We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Kensington London
Ranked #377 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

First time I'd stayed here and booked it for a Christmas shopping weekend. The staff are fantastic especially the manager and do anything to help. The rooms are lovely and the beds super comfy. It is in the perfect location for all attractions in London and overall is a modern yet homely hotel for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissRachelCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Rachel,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, I am glad you enjoyed your room, staff and our location.

Hope you managed to do all of your shopping that weekend, Shopping in London around Christmas time is usually super busy to say the least.

Maybe next time you decide to venture into London you can see a show at the Royal Albert too?

Hope to see you again soon,

Best regards

Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

Lovely atmosphere friendly staff. Brilliant location for harrods, walking distance. Waitirise across the road anf Byron 2 minutes walk Nothing a problem for the staff so helpful and pleasant rooms clean with modern bathroom

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliec58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear juliec58

Thank you for your kind review, Im glad you liked our atmosphere and friendly staff. Location is certainly one of our greatest assets.

I hope we set a start for a wonderful new year and look forward to seeing you on your return.

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I booked an executive studio, for me and my wife plus our 2 year old daughter. The room was a good size and the bathroom was more than big enough. I arrived early and was allowed to check in at 12.30pm rather than 2pm. All the staff were very friendly throughout the stay.

We had a room at the front of the hotel on the 2nd floor and the street noise did not bother us one bit, it wasn't too loud and we slept with the window open no bother. The room was very clean and the only thing letting it down was a large stain on the carpet close to the bathroom door, other than that it all looked quite new, oh and the bed was huge!!

The main downside for me is that there is no free wifi, and consdering a lot of places offer this for free I think the price they were charging was a bit steep, even Travel Inn give you an hour for free to check emails etc.

The location was good for the museums, Knightsbridge, Hyde Park, Royal Albert Hall & High Street Kensington, and the tube station is not even one minutes walk across the road.

I would stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westulltiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Westulltiger,

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad the room was of suitable size, especially considering there was three of you. I will speak to maintenance and housekeeping regarding the stain in your room to get this resolved. Thank you for making me aware.

Hope to see you again soon should you decide to venture back into London

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

For our planned 3 day sightseeing trip we booked this hotel on the basis of location and budget and, happily, it proved to be an excellent choice. We arrived earlier than official check-in time and were immediately impressed by the stylish yet understated Christmas decorations; also impressed that our room was ready although slightly disappointed, however, to discover just how small it was but we were in London on a sightseeing trip after all and not planning to spend much time in our room which itself was spotlessly clean and very well appointed including a stylish ensuite, king size bed, plenty of wardrobe space and one of the largest TV screens I've ever seen in a hotel bedroom! Decor throughout the hotel is stylish and modern and the continental breakfast (the only meal we ate in the hotel during our stay) was well presented and perfectly adequate for our appetites - for those with a slightly larger appetite a full English breakfast is available on request. Just one slight niggle here and a particular foible of mine: despite the number of waitresses, they were without exception far less attentive than is appropriate/desirable and seemingly much more interested and engrossed in their own chit chat, and we had to ask for dirty dishes, plates and glasses to be removed from the table. Better training or closer supervision (or both) is definitely called for.
With Gloucester Road tube station just 2 mins walk across the road - connected to the Circle, District and Piccadilly lines - Rydges Kensington really was an ideal base for us and if you're visiting London for business or pleasure this is an excellent spot. We went to a concert at the Royal Albert Hall on one evening and, again, it's a short and easy walk; this is a must-visit venue for those who haven't been before as is Westminster Abbey, Natural History Museum and the Churchill War Rooms.

Room Tip: Ask about room size when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Geoffrey,

Thank you for your kind reveiw, I am glad we proved to be an excellent choice. I am pleased you liked our Christmas decor, stylish yet understated is a perfect way to describe them. Unfortunately being in such a central location space is certainly limited, but we didnt want that to limit our amenities to our guests such as the large TV and so forth.

I am also pleased that the breakfast served you well, I have taken your slight niggle up with our food and beverage manager. To me this is unacceptable in all accounts, especially if there is clearly work to be done. Our food and beverage manager here has already spoken to his team to advise him of your comments and has taken steps to ensure it wont happen again.

Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

I hope you enjoyed your show at the Royal Albert, hopefully we will see you again when you next decide to venture into London..

Hope you had a wonderful new year!

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We book a hotel for our sightseeing trip to London. Hotel is clean, newly furnished and what is the best - located almost on Underground. The Gloucester Road tube Station is app. 200 meters from the hotel. So it is a great place to reach all London must have places. The room is quite small, but you are not in London to stay in a hotel room! King bed is quite small, but if you are not sharing it with you friend instead of wife it is good enough.
I suggest you to book it directly on hotel website, but before that join their loyalty program. You will save 10% on best available rate, 20% in restaurant, late check out and 50% on internet. Yes internet is not included in room rate… Also usually the breakfast is not included in room rate. They distinguish between continental and English breakfast. Continental is app. 15 pounds and English is app. 20 pounds. The difference is just mixed eggs and bacon. The continental breakfast is enough. Not wide selection, but everything is fresh and really tasty (but just cold meal). Enough for good start for experiencing London. If you have English breakfast you can pick up from the a la carte menu from hot meal.
Hotel is small, but friendly. I really suggest it for sightseeing.

Room Tip: The air condition is set on 21 degrees of Celsius. Don´t forget to set it hotter otherwise you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Pavel,

Thank you for your positive review, I hope you accomplished all you wanted to see whilst here in London. Our location is certainly one of our greatest assets. Unfortunately, being in such a central location in London space here is extremely limited. When we recently had our refurbishment, comfortable living space but also ensuring sufficient room for our amenities were design priority.

I could not agree with you more, the best rate is definitely on our website and to take full advantage of discounted rates and further discounts it is definitely worth signing up to our priority guest rewards. Its free to sign up so there really is nothing to lose.

Hope you enjoyed your new years celebrations, no doubt Prague will have a great atmosphere around this time.

Hope to see you in the future.

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very clean room, free continental breakfast which included warm croissants, cheese, salami, figs, and freshly squeezed orange juice along with other great items to choose from. Arrived at 8am and check-in wasn't until 2pm and we were still given a room. One block from Gloucester tube station. Bus pick up in front of hotel for daily tour buses. Grocery store one block away. Great location. Fruit bowl at the front desk for a quick bite. Heated towel rack in the bathroom. Robes and slippers complimentary. Very hot water in the shower. Will definitely go back. Special thanks to Ms Carruthers and concierge for all of their help.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamieahunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Jamieahunter,

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am glad the continental breakfast suited you well as well as the location. Even the fruit bowl made an impression. I am a firm believer that the small touches add a great deal to the overall experience and I am glad it has showed in your review.

Thank you for my special thanks and I will enter our concierge for our employee of the month to ensure your thanks does not go unrecognised.

In return, a special thanks to you for a great comment and it is my pleasure to help you and all of our guests as best we can.

Hope you have a wonderful new year and look forward to your return

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Lovely hotel, average value, good location - friendly staff. Room very small but was as advertised.
We visited the royal albert hall which was a short walk away. Gloucester road tube station is just across the street.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Pjsmiffy,

Thank you for your review, our location is certainly one of our greatest assets as well as our valued staff and it is always pleasing to know that it shines to our guests.

Hope you enjoyed your Royal Albert Hall experience and will look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Royal Albert.

Hope you have a great new year!

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#143 of 1,077 in London
937 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#381 of 1,077 in London
1,035 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Kensington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kensington London

Address: 61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#256 Business Hotel in London
#261 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $141 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kensington London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kensington London is a four star deluxe design inspired boutique hotel which has been fully refurbished in 2011. Facilities include wired and wireless internet, fitness suite, Restaurant & Wine Bar, Lounge Bar, 24 hour room service etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rydges Kensington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Kensington London Hotel London
Rydges Kensington Plaza London
Hotel Rydges Kensington Plaza
Hotel London Rydges
Rydges London
Rydges Kensington London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing