We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not The Best, Not The Worst” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Ranked #504 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not The Best, Not The Worst”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night while en route from Paris back to the U.S.

Pros: (1) Great location, in the heart of Oxford Circus. If you're here to shop, pub-crawl, and be around a hoard of people, this hotel is just for you. (2) Cheaper than most neighboring hotels, and being "Holiday Inn" by nature, the need to maintain brand rapport means that they'd likely have service and cleanliness down to a science. (3) There is a restaurant at the hotel's basement that serves a tasty English breakfast for a decent fee. (4) High ceilings made the room feel bigger than it was. (5) Walking distance to various tube stations, one of which is the Piccadilly line which is a direct connection to London Heathrow.

Cons: (1) Our room was old and smelled musty/moldy. There were water stains that were a bit of a turn-off, but being that we were only there for one night, this was not a big issue for us. (2) There are better hotels in other areas which you could stay at for the same price.

Verdict:
Would I stay here again? Likely, no.
Would I recommend this place to a friend? Likely, no.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Rowena L

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is regrettable you were not fully satisfied with the bedroom you were given.This is definitely not up to our standard and I have instructed our housekeeping department to do a throughout inspection of all the bedrooms.

I am however very pleased to read how happy you were with our location and our "tasty English Breakfast". We are very proud of our buffet breakfast and consider it to offer a wide variety of food big enough to satisfy all tastes!

Once again thank you for your review and if you ever find yourself needing accommodation in London, we hope you do give us another chance to welcome you back to the hotel.

Yours sincerely


David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    366
    264
    101
    63
See reviews for
166
277
59
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
711 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

London hotels are expensive. This one is no exception but sadly the rooms are very average. Staff are very friendly, service is excellent and location great which is its redeeming feature! I paid £250 per night for a rather tired looking room that was probably worth £150 max

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear David M

Thank you for your review. I am really pleased to read you found our staff friendly and the service excellent however, I must admit I am disappointed you classified us as not especial and expensive. I can assure you we do try and keep our prices in line with all the neighbouring hotels and when booking well in advance it is hard to get better value for money than with us.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope you do give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to offering the best service and facilities.

Yours sincerely


David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winteringham
Level Contributor
245 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Clean and tidy rooms and an excellent location, but just away from the noise of the main shopping areas, despite classing as Oxford Circus, the nearest Tube station is Bond Street which is only about 5 mins walk, check in was quick and easy and the rooms typically clean and tidy as you would expect from Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinteringhamSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear WinteringhamSteve

Thank you for your review which in my opinion describes one of our key features: an excellent central location yet away from the noise! I am also very pleased you found our bedrooms clean and tidy and of course, the very effective way our staff dealt with your check in.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely



David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is brilliantly located in central London. Only 2 minutes walk from Oxford Street shops, 10 minutes from Leicester Square. Decent sized rooms for central London. Excellent buffet breakfast. Above all, the staff are friendly and helpful, especially the restaurant staff. Good carvery in the evenings. Reserve rooms on-line well in advance for best rates. You will pay five times as much if you just walk in off the street. Very popular because of central location: another reason for booking well in advance. Good mid-price hotel. Kettle with tea, coffee, milk and biscuits provided - useful after a busy day sightseeing. Small bar and lounge area, but good for a pre-dinner gin and tonic.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller31B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Traveller31B

Thank you for staying with us and for writing such a kind review. I agree our location is a key selling point but reading how much you liked our breakfast and dinner and specially your comments about our friendly and helpful staff make me the most proud.

Once again thank your for your fantastic feedback and I truly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely



David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed several times at this hotel as its very dependable and has a great central location. Not cheap though . No gym. Very convenient for shopping and very close to several tube stations and numerous buses.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Miki F

I would like to thank you for reviewing your stay. It is so great to hear from a returning guest and being able to say Thank You for choosing to stay at our hotel when visiting London. I am sorry you find us a bit pricey. I can assure you we always try and keep our rates in line with our competitors in the area.

Once again thank you for your favourable review and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely

David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I loved this hotel. It is on a side street about 200-300 metres from Oxford Street and the area is so quiet that you would never believe that the main thoroughfare teeming with people is so close by. As you approach the hotel you notice what a grand old building it occupies and when you enter the interior doesn't let you down either.

That just left the room.....we ordered a Family Room for the 3 of us (2 adults and a 14-year-old) and we were delighted when we walked into a very spacious room with two double beds, plus a nice seating area and a TV with Sky Sports, which enabled me to enjoy the England v Australia cricket and Queensland v British/Irish Lions rugby while I recovered from 5 miles and 6 hours of walking around London!

What a great oasis of calm this hotel is, so close to the bustle. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Athene27Colchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Miki F

I must admit it was such a pleasure reading your review, such an impressive review! I really appreciate your kind words as they not only reflect on our very fortunate location and great facilities, but also on a job well done by our staff.

Once again thank you for the fantastic endorsement and we look forward to welcoming back soon.

Yours sincerely

David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This Hotel is very conveniently situated for a shopping trip to London . We were able to walk out of the hotel and almost immediately walk into the back entrance of Debenhams or House of Fraser to shop and from there walk onto Oxford Street itself to enjoy a huge selection of high street stores and famous department stores such as Selfridges and John Lewis . There are 2 tube stations , Bond Street and Oxford Circus to use if you want to go to Coventry Garden or Knightsbridge . We were very warmly welcomed by the staff in the hotel and are room was large, airy, bright, fresh and clean and ready for us , despite getting to the hotel by 9 am in the morning . I would definitely use this hotel again for a trip to London . This staff were helpful and kind on reception, the breakfast was ok, the usual buffet style , the dining room was on the lower ground floor and we looked up to the street above us , it was stuffy but there was a large selection of breakfast food available to set us up for a day of shopping and a show!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ruth C

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review about your stay with us. I am really pleased you had such a great experience and we truly couldn't ask for a better recommendation than this!

Once again thank you for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon, we hope!

Yours sincerely


David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#671 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#238 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,510 reviews
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#506 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#362 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Property: Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Address: 57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #504 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Oxford Circus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London Oxford Circus hotel which is located in a quiet Edwardian terrace in Marylebone, just 2 minutes walk from London's famous Oxford Street. The Holiday Inn London-Oxford Circus is ideally suited for both business and pleasure travellers. Centrally situated, London's historic and famous attractions are all within walking or a short distance to the hotel. These are Theatreland, Harley Street, West End Shopping including Debenhams, Selfridges, Harrods and Bond Street; Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Madame Tussauds Lords Cricket Ground, The British Museum, London Eye Nearest underground station is Bond Street on the Central and Jubilee lines, within 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Oxford Circus underground station on the Bakerloo and Victoria lines is just under 10 minutes walk.Please note that all rooms are for a maximum of 2 people. If interested in family rooms please make sure it says maximum 4 people. All rooms have air-conditioning. Internet access, WiFi, playstation games, voicemail and modem points.Hotel is in congestion charging zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus Hotel London
Oxford Circus Holiday Inn
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing