We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip to London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Ranked #214 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Business Trip to London”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel location is very good , it is walking distance to the main shopping streets in London , the reception is very good and helpful , the services is good , the rooms is big and have all the required facilities

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALIFAHMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten S, Hotel Manager at Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, it is truly appreciated.

Our central location is perfect for either our many leisure guests who may be here in London to enjoy the sights and shopping along Oxford Street, or the seasoned business traveler such as yourself.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Morten Skumsrud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,404
    736
    281
    120
    67
See reviews for
472
909
131
721
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Despite writing a negative review about the JW Steakhouse I have to be fair about the hotel. We like the traditional feel of the hotel and the staff are generally super helpful and friendly. The accommodation is extremely comfortable and clean! The location, for us anyway, is second to none in London. Park Lane is a great place to be about. There are plenty of choices around about, to take a drink or a meal. Shopping is on your doorstep. Unfortunately our recent dining experience has made us to decide to stay elsewhere in London on our next visit so I guess I better start reading the reports of other reviewers!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park (Park Lane).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, MA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here on Sunday for one night and I have to say that the front desk staff was absolutely amazing. They bent over backwards for me and even offered me a complimentary upgrade to an even nicer room (probably due to my Marriott status, but still!)

The Park Room was an amazing place to have afternoon tea and breakfast. The food was delicious and service was excellent.

Now for the restaurant (JW Steakhouse)... I'm afraid it just wasn't worth it. I will start off by saying the service was excellent - no complaints about that whatsoever. The food was OK. Just OK. I never expect to get a perfect steak in the UK, just like I don't expect to get excellent fish and chips in Texas. But at £32/$55 for a 10oz steak, I expect to get pretty darn close.

What I will say is an absolute rip off, is the fact that they fill up a big reusable bottle with tap water and then charge you £2/$3.50 calling it still water. It's just low class. I know when I'm asked "still or sparkling?" at a restaurant, I'm going to end up paying for the water...but it's usually at least a sealed bottle of Acqua Panna, not London City tap water. This ruined the dinner for me, and I really hope management reconsiders what they're doing here.

The cafe right before you get to the steakhouse had an excellent selection, but a bit overpriced. It's a hotel shop, so I understand the slight price increase. It was convenient, however, and the service was great.

All in all a good stay, but the still water business at the steakhouse really rubbed me the wrong way.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
569 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spent 5 nights here near Hyde Park in London and had a wonderful stay. The rooms were nice, larger than expected, with wonderful beds and quiet halls. The service was spectacular. Every single employee was dressed professionally, was eager to please, and ALWAYS made eye contact and spoke when passing. We could not have been more pleased. The highlight to us was having such wonderful places to eat only steps away- from Starbucks to the steakhouse to breakfast buffets everyday. Taxis were always available. The bus stop was only a 5 minute walk away. It was also a short walk to Hyde Park, Harrod's, the British Museum and Trafalgar Square. I would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 860SusanB860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I'm not sure I've ever seen so many staff people at the ready to anticipate and answer customer questions. The lobby, lounges, and restaurants were full of staff, armed with tablets to expedite check-in, assist with luggage, and secure a table. When I had a problem registering my Marriott points to my reservation, the switchboard operator personally called Marriott Rewards to inquire, then phoned me back.
My room was quite nice; huge and well-equipped bathroom and windows that open to the fresh air -- that's a rare feature these days.

Room Tip: My room was at the front on a lower floor; despite being right on Park Lane, the traffic noise was m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here 5 nights during the Wimbledon tennis tournament. The staff were all super nice and there's always taxi's waiting. There's an ATM inside the hotel which is super convenient. I had the buffet breakfast at the JW Steakhouse every morning and the staff were nice and the food tasted great. Room was clean and quite large especially for a big city. The view from my room wasn't anything special just the back road. The only negative I had was their wifi was slow. The wifi would be fast during early morning or the middle of the night, but during peak times it was really slow. Other than that I enjoyed everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB-Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've just returned from a one day event held at this hotel through the company I work for. Although I work for a travel company and normally find when I stay away hotels fall over themselves to go above and beyond this hotel really is amazing.
The service I received when I arrived was great. I look slightly puzzled when I walked in and can only assume it was the General Manager who asked me if I was OK and I explained I was attending a conference and he then had someone take my bags and show me to the event suite - first class!
The event space was wonderful, the staff where great and the choice of food and beverages available were of excellent quality.
Whilst I didn't stay in the hotel, what I experienced has prompted me to stay here the next time I am in London to encounter the same great service again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living
Mayfair
The Dorchester
The Dorchester
#44 of 1,069 in London
1,565 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#217 of 1,069 in London
4,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel

Property: Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Address: Grosvenor House 86-90 Park Lane, London W1K 7TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Business Hotel in London
#151 Family Hotel in London
#162 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel is a landmark 5-star hotel on Park Lane, Mayfair offering luxurious guest rooms & suites, high quality dining and 24 hour fitness center. Our hotel's ideal location is just steps from Hyde Park and a short trip from Buckingham Palace or the London Eye. The hotel also boasts elegant and expansive meeting and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott London
Grosvenor Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott London
London Marriott
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing