We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to Tube”
Review of The Cumberland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland
Ranked #443 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Hotel is next to Tube. Convenient store right across the main entrance of the hotel. Pret a Manger(cafe) just outside the hotel corner. Mcdonalds also next to the hotel.

Good buffet breakfast. Wide selections of breads and nuts. The dried mackerel next to the salad station is good. They have a good coffee.

Rooms space are just right. Toilets are updated. Hotel elevators are fast. Free wifi on the rooms and lobby. 10min leisurely walk to Oxford street - shopping district and the famous Selfridges department store. Hotel is a stone throws away from the Marble Arch.

Overall you cannot go wrong with the strategic and convenient location of this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gala_sa_Pinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am truly delighted to hear that the Hotel's central location perfectly suited your requirement. Your praise of the hotel has been communicated to all involved and I am glad you had such a lovely time.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require assistance for your next visit and I will ensure that you have another wonderful experience at The Cumberland Hotel.

Kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,773 - 2,779 of 6,277 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

stayed here for a mini break the room was very clean and spacious the en-suite was spotless I would stay here again and would recommend to any one we come London 4 times a year and this is the first time we stayed here and has been the best hotel by far so well done to all the staff for making us feel at home

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cumberland Hotel and for posting a great review on TripAdvisor. Your continued loyalty to the hotel is greatly appreciated and it is always a pleasure to welcome you back. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were well looked after for the duration of your stay.

It is always a pleasure to read such wonderful comments about our staff and service and we very much look forward to seeing you again for your next stay. On behalf of the whole team at the hotel, thank you once again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Good location off west Oxford Street and north Park Lane.
Easy to find and close to Hyde Park and Marble Arch tube station.
Large modern reception area but check-in took 15 minutes. Really frustrating.
Rooms refurbished to a Premier Inn standard, but no more.
TV in our room was old, slow and dirty.
Shower and toilet area clean and easy to use. Plenty of towels.
Stayed in room 2089 - on Oxford Street side of hotel.
Arrived back from a show at the 02 and there was still a hum of traffic outside,
so bring your ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
Also busy intersection and like any big city, you will hear sirens and all sorts throughout the night.
Recommend you book higher in the hotel to have a better night sleep or an inside room.
Had a really bad sleep.
Woke up again at 6.00am and couldn't get back to sleep. The curtains in the room were badly fitted and cheap. There was no blackout cloth to reduce the light in to the room. Really disappointed as was looking forward to a nice lie in.
The walls are also thin and we could hear a couple next door having a minor tiff for 30 minutes.
Good breakfast choice with hot and cold selection.
We checked out and usually you are asked about your stay - absolutely nothing from The Cumberland. Really impersonal.
If you are after a central location in London then try here but go high.
If you are after comfort, a good sleep and service - try other Guoman Hotels or similar priced hotels as staying here is not cheap.
Nice doormen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUSS1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed here for one night and on a whole I could have stayed for longer. The hotel itself was fantastic, lovely and modern with a very nice lobby and very clean. As for the room that was superb, everything you expected would be there, the bed was huge and so comfy with some delightful pillows and a huge heavy duvet, a great nights sleep. The shower was also remarkable nice and large, pretty much a walk in shoer so all was good.

The bad thing about this hotel was the service which killed the hotel in my view, the service was terrible. On arrival at 9.30am we were told our room would be ready at 1pm which was fine, we went back at one and was told it would be ready at 2pm, went back at 2pm and you guessed it we were told it would be ready at 3pm, finally at 3pm we were given our room with no apology, in my eyes as Im young we were looked down upon.

Then the nightmare hit saying how would I like to pay of which they said they hadnt recieved a payment so I had to pay twice which kindly my bank was able to fix for me, this was a nightmare again no other sorrys, or thankyou just rude and abbrupt service. I feel like shouting at the man behind the till or walking round and doing the job myself, politeness would have been nice.

Leaving our bags was a good service until when we wanted them back it took a whole of 20 minutes for them to find the bags and asking us 3 times how many bags we had and what they looked like.

On the whole this is a lovely hotel but just the wrong, rude staff in it which was disappointing. I wouldnt be staying here again which is a shame because of the location, I would like a refund due to my poor experience of this place, but that would never happen.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plumby94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

First, I apologize for not meeting your expectations with respect to your recent stay. It disappoints me to hear comments like this, after the time, efforts and expense that we have invested in our people and property. I sincerely hope that you would give us another chance to serve you, and I can assure you that we are continuing to work harder to give our guests a great hospitality experience each and every time.

Kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Just back from London and we decided to stay at this hotel based on the comments on Tripadvisor. We took on executive room in the annex which was great. Private reception, very quiet. The access to the lounge was a real plus since we have a baby. It was quiet, good to feed the baby, food was ok. Not crowded so we always had a space. We took the breakfast in the lounge since the main breakfast room is very crowded and noisy. It is located in the basement. The room itself was just ok. The bed was comfortable as Well as pillows. The overall feel is good. You just see that they have maxed on compromises (quality vs cost) which I think works pretty well. I would only go back to this hotel with the executive room.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Scram2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your fantastic comments. I really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. It was a great pleasure to meet a lovely family like yours and I would love to have the chance to welcome you all once again to the Cumberland hotel.

Kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lovely room and perfect location for shopping or exploring London. Hotel bar is trendy and not overpriced. The club/bar attached was great on Friday night good music and start or end to the evening. No noise affecting the room. Restaurant for breakfast had a large Que. but staff cleared it very quickly. Lots of choice for breakfast and great quality. Had been upgraded on arrival due to letting the hotel know it was for a celebration and also received a good quality bottle of wine. Would stay here again and recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a High floor overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifes_a_beach74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for choosing the Cumberland Hotel to celebrate your special occasion.

Your positive comments regarding the service of the staff as well as the location of the hotel is very much appreciated and we are delighted to hear that your enjoyed your dining experience in our restaurant for breakfast.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting London and please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do to assist you on your next stay.

Kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

the cumberland hos got the best location in london for people looking for shoping, visiting hyde park, every this is nearby. i stayed there 3 times.
however the cleaness of the room is not as expected. sometime the coversheet of bed not been changed they just put the same again. and some of them is look not well clean with some marks.

the space of the room for a standard is very small. unless you book a execitive room. which was in the past the standard room. or smart room.

the price is very high minimum 260-280 pound for a 4 star hotel.

the secuirity in the floor look need to be looked again. only one camera near the elevators while the whole floors i couldnt see any camera, even after the accidant happen there 2 month ago with respect to 3 UAE notional ladies.

elevator which took you to the breakfast resturant is limited and you have to wait long time specially when the resturant going to close.

the breakfast resturant is very big with alos of spaces, however when you go out you need to change your clothes again is its full of food smell like you was cooking the food.
poor ventelation in the resturant.

Room Tip: lower floor which facing the oxford street is noisy standard room is very small for 2 people whos h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali69900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali P, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your comments related to your last visit at The Cumberland Hotel.

I'm sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the hotel. The prices of the room vary according to the category and size of the room as well as the availability. There is always an option to book either directly from the website or via a travel agent depending on the period either one or the other can be a better options with offers.

Safety & security is paramount for us , The Hotel does have all the necessary security precautions in place such as over CCTV camera, bedroom doors that lock automatically when closed, deadbolts and chains, spy-holes. In addition the hotel has a 24 hour security team in place who are in place in the lobby, back door, patrol the hotel floors and monitor the exits/entrances to the hotel.

I do hope that all did not marred your stay and that we will see you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ian L.Peck
General Manager
The Cumberland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#93 of 1,077 in London
1,879 reviews
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#316 of 1,077 in London
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Portman Hotel, London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Address: Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#138 Family Hotel in London
#291 Romantic Hotel in London
#298 Luxury Hotel in London
#341 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $155 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cumberland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's most famous and finest four star hotels. Opposite Marble Arch, it is perfectly located with superb service and facilities. Its inspiring lobby exhibits inspirational original works of modern art, perfectly complimenting its contemporary style. A great hotel in a perfect location in one of the world's great cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland London
The Cumberland London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing