We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, solid hotel but only book if you find a discount!”
Review of The Cumberland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland
Ranked #443 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Stayed here for one night in a single room - clean & comfortable with a very good shower. Nice, modern decor, hanging space, quiet, etc.
Stayed room only so can't comment on the eating places in the hotel.
Queued for over 20 mins to check in which was frustrating.
Location excellent right by Marble Arch tube station.
Guoman were charging close to £180 per night for my single room which is shocking - however I managed to get it for £100 (the same price as the nearby Travelodge) through a website which is better so if you find it for a similar price then I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDoctorG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,615 - 4,621 of 6,276 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2010

The worst hotel I've every stayed in - avoid like the plague - terrible dingy rooms, definitely not worth a fraction of the fortune they charged!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SuraiyaRebhuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This hotel was a perfect find for a weekend break in London. It has a great location and lovely rooms. The hotel lobby is impressive. Its almost an art gallery in its own right! I would have no hesitation in returning and I will be recommending it to friends. The breakfast was very nice and they had a wide selection of foods, from pancakes and waffles to full English. Gary Rhodes also has two restaurants here. The staff also kept our bags when we checked out so we could go and see a show and enjoy the sights and delights of London. We had a perfect weekend with friends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loumund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Dreadful experience. Arrived at 4-15pm and waited in an airport type queue for check in. Then no 'no smoking rooms' and told we would have to wait 45 minutes at least for one. One of our party has CF and had to have a no smoking room. Took 45 minutes to get a smoking room anyway. The corridor smelt awful and my friend's room smelt bad. They had also lost all proof of payment and there was a big argument over paying again, despite showing them a fax from them confirming we had paid. My room was next to the six lifts which pinged merrily all night. As we were so late getting to our rooms I did not have time to check the minibar. On my return later in the evening I found only two bottles of water. I phoned and asked for orange juice and crisps for the minibar and got someone who could not speak English very well. I got a glass of juice and a bowl of crisps which they charged £11 for. They will not fill the minibar up at night. Breakfast was nie enough but it was like a school dining room. I feel very sorry for the staff who are pathetically grateful for any kindness. If you have the misfortune to stay there please remember the staff do not run the place - it is a shame. At £300 a night it is seriously bad value for money. The best thing was the bed which was really comfortable. The rest was awful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hevcbsiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

This is a supposedly high-class, multi-starred hotel, but really, it's just a big tourist hotel-come-factory. I've stayed in others like it -- ex-Soviet hotels actually (and the Royal National in Bloomsbury). I think there are far nicer hotels in London for about half the price (and I got a very discounted deal from last.minute).

Although the advertising boasts the hotel's exclusivity and Michelin starred restaurant and so on, I had to wait every & any time I wanted service, at check-in & out, at the concierge desk, when my room key card stopped working, and so on.

The extra charges were outrageous: £15 a day for WiFi access, and a surcharge of 75% on the cost a newspaper to my room each morning.

I was told I shouldn't have kept my room key card next to my cell phone and my Oyster card & my credit card, and that is why it wouldn't work! I mean, what sort of technology is that, that fails when kept in my handbag with those everyday items?

The room was OK, although the television tuning was rubbish, but for £100 a night -- and that was a heavily discounted price -- I felt this place was nothing special. And there were hoards of tourists so it felt crowded & rather tacky.

I only stayed here because three other of my favourite hotels (charging half the price) were full & couldn't accommodate me. Won't go back. And I think that if you paid rack rate (starting at around £300 a night) you'd feel really cheated.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redbookish_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This is my second visit to the Cumberland. My first stay was fine and second visit have to say even better! Good sized Twin Bedded room, excellent modern facilities - bathroom with shower particularly noteworthy!
Very helpful, welcoming, friendly efficient staff in Reception, Concierge and Restaurant. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel or visiting again myself.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

A good hotel and within walking distance to shopping.Close to main attractions in London. The rooms are reasonably sizes.The people at concierge were fantastic,esp Andrew. A black guy at the reception,I think his name is Edgar nearlly turned uu off staying at this hotel. He sweet talked us into giving us a free upgrade to a luxury room,instead he gave us a room in another building joined to the main building, with no direction as to how to reach there. Whenwe told that we weren't happy the reception told us that there were no other rooms available. S what happened with the room that we had booked ?? When Edgar tmade the booking he told us that in 5 mins he will be finishing work and will be gone,but he was there the entire evening. Very untrustworthy.
Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#98 of 1,078 in London
1,876 reviews
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#306 of 1,078 in London
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Address: Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#248 Family Hotel in London
#291 Romantic Hotel in London
#297 Luxury Hotel in London
#341 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $160 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cumberland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's most famous and finest four star hotels. Opposite Marble Arch, it is perfectly located with superb service and facilities. Its inspiring lobby exhibits inspirational original works of modern art, perfectly complimenting its contemporary style. A great hotel in a perfect location in one of the world's great cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland London
The Cumberland London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing