We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Terrible Experience - don't go near!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Ranked #528 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience - don't go near!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

On arrival thought what a lovely looking hotel from the outside - checked in quickly, no frills service. The room was shocking, though a good size was in need of painting and the walls had many cracks. The room ferlt dirty though seemed clean I must say. The bathroom was basic and was in need of a deep clean. I was only staying one night, so put up with it.

Had room service - the food was basic, tasteless and uninspiring. The staff seemd unconfident and lacked warmth and I could not wait to check out. On checking out, I was not even asked if I had enjoyed my stay - their lack of customer service clearly tells me to stay away from this hotel in the future. A very poor experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    377
    277
    107
    69
See reviews for
183
285
61
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Perhaps I was lucky (compared with some of the recent reviewers), but I had a great stay here recently. The staff member on reception who gave me a quiet room on the 6th floor when requested was the epitomy of good service. The room was well maintained and furbished. Breakfast was also perfectly acceptable.

The 'pillow menu' is a nice touch compared with competitors and the room was very quiet. The only thing stopping me awarding 5 stars is the poor positioning of the curtains so that the room was flooded with dawn light which woke me up early.

Overall, a good experience and I would certainly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H0nestB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

I have been booking Holiday Inn hotels for some time now, as the brand is normally quite reliable, but this particular one is terrible. My room was more comparable to a £25 hotel around Kings Cross, the bed was terrible and the heating terribly loud. While the location is adequate, the price is ridiculous if you compare it to one of the Crowne Plazas in London which are similarly price but deliver so much more.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tortellinipanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

I stayed here one night in April 2009 for a weekend break with a friend visiting London.
We wanted to shop in Regent Street/Bond Street, go to the ballet at the Coliseum and go to a few nice bars in Mayfair.

For a base just to sleep and have breakfast (perfectly adequate breakfast which was included in our room rate of £160 per night), this hotel is fine. The location is great.
As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are looking a little tired and in need of refurbishment, but at least they are clean. Faded nets, a few small holes in the bedsheets etc. The room was a good size though.

Our room was 184 and had a very dodgy , ill fitting lock - even when slammed shut from the outside we could push it open and had to get the porter to lock us out properly when we went out. Test your door thoroughly first and ask to me moved before you've unpacked all your stuff. The man on duty at reception seemed to speak pretty poor English and did not understand our problem at first.

There is safe in the room, tea & coffee making facilities, TV and a hairdryer (but it's a bog standard hotel issue one, so bring your own).

All in all, nothing special, but perfectly fine as a base.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Got our rooms on a deal so risked booking this hotel, despite some poor reviews, but actually it was ok. Rooms were about average size for London in this price range (I have stayed in much worse!) and while they are hardly lavish, the decor and cleanliness was ok too. Didnt eat here as on room only, but found a nice little cafe around the corner for breakfast. As others have said the location is really convenient for Oxford Street and Bond Street tube, but on a quiet street.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redlizziem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landen, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Overall, this was a good value for the money. Key things in favor of this hotel are location and price. While the rooms are a little tired (need refurbishment), for those that come to London for the sights and not the room will be satisfied.

First, location is hard to beat. Bond Street tube station is the closest - the hotel is located less than 5 minute walk from there behind Debenhams' dept store. The location is fairly quiet - especially at night when it matters. There are several nice cafes and restaurants about 2 blocks away at St. James Place.

While the rooms are not ultra new and modern, there is nothing wrong with them. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and the shower was very powerful. For those people that sightsee all day and only need the room for sleeping, this hotel is more than adequate.

We did not partake of the breakfast or any meals at the hotel. Instead, preferred to grab breakfast at some of the local eateries nearby. A favorite was Cafe Rouge - a little French place that had great coffee, cappucino, tea and breakfast nearby.

While it is true you can take a taxi or express train from Heathrow, these options are somewhat expensive (+L30 for roundtrip train and +L30 for one way taxi). We did take the tube from Heathrow as a "free option". Since we were purchasing an Oyster Card for the week anyway, the extra fare from Heathrow on top of that was only L2. It is an easy trip, but does take 1 - 1.5 hours so plan accordingly. Take the Picadilly line to Green Park and change to the Jubilee line to Bond Street.

Good value and great location.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfoolIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

The location of the hotel is great but...
I booked a double room and the bed was too small and short for 2 normal persons and not so clean as expected.
I asked to change the room but obviously the hotel was "fully booked".
The room was too small to move and the bathroom has been just renewed recently.
Of course I won't come back again. Better choose another accomodation.
London, see you again!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony_mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#246 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#60 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,961 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#339 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Property: Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Address: 57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #528 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Oxford Circus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London Oxford Circus hotel which is located in a quiet Edwardian terrace in Marylebone, just 2 minutes walk from London's famous Oxford Street. The Holiday Inn London-Oxford Circus is ideally suited for both business and pleasure travellers. Centrally situated, London's historic and famous attractions are all within walking or a short distance to the hotel. These are Theatreland, Harley Street, West End Shopping including Debenhams, Selfridges, Harrods and Bond Street; Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Madame Tussauds Lords Cricket Ground, The British Museum, London Eye Nearest underground station is Bond Street on the Central and Jubilee lines, within 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Oxford Circus underground station on the Bakerloo and Victoria lines is just under 10 minutes walk.Please note that all rooms are for a maximum of 2 people. If interested in family rooms please make sure it says maximum 4 people. All rooms have air-conditioning. Internet access, WiFi, playstation games, voicemail and modem points.Hotel is in congestion charging zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus Hotel London
Oxford Circus Holiday Inn
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing