We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woke up perspiring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Kensington London
Ranked #361 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Woke up perspiring”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was clean and in a convenient location, but every night I set the thermostat down when I went to bed and woke up at 3 a.m. Because the temp had mysteriously gone up again. I mentioned it to the staff. They said they thought the temp should stay where I set it and said they would send some one to the room to check it. That night and every night, the temp went up again. Although the bed was comfortable, I did not get a good night's sleep.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margery K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrin J, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Margery K

We are sorry to hear about your lack of sleep during your stay with us. It seems very odd that the thermostat would reset itself; this is definitely something that we will have our maintenance team look into.
Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Merrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    478
    189
    64
    34
See reviews for
214
439
92
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Really loved the hotel and the location on Gloucester road ,close to the T, Kensington gardens ,lots of stores and restaurants .The hotel is charming. ,the stuff very helpful ,cute small bar .
The room was nice and comfortable .The chain offers a reward card , that gives good discounts for room and restaurant

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sole2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrin J, Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Sole2012

Thank you for your positive review! We work hard to ensure that our Priority Guest Rewards programme is working for our loyal guests so we are glad to hear your comments on this.

Best regards
Merrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the wide world
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was booked into this hotel by a professional organisation meeting at the Science Museum. The hotel is nice but the staff was exceedingly slow & fairly rude at check in. The breakfast was good too. But then after I got home I got a letter saying that I had eaten a candybar in my room and that they charged my card (which they forced us to let them swipe, even though we were not paying for the rooms) but I could contest the charge.

Dear reception, You are right, it is not worth the time of the people who spend money at your no-doubt expensive hotel to contest a £2.50 charge on the phone. But is it worth their time to write a snarky tripadvisor review that may cost you hundreds? Yes. And is it worth them telling the organisation that booked dozens of room just that one night with you to use one of the many other hotels in the area next time? Oh yes, very much so.

Room Tip: Go across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank j2bryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrin J, Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear j2bryson

We are sorry to see these comments and will be following up on the issues you mentioned regarding staff attitudes and in particular your queried mini bar charge.

It is commonplace for a hotel to take a credit card imprint upon check in, even if payment for the guest’s accommodation is covered by their company. This is to ensure against any incidental charges or any damages to the room that may occur. However it is a serious matter if any guest’s credit card is charged for items they did not consume, please be assured that we will look into this and we hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in time.

Kind regards,
Merrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while the Olympics were on.

The main thing to point out is that we think the ground floor room has BED BUGS. After staying there, we discovered bites on our body. We were surprised as the hotel is spotlessly clean so maybe it was just one of the rooms that we were in. Saying that bedbugs can be in the cleanest of hotels.

Pros
Excellent location & transport links - 2 mins walk to Gloucester Road station, 20 mins to Knightsbridge/harrods
Clean rooms
Newish refrubished rooms
Cheap internet - 20GBP for a week
Comfortable beds
Lots of shops and restaurants close by
Staff are helpful and sorted out any issues that we had.
Quiet hotel


Cons - What to watch out for

Dangerous steps - awkward steps located throughout the hotel even at the front door. I nearly fell over when I first entered the hotel as there is a misleading step down at behind the front door

The Free drink that comes with the executive rooms does not include certain alcoholic brands. Drink only applies to one person even if there are two people staying the room. Not sure why they would bother to do this as this only pisses people off

Bar and hang out area is tiny - in addition, the bar seems to be booked out or reserved for business parties so is a no-go

The Restaurant food is not great, we ate there once but did not go back after that.

Potential bedbugs

Noisy air conditioning - seems to be old

On the ground floor, the bedroom doors are really close together and you can really hear people coming and going as the doors bang closed

Book this hotel if you are looking for a nice comfortable room with a great location.

Don't book it if you want to relax anywhere outside of your room in the hotel, there just isn't the space and only a few seats in the lobby to chill out.

Probably not really worth more than 90GBP per night.

Room Tip: Probably not really worth more than 80/90GBP per night. Watch out for bedbugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingfun100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrin J, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear travellingfun100000

Thank you for your comments, while we are glad to see a list of pro’s for the hotel, it is very concerning that there should be so many ‘cons’ outlined.

The complimentary drink is intended as a welcoming gesture for our guests; however we may need to review this if it is unsatisfactory.
Being a boutique hotel in the centre of London does somewhat limit the space we have and this is reflected in the public areas of the hotel. We feel The Jam Cupboard and Polo Bar Kensington match the boutique vibe of the hotel and we are very proud of these after the recent refurbishment.

We take your comment regarding bedbugs very seriously and can assure you that the housekeeping team are very vigilant and the rooms are regularly checked for signs of bedbug activity. We have been unable to find any evidence of bedbugs in the room you stayed in or any of our other rooms so we are confident this was an isolated incident.

As you mentioned we are in a great location and our staff are friendly and accommodating, so we do hope that in the future you will give our hotel another chance.

Best regards
Merrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel, only one-half block from the Gloucester Rd tube stop, is conveniently located in the heart of Kensington. Rooms, while a bit tight for two persons, are reasonably well appointed with modern furnishings and very comfortable. The hotel has a welcoming lobby, staff are pleasant, and the restaurant and lobby are very nice with wide windows overlooking street level. Our one issue was that the lift was small and slow requiring patience going to/from the room. You cannot be in a hurry. Overall, this is a solid hotel from which to explore London's West End.

Room Tip: Avoid the lower level twin rooms. There are no windows and the rooms have the feel of a cell. Try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckv500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrin J, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear ckv500

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with Rydges Kensington London. Our lift is constantly maintained but unfortunately there is little we can do to make it go faster. I am pleased to see this didn’t affect your stay or mar your opinion of the hotel too much, and we thank you for your other positive comments.

Best regards
Merrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We booked this hotel on a room only basis, knowing that we would spend little time actually in the hotel. As we had a thirteen year old in tow, we booked a premier suite so that he had his own sleeping area. Although he reported that the sofa bed was rather uncomfortable, he did appreciate his private space. The suite was not large, but it was adequately spacious. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
We were at the back of the hotel and therefore had a relatively quiet first night. Unfortunately on the second night there was a lot of external noise between 1.30 and 2 in the morning (Friday), sounding like refuse collection in progress. I cannot say if this is a regular thing but we do not blame the hotel for this! The air conditioning in the room was very efficient and we were able to cool the room nicely. Sadly it was too noisy to leave on overnight and therefore it did become rather warm as the night hours passed.
We used the hotel as a base for our trip to the Olympics. It was perfect for this - it is very close to Gloucester Road tube station and therefore ideally located for exploring many of London's attractions and shopping areas.
We had a good deal when we booked this hotel - if having to pay full room rates, I would prefer other locations, however I would still keep this one on the shortlist!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorerdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrin J, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Explorerdee

We are glad to see you had an enjoyable stay with us over the Olympics. Regarding the noise disturbance in the early hours of Friday morning, we can only apologise and look into why this was happening at this time. We can also get our maintenance team to investigate why the air conditioning units are so noisy and hopefully fix the issue.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to Rydges in the future.

Kind regards
Merrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Its a superb hotel in 4 star category in Gloucester road, convenient access to under ground, close distance by foot to nights bridge attractions and shops like Harrods. I stayed in an executive room and room amenities were nice for a 4 star in central london, room was spacious and bathroom and amenities were clean and fine. Internet speed was good. Staff were really friendly which made our stay a very special one. There are shops around like Waitrose just in case you need to do some grocery shopping. Hyde park, Victoria Albert and Natural history museum are close by. I strongly recommend this hotel in case you like to stay in this area.

Room Tip: Concierge of this hotel is really helpful, ask there assistance in case you need a booking for an ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YaserKangani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrin J, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear yaserkangani

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on the hotel - it is always great to receive positive comments and particularly about our staff members. I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to the team.

Warm regards
Merrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#417 of 1,067 in London
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#352 of 1,067 in London
2,033 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#459 of 1,067 in London
628 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#364 of 1,067 in London
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Kensington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kensington London

Property: Rydges Kensington London
Address: 61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#256 Luxury Hotel in London
#257 Business Hotel in London
#326 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kensington London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kensington London is a four star deluxe design inspired boutique hotel which has been fully refurbished in 2011. Facilities include wired and wireless internet, fitness suite, Restaurant & Wine Bar, Lounge Bar, 24 hour room service etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Kensington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Kensington London Hotel London
Rydges Kensington Plaza London
Hotel Rydges Kensington Plaza
Hotel London Rydges
Rydges London
Rydges Kensington London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing