to beat the Hilton breakfast.
The best thing about this hotel is its location, right in the centre of London.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

Hotels in the UK are not generally a great standard, but the Grosvenor was surprisingly nice and to a very high standard. I would recommend it highly. It was very modern and very high class it you want a good standard for London stay here not cheap though.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank leeabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

I have stayed in all types of hotels before and I have never before lost anything in any of these places. Although the staff was friendly at JW Grosvenor House (except security manager), they were not able to solve the mystery of disappearance of my personal items from the room. It partly ruined my vacation and I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone as I wouldn't want anybody to be worried about their things left in the room while they were out and about.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank raine04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Mayfair
Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#326 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel

Property: Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Address: Grosvenor House 86-90 Park Lane, London W1K 7TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Business Hotel in London
#151 Family Hotel in London
#166 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel is a landmark 5-star hotel on Park Lane, Mayfair offering luxurious guest rooms & suites, high quality dining and 24 hour fitness center. Our hotel's ideal location is just steps from Hyde Park and a short trip from Buckingham Palace or the London Eye. The hotel also boasts elegant and expansive meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott London
Grosvenor Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott London
London Marriott
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing