We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay At Rydges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Kensington London
Ranked #380 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A wonderful location and great staff. The restuarant in the hotel was great as was the pub. Similarly the neighborhood restaurants nearby are all very excellent. The rooms were a bit small but we managed well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Patrice S

Thank you for your kind review and ratings, I am pleased our staff, location and facilities served you well. Unfortunately due to such a central location space was very limited, we did however try to make the most of our space ensure a comfortable living space with ample room for in room amenities.

Thanks again and I look forward to seeing you should you deceide to return back to London

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were agreeably surprised as I booked the hotel on the basis that it could be cancelled if anything else caught my eye. The location was important to us and in all honesty I just didn't bother to look at many alternatives. It is in a great location beside Gloucester Road tube station. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Staff were pleasant but not 'in your face' (which I hate!). Breakfast buffet was included and was more than adequate. The only crib is as per other trip advisor comments - the bar closes strictly at 10.45. We were aware but it is annoying as we like to have a drink at the hotel last thing before bed. Despite being close to a main road, there was no noise problem. All in all, somewhere we would return to and recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishindependent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Irishindipendent

Thank you for the time out to write your review and comments, our location is certainly one of our main attractions and I am pleased that the staff as well as the cleanliness served you well.

I have noticed a few comments regarding our bar closure and it is something we are currently looking into.

Hope to see you when you are next in London for a weekend getaway

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012. It was perfectly placed for our night out to the Albert Hall, only about 15 min walk ( even though the slightly harsh male receptionist said it would take 6 mins?! ). It's a small boutique hotel, lovely decor throughout and on the website the rooms look as you find them, but with one important difference.... In real life they are tiny! I have never stayed in such a small room ( apart from maybe in Paris ), we had to shuffle around the bed to get to the bathroom. I don't think I'd stay here again purely because of the room size, which is a shame because everything was just fine!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a more expensive larger suite or else expect to be a bit disappointed....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kestrelsmith14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Kestrelsmith14

Thank you for your review and comments, the walk to the Royal Albert Hall is usually quite pleasing (weather depending)

Location is certainly one of your most valued attractions but unfortunately due to being in such a central location space is extremely limited.

Should you decide to stay with us again please let me know and I will be happy to assist in any way I can.

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our first time in London was a great experience thanks to the staff at Rydges... The rooms where fantastic and beds very comfortable.... All staff were friendly and tried to help wherever they could.... The food in the restaurant was impeccable. And the bar was a great place to relax after a full day sightseeing..... All in all Rydges lived up to there great reviews.. And we will be back................

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laupet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Laupet,

Thank you for your wonderful review and comments, I have showed this review to the staff here at Rydges and congratulated them on their efforts. You travelled a very long way and it is nice to know that when you return you have found you home away from home.

Look forward to seeing you on your return

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Am about to have my third stay at this hotel as it never fails to impress. The recent renovation is excellent and the staff as helpful as ever. It's location is superb - just a stones throw from the tube and a short stroll to the Natural History Museum, V & A etc. Rooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sid47_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Genzta,
Thank you for the great 5* review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your third stay at the hotel.
Kind Regards
Joanna Carruthers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last weekend 10/11 march 2013 and from start to finish the experience was pitiful. mainly all down to the lack of customer service. The entire staff at reception need changing or some training or change in hotel management. Can't fault the staff at the restaurant who were as a paying customer would expect, happy to help. Polar opposite in the reception. made booking in advance over the phone requesting a room specifically on the 4th floor- assured this had been reserved. we arrive to find our room in the basement of the hotel underground- unable to change as apparently it was fully booked.

Bar closed at 11pm so if u wish to have a drink after being out for a meal you can think again. The Asian manager actually came in 5 minutes before 11 and advised the bar man to turn off the music and tv , we ordered one to take away, apparently there was no ice .. this was a Saturday night??
Thinking of finishing your drink and sitting in the lobby ? a lobby so quiet we ended up whispering no ambient music just the sound of cars outside and the receptionist tapping the keyboard.
went to my room and almost fell over all the cleaning equipment left in the hallway at 11pm on a Saturday eve?

Rooms are overpriced for what effectively is a standard room in London and doesn't even have free wifi throughout / dark ages?

avoid - its a waste of money and not worth getting angry over lack of care for customers

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemzta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Gemzta,

Thank you for your review and my apologies that your experience here was less than satisfactory. I have made our front office team aware of your comments and they are keen to improve.

Our reservations manager has also been made aware of his departments faults and he has advised his team accordingly. Requesting a certain floor, room or special amenities is a regular occurrence and is more often than not noted at reservations and confirmed/ allocated at reception subject to availability. Mishaps do happen and they should rightly be noted to avoid them happening in the future.

Health and safety is treated with upmost priority within our establishment and I have thoroughly investigated with our executive housekeeper and front office manager regarding your comments about the cleaning equipment.

All in all my sincere apologies your experience with us was less than satisfactory. If you decide to stay with us again I can ensure a better experience.

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

After a freezing journey by National Express buses from Nottingham to London we caught a taxi with no heater working from Victoria bus station to Rydges Hotel and checked into our freezing cold hotel bedroom. While waiting for our room to warm up we visited the hotel coffee shop and ordered two coffees with sweetener.' We dont have sweetener' she said, so a trip to reception to ask for sweetener in the coffee shop was required. ' Not a problem' they said, so we got it after the coffee was drunk. We finally began to feel warmer then returned to our bedroom. Warm blown heaters at ceiling level failed to heat the room at ground level and we were cold all night and the noise of the fan was horrendous too.For London the two night stay at £287 B&B(continental) was not expensive but still hotels should get everything right, shouldn't they?

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room from heater noise and traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter2280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear peter2280

Thank you for your comments and review, after a long trip from Nottingham (I would assume a coach journey is in the region of 2-3 hours) the last thing you want to do is go to your room to find that you cannot relax because the room is too cold. Our front of house should have also offered you a heater if required.

Should you decide to return to London and stay with us I have updated your profile regarding your mentioned requests.

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#148 of 1,078 in London
913 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#138 of 1,078 in London
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Kensington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kensington London

Address: 61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#257 Business Hotel in London
#265 Luxury Hotel in London
#325 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $142 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kensington London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kensington London is a four star deluxe design inspired boutique hotel which has been fully refurbished in 2011. Facilities include wired and wireless internet, fitness suite, Restaurant & Wine Bar, Lounge Bar, 24 hour room service etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rydges Kensington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Kensington London Hotel London
Rydges Kensington Plaza London
Hotel Rydges Kensington Plaza
Hotel London Rydges
Rydges London
Rydges Kensington London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing