We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short jaunt to the Royal Albert Hall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rydges Kensington London
Ranked #345 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A short jaunt to the Royal Albert Hall”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Beautifully and sympathetically restored the Rydges Hotel in Kensington is ideally situated for Knightsbridge and the Royal Albert Hall. It is also only a 3 minute walk from Gloucester road tube station.

Rooms have been decorated to a high ,chic, and funky standard - I loved it!

Staff were all friendly and helpful - restaurant food also good if a little pricey, but hey one is in central London so it's to be expected - Paid approx £145 for a night in a twin room - would definitely recommend and would more than likely use again if staying in this part of London.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    471
    186
    61
    32
See reviews for
212
427
91
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I stayed here on business for one night.

The hotel is very close to Gloucester Road tube station so ideal for getting around.

The reception staff were a little sullen on our arrival, but later on after a shift change the staff were a little more friendly. I didn’t eat in the hotel so can’t comment. However, the room was lovely. Not a huge double room, but the bed was massive and comfortable, the furnishings were very modern, the bathroom was well stocked and very clean. One of the best hotel rooms I’ve stayed in on business!

Ultimately, this was a lovely hotel. The only issue I’d have is that the price was high (no breakfast included), though other hotels in London were just as expensive due to a big event, so don’t let that put you off. I’d stay here again without a doubt, if the price were a little more reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabba-Ranks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We had booked this hotel for a three night stay, but had to leave after the first night because the bed was just so uncomfortable. Really, really wanted it to work out as the room was terrific. We had paid for the Business Class Package and were given a great room on the top floor. If you can get it, it's off the backside of the building. I think there are 3 rooms on each floor that are the Executive King style and they are dead quiet. The room was small, but had a nice sitting room with couch, TV desk, etc. The bathroom was good sized for London. Linens beautiful.

The full English breakfast was very nice. Huge selection. Charming room. Great service.

Everything but the mattress was amazing. Because of prior spine surgery, I really need a firm supportive mattress. The mattresses here do not have a bottom box spring. It's a softer mattress on a platform bed. Wish I could better describe it because it's not like a hard platform bed I've found at some NYC hotels. My husband can sleep on anything and he did not find the mattress comfortable either.

So.. if you aren't too picky about your mattress, I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aspenannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This hotel made my stay in London perfect! I thought it was beautiful hotel inside and out! Everything was modern and classy. My room was a deluxe queen room which was stunning, I took photos straight away and showed my friends what there missing out on. Dream bed was so comfy, and the room was spacious. Bathroom little small but was clean, new and just right', great location in south kensington, close to underground stops and hop on hop off buses outside your door! The restaurant was also great, reasonable price and you can't beat the food! I have already booked accommodation here again for feburary.. Why would I stay any where else :-)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chlobo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2011

we have just return from a short break from the rydges and, well it has just been perfect all the way through.
this was our first weekend away without the baby and they just made it good.

from check in wich was efficient with polite staff and with a smile to check out not a false note.

before coming the hotel i had a look at the reviews here and just to make everybody aware it is nothing like the pictures on this website.
i was talking to Ben one of the duty manager and he explain to me that the hotel had gone through a massive refurbishment in the last 6-8 months and it is really worth paying it a visit.

breakfast is brillant with a nice buffet selection in the newly refurbished restaurant wich is modern and spacious. we haven't tried the polo bar so can not comment on it.

they have a nice wine selection worth to give a try.

al in all we had a very good stay at the rydges with was a first for us and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebastien n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have just returned from a weekend break in London. We decided to stay in this hotel as it was across the road from the Gloucester road tube station which connects directly to the Piccadilly, district and circle lines plus it was one of the most reasonable in this area.

We caught the red eye from Belfast and were at the hotel by noon following a brief pit stop for breakfast. We were delighted when the very friendly receptionist checked us in early, something that never happens to us!  The hotel is really quite small and has a boutique feel. There is a small bar and restaurant in the hotel which are very modern. The lobby is also very modernly appointed with ample seating.

Our room was lovely. Fairly small but very comfortable. The bed is to die for; very comfortable. There was also a huge flatscreen tv which had some HD channels; a first for us in a London hotel. There is also ample wardrobe space and the room has a few little quirks. My wife loved the dressing table with flip up make up mirror and I loved the coffee maker. The bathroom is fairly small also but very modern with quirky products. Look out for the post it on the towel rail! The one thing that let the bathroom down was the shower; it just didn't have great power and you had to stand nearly up the wall to get covered!

The hotel is in a great location. Lots of fast food outlets and more sophisticated eateries within walking distance. There's also a waitrose across the street. We ate breakfast every morning in garfunkels across the street. They do two cooked breakfasts for a tenner, much cheaper than the hotel breakfast. Knightsbridge is about 20 mins walk away and it's such a lovely area to dander around.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It was pricey to be honest but this area is. Although we were facing the street there was minimal disruption with noise. We also liked the fact that the hotel wasn't mad busy; the perfect boutique experience.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuartyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This hotel booked by our sons who were treating their Dad on his 60th birthday, (I also benefited from this too!!). We were in one of the basement rooms and while a little apprehensive when we heard this, was very surprised by the room, which was beautiful, nice and large, with a large bathroom and a little courtyard facing the room (with no junk as has previously been said in other reviews) with nice potted trees. The only fault I would have with being in the basement is that when you get out of the lift it appears to be very stuffy and lacking in fresh air, but that being the only problem would highly recommend this hotel, and also for its proximity to Gloucester Road Tube Station. Very nice helpful staff too.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresecoughlan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#418 of 1,088 in London
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#341 of 1,088 in London
927 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#176 of 1,088 in London
707 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#395 of 1,088 in London
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Kensington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kensington London

Property: Rydges Kensington London
Address: 61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#247 Luxury Hotel in London
#257 Business Hotel in London
#326 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kensington London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kensington London is a four star deluxe design inspired boutique hotel which has been fully refurbished in 2011. Facilities include wired and wireless internet, fitness suite, Restaurant & Wine Bar, Lounge Bar, 24 hour room service etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Kensington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Kensington London Hotel London
Rydges Kensington Plaza London
Hotel Rydges Kensington Plaza
Hotel London Rydges
Rydges London
Rydges Kensington London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing