We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, good value and great staff.”
Review of The Cumberland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland
Ranked #421 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Chulmleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good value and great staff.”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed just one night on a quick trip to London.
The hotel, for its location, is excellent value and we obtained an upgrade to a 6th floor executive suite without asking. The room was perfectly adequate with all facilities, spacious and despite looking over Marble Arch relatively quiet apart from the odd siren in the night.
Our only complaint would be a musty smell in the bathroom.
All the staff members were a delight and could not be more helpful. The food in The Brasserie was excellent although a "large" glass of wine was expensive and we should have bought the bottle.
There was a large convention going on and we were warned that breakfast could be very busy but, once again, service and breakfast quality were excellent.
We will happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali P, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your constructive review regarding your recent stay at The Cumberland Hotel.

It is great to read that you had overall an enjoyable time with us and that you did find all suitable for your needs.

We are looking forward to your next visit hopefully quite soon.

Your sincerely,

Ian .L Peck
General Manager
The Cumberland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,852
    2,258
    1,152
    488
    374
See reviews for
1,029
1,932
386
1,599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

4 of us stayed at the Cumberland the weekend of March 7 th to 9 th . We thoroughly enjoyed . Our room was fine on the 5 th floor , no views but our friends were given an executive room on the 7th floor. The breakfast was excellent although there were queues especially on the Sunday morning. We appreciated the free wifi and the location next to the tube station and opposite Hyde park was excellent . The staff were very helpful .iIt was excellent Hotel which I would recommend . The bed was really comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali P, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for providing your feedback on your recent stay at The Cumberland Hotel.

I'm delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time with your friends at the hotel.

It is great to see that everything went well and that you did find our services and the hotel suitable for all your needs.

We appreciate that you recommended us and we hope to see you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ian L.Peck
General Manager
The Cumberland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Cumberland and we were very pleased with the hotel generally It is in an excellent location with the entrance to Marble Arch tube station just next door. Staff very pleasant and helpful (including dealing with a subsequent enquiry about lost property), rooms spacious, clean and comfortable with everything one could want including tea and coffee making facilities and ironing board. On this occasion, we booked breakfast, having read that it was "one of the best breakfasts in London". I would disagree. For a start, the breakfast room is a huge modern space in the basement of the hotel with a very disagreeable ambiance. It was busy and generally felt like a cheap cafeteria. They did not keep the buffet stocked particularly well and one had to wait for glasses/water/juice etc. The fried eggs I selected were rock hard. They did have gluten free bread/toast on offer however. Would certainly stay here again, but on a room only basis.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabu56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali P, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay at The Cumberland Hotel.

I have shared your comments with my Food & Beverage Manager regarding the breakfast I'm sorry that you did not like it.

I sincerely hope that this has marred you from staying in the future perhaps it would be good to upgrade to a Executive room and get the advantage of using our Club Lounge to enjoy a quiet and private breakfast may be.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Ian .L Peck
General Manager
The Cumberland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed in London to see a show and can't fault the location of the hotel. It's right at the end of Oxford Street facing Hyde Park. The hotel was very modern and the rooms were clean. The view from the room was the courtyard which was disappointing and the windows wouldn't open so the noisy aircon was on all night. The weather was warm about 17 degrees during the day. The next day we had to queue 15 minutes before we got a seat and the heat uncomfortable but the breakfast was lovely with a good choice. Would recommend the hotel as a good centrally located place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biche4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali P, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Cumberland Hotel.

I'm delighted you liked the hotel and you did find our location very convenient for all you had to do however I' m sorry that you were not lucky with your room view perhaps on a future visit it would be worth requesting an outside facing room and if you do this fairly in advance we can look into and do our best if available.

We are looking forward to your next London trip.

Yours sincerely,

Ian .L Peck
General Manager
The Cumberland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

we stayed at the Cumberland form 7-9th march 2014. We had an upgraded room & champagne as we were celebrating my birthday, which was a lovely surprise.
We have stayed in this hotel before and have always had a lovely time. The rooms are spacious clean & tidy, only draw back, for ladies is no mirror by the table, but no biggy!!
Fab location as its at the top of Oxford street, and easy access to all attraction. Taxi rank is right out side & local bus stops nearby.
I would highly recommend this hotel & will definitely stay again

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade, not guaranteed but worth asking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m7oons7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali P, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful feedback following your stay at The Cumberland Hotel this month.

It is great to see that we did tick all the boxes for you.

Many thanks for recommending us and also for your kind comments.

See you very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ian L. peck
General Manager
The Cumberland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I booked this hotel on a Secret hotel deal. It was excellent, free wifi, awesome location, 25% off parking, really helpful staff, beautiful decor, great air con the list goes on and on. Can't fault the hotel at all.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 8th Floor do not have an ice machine....That's the only thing I can think of. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanterKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali P, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback related to your stay at The Cumberland Hotel.

I'm very delighted to see that you were entirely satisfied and that all suited your needs and taste.

See you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ian L.Peck
General Manager
The Cumberland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel is lovely, modern and very clean.
I was a little bit disappointed at the 'view' from the room. I was on the 2nd floor looking into an awful courtyard and because I was overlooked by a number of other rooms I had to keep the curtains closed all the time even when it was light.
That was my only niggle and I was told to ask for a 'view' room the next time. But this is only a very slight niggle.

The staff however, are amazing and that is in every aspect of the hotel. They go out of their way to be pleasant and that was just what I needed being away from home (which I hate).

If you want the shopping accessible but within reach of peace and quiet of a park - this is the hotel for you.

I would love to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali P, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at The Cumberland Hotel.

It great to read that you were highly satisfied with our staff and service in the hotel.

I can understand that you were disappointed with the view you had from your room I have no doubt that we can rectify this on future stay. It is not always possible but we will do our best if you let us know as early as possible.

We are looking forward to have you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Ian L.Peck
General Manager
The Cumberland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#80 of 1,069 in London
1,647 reviews
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#303 of 1,069 in London
677 reviews
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#22 of 1,069 in London
1,740 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Property: The Cumberland
Address: Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#248 Family Hotel in London
#288 Luxury Hotel in London
#292 Romantic Hotel in London
#342 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cumberland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's most famous and finest four star hotels. Opposite Marble Arch, it is perfectly located with superb service and facilities. Its inspiring lobby exhibits inspirational original works of modern art, perfectly complimenting its contemporary style. A great hotel in a perfect location in one of the world's great cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland London
The Cumberland London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing