We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Kensington London
Ranked #369 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Very nice hotel with great location, just one minute from the undergroung train, this is very important in London. You can go to the city centre in 10 minutes. Outside the hotel also is very nice. You can find great Inalian restaurant just few steps from the hotel. Minus -Very small single room, but clean and nice. Good breakfast. I can recomend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AniaKrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback. I am pleased to hear you liked our location. We are indeed very close to the tube station with easy access to the city. The Indian Restaurant close to the hotel is highly recommended by the hotel. I will pass on your feedback to them as well.

Our housekeeping department will be delighted to hear you found the rooms to be clean and nice and so will our chef with regards to your breakfast feedback.

Thank you for recommending the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Joanna Carrunters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have stayed at Ridges a number of times for appointments in London. As usual it did not disappoint! The place has recently been refurbished and is kept to a good standard. The staff on reception speak excellent English and whilst I was in reception I heard a customer assisted in Spanish. The cost is reasonable (considering it is Kensington!). The bed was extremely comfortable, and although the room was small it was well laid out. The bathroom was warm and clean, with no sign of the black mould that appears to inhabit the showers of so many hotels! We will stay again and I could recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the lovely feedback. I am pleased to hear you have stayed with us on numerous occasions and that you have always enjoyed your stay with us.

Our reception and housekeeping staff will be delighted to read your comments and I am very glad you are happy with our products and services. We appreciate you recommending our hotel and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The room is smaller than we see online, but the location is great!!! I like the cleanileness and the service, but there is not special to do for kids. But, one block from the hotel, there is the Natural History Museum, because of that , you don´t need any activity for kids in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmirJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rydges Kensington Hotel. I am delighted to hear you liked our hotel location. Our staff will be delighted to hear you were impressed with the hotel’s cleanliness and the service.
I am pleased you were able to you were able to visit the Natural History Museum with the kids. The Science Museum and the Hyde Park are other places kids may love to visit and our concierge will be happy to recommend other places should you decide to visit us again.
We appreciate your feedback and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at Rydges Kensington twice within a month. It's a good hotel in a good location.
The hotel is located right opposite the Gloucester Rd Tube stop, so it's handy to all parts of London. It's close to Hyde Park and Harrods. There are a couple of good restaurants and supermarkets within metres.
The hop-on, hop-off bus stops right outside.
The hotel is clean, tidy and modern but doesn't have any real bells and whistles to set it apart from any other.
The rooms are small but the beds are comfy.
Continental breakfast was included which was great. The restaurant 'The Jam Cupboard' is pretty good and the Polo Bar has great ambience, but is pretty small. Maybe only big enough for 20 people.
It has a small gym and really friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJLuvsHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback. I am very pleased to hear you have visited us twice in one month. Our team will be delighted to read your comments. We are indeed located very close to the Gloucester Road Tube Station and other tourist attractions. We also located near various local restaurants and bar.

We appreciate your feedback with regards to the room, restaurant and bar. I am glad you were happy with the continental breakfast and the ambience in the bar.

We certainly hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back again to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Really enjoyed our one night stay at this great hotel. We had a triple room, 104, which in fact was a suite. Lots of space, huge bathroom complete with bathrobes slippers & really nice products. Beds extremely comfortable. Staff very friendly. Location excellent just across road from Tube Station. 2 min walk to some really nice cafes & restaurants heading towards Kensington High St & Kensington Palace. Would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BRIGID056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rydges Kensington Hotel. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our staff will be delighted to read your feedback. I am very glad you liked the triple room which is indeed a suite. Location is indeed one of our great assets as we are very close to the tube station and local shops and restaurants.
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for recommending us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

room perfect, full furnished, one problem is heating was not working ...it was no warm, but fresh coming from... area good with tube , shops , restaurants, and girls at reception , perfect , room clean, with all products, drinks, tv , ...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank serge2552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for choosing to stay at the Rydges Kensington Hotel. I am delighted to hear you liked our product and services. Our reception staff will be pleased to read your comments.

Location is indeed one of our great assets as we are very close to the tube station and local shops and restaurants. We appreciate your feedback with regards to the air conditioning not working properly and we certainly look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We selected the Rydges Hotel in Kensington for our Company Managers' Meeting earlier this week as it offered an excellent central London location, without costing a fortune for rooms that central London Hotels charge their guests. We booked three rooms for managers arriving from France and SW England together with a small conference room for our meeting over two days. All carried out apart from the Conference Room booking over the internet, with ease and security.

Everything handled perfectly and all arranged from the moment of our arrival. Staff very courteous, professional and above all helpful with a smile. Rooms clean and bright, albeit a little on the cool side, with a bathroom just large enough for one person, with a great Italian style Shower. Large bed and all amenities including a reasonable work desk. A criticism could be the room a little short of drawers to place shirts etc but storage space acceptable for the 3 days we would be there.

Great bar for the evening, a fascinating restaurant, where I had one of the best Egg Mayonnaise Sandwiches I have ever had. Evening meals were a pleasant experience, good wine list and menu neither excessively priced nor limited in choices II would say reasonably priced and certainly excellent value. Food standard was high, well cooked and presented.

I would certainly highly recommend this hotel for any stay in Central London; Staff perfect hosts, nothing to difficult and all with a smile. Bravo the Rydges Hotel you are really a Jewel In Central London. Many thanks for our stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have probably less street noise although the Double Glazing worked well and cut perhap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rydges Kensington London. We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a lovely feedback. We take our guest’s feedback very seriously and use it to continually measure our services and facilities therefore reading your review is naturally pleasing.
I am very happy you choose our hotel for your conference and bedroom requirements for your company’s Manager Meeting. I am pleased you found our prices good value for money and that the booking process was hassle free and secure. Our staff will be delighted to read your comments and our chef will certainly be glad the Egg Mayonnaise sandwiches were the best you ever had. I am delighted you loved our bar and restaurant, it’s a pleasure to hear you found our food standards high, well cooked and presented.
We appreciate you recommending our hotel for any stay in Central London and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#381 of 1,081 in London
1,044 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#144 of 1,081 in London
915 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Kensington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kensington London

Address: 61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#256 Business Hotel in London
#259 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $140 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kensington London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kensington London is a four star deluxe design inspired boutique hotel which has been fully refurbished in 2011. Facilities include wired and wireless internet, fitness suite, Restaurant & Wine Bar, Lounge Bar, 24 hour room service etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rydges Kensington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Kensington London Hotel London
Rydges Kensington Plaza London
Hotel Rydges Kensington Plaza
Hotel London Rydges
Rydges London
Rydges Kensington London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing