We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CUMBERLAND HOTEL - GREAT POSITION”
Review of The Cumberland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland
Ranked #440 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Cumberland is opposite Hyde Park and Marble Arch. Marble Arch Tube Station is literally next door. You can walk to Selfridges in Oxford Street in 3 or 4 minutes.
The Executive Room is worth the extra - very large room with free movies on tap, internet and a small fridge. A big plus with the Executive Rooms are the free access to the Executive Lounge which has comfortable armchairs, a big flat screen TV, snacks, and drinks all day. Great Coffee Machine too.
Breakfast is a little hectic as this hotel can have up to 2000 people at a time. Good food but very crowded and noisy. However this is the only downside to this hotel. Service is excellent and the position is fabulous. From Heathrow, Paddington is the nearest access. A taxi (July 2013) cost £7.20 from the station to the hotel. Lots of taxis outside the station. Follow the floor signs for 'Taxis'.
Ask for a room opposite Hyde Park if possible.

Room Tip: Executive rooms worth the extra. Ask for a room opposite Hyde Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hello Gillian.
Greetings from The Cumberland.

Thank you very much for your comments. I appreciate you taking the time out to share them.
I am glad you had a memorable stay.

I trust your journey home to Cape Town was a pleasant one.

Kind regards.
Ian Peck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,232 - 3,238 of 6,204 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We left a hotel down the road at 1:00 am because it was a complete dump. (rose court marble arch hotel)

Although it seemed very busy, this was the closest hotel for us. Hence our first stop. Thank goodness! We spoke with the front desk, they indicated that they had very limited vacancy but would see what they could do. In the mean time, they gave us the wifi password and let us search on our iPhones for other options. They found us a room which was VERY expensive, but after explaining our story and how my wife was pregnant and just needed to sleep, the manager reduced the rate significantly and arranged for us to be in a room that didn't require much walking.

The rooms are beautiful! Well kept, modern, super comfortable beds, and quiet. This hotel and their staff single handedly turned a potentially awful vacation around! We were so happy that we stumbled in and will be looking for their hotels in the future.

We also ordered hot breakfast to the room which was enough for three people and delicious!!!

Wonderful hotel to say the least!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daemmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Daemmi.
Thank you very much for writing a wonderful review on The Cumberland Hotel.
Firstly, may I congratulate you both on your new Baby to be.

I am very glad you found us and that our staff took good care of you.
Our team strive to look after all guests who enter our hotel and I am proud to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards.
Ian Peck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I held a conference in this hotel and it was an amazing stay and excellent conference facilities! It is a really contemporary hotel and this is reflected throughout! The rooms were very comfortable and the team couldn't do enough to help us get everything perfect. I loved the restaurant that had multiple serving stations to give a variety of food options.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leebowra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Leebowra.
Thank you for reporting your time spent at The Cumberland Hotel.
We are proud of our Contemporary style. I was happy to read your comments and hear how you enjoyed your time.
I am glad your conference was a success and that our facilities helped to play a part in that.

Kind regards.
Ian Peck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My friend and I were delighted with this hotel. Walking into the foyer was an experience we enjoyed. The staff were so helpful, kind and polite from the beginning of our 2 night stay until the end. An extremely busy hotel but that did not affect the wonderful efficiency or the smooth running. The breakfast was good, the service like clockwork which we found quite amazing considering the amount of people being catered for. The choice of dishes also wonderful. Room was lovely, clean, comfortable. Would like to go back again for all of the above reasons and the fact that the tube was just around the corner, which made access to every part of London, easy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer.
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay, we strive on delivering exceptional customer service.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.


Kind regards.
Ian Peck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for three nights from 28/07/13 to 01/07/13. We received a warm welcome at reception the room was spotless and spacious. The hairdryer in the room was not working so we received a prompt replacement, anything else that we asked for was dealt with quickly by their helpful staff. The breakfast choice was great, The chef that cooks the omelettes made an extra effort to speak to guests each morning even though he was very busy. This hotel is in an excellent location, right at Marble Arch station yet the hotel was surprisingly quiet considering how busy it was outside. I would recommend this hotel for a London stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Cumberland Hotel.

Your comments have been discussed with our team here and will be shared throughout all departments.

We endeavour to use all our guests’ feedback to constantly improve the level of service and standards that we are able to provide to our guests.

Thank you once again for the informative review; we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Ian L Peck
General Manager
The Cumberland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a hotel, theatre package. The room was located towards the back of the hotel so we were not bothered by street noise.The beds were really comfortable. For a four star hotel I was disappointed there was no bottled water in the room.
Breakfast was buffet style and had a large variety of items. We were lucky we got there early because when we finished, there was a really long queue of people waiting.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Wi Fi was included which is a real bonus as some hotels still charge for use.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfeeto57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about The Cumberland Hotel. I am glad you have had a lovely stay with us, I was proud to relay your feedback to my team.

Your views are very much appreciated, we are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and we thank you for complimenting our hotel and hotel team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to keep us informed of our comments via TripAdvisor. If I can be of any assistance in the meantime please contact me directly

Yours sincerely,

Ian L Peck
General Manager
The Cumberland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Always our choice in London. The location is unbeatable ... no other property has such a location ... very helpful concierge ... breakfast is widespread ... bang at the beginning of oxford street if one wants to shop in london theres no better place to live ! the family rooms and executive suites are spacious ...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NatashaKapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela R, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Cumberland Hotel.

Your comments have been discussed with our team here and will be shared throughout all departments.

We endeavour to use all our guests’ feedback to constantly improve the level of service and standards that we are able to provide to our guests.

Thank you once again for the informative review; we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

If I can be of any assistance in the meantime please contact me directly.

Yours sincerely,

Ian Peck
General Manager
The Cumberland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#89 of 1,075 in London
1,751 reviews
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#315 of 1,075 in London
683 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#163 of 1,075 in London
1,419 reviews
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Address: Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#248 Family Hotel in London
#292 Romantic Hotel in London
#295 Luxury Hotel in London
#342 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $181 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cumberland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's most famous and finest four star hotels. Opposite Marble Arch, it is perfectly located with superb service and facilities. Its inspiring lobby exhibits inspirational original works of modern art, perfectly complimenting its contemporary style. A great hotel in a perfect location in one of the world's great cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland London
The Cumberland London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing