We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot for a Hotel in London”
Review of The Cumberland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland
Ranked #440 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Perfect spot for a hotel in central London. Ideal place to start your shopping and sightseeing tour. The Hotel is located at Marble Arch, at the beginning of Oxford Street-a fashion victims paradise. All buses plus the underground (central line) are just outside the lobby. Restaurants nearby and a nice bar in the Hotel.
Rooms are spacious for a London city hotel. Newly renovated and modern furnished with all amenities.
Will come back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room because rooms to Oxford street can be a bit too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaR979hamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us at The Cumberland Hotel. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,365 - 3,371 of 6,204 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Booked this hotel as it was available on a very good offer with Hotels Direct. Was worried about noise levels as it is on the corner of Marble Arch and Oxford Street. No problems, my husband and I slept like babies. The breakfast which was inclusive was excellent. The rooms were bright and airy and very modern. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williams601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for this really positive feedback, we are pleased you were able to spend an enjoyable time in our hotel and we are also pleased you enjoyed your room and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a large hotel with vast reception lobby (although strangely i couldn't immediately see it when i came out of the tube - it is directly opp marble arch on the corner of Great Cumberland Place). The reception area is 'blue' lit and because it is so big has a slight airport feel, which i found initially quite disorientating.

That aside, it is in a good central location. The facilities (bar areas/breakfast area) are good and quite pleasant and the staff that served us were all polite and efficient.

We were in a standard room, which was of reasonable proportions with a comfortable bed and good quality linen. We didn't have a view and were in fact at the back and very overlooked by other rooms so kept our curtains closed. We only stayed one night so this was not an issue and the windows opened so reasonably airy.

The room itself was very clean, tastefully decorated and reasonably well appointed (including an iron). The bathroom was again very clean (shower but no bath) but i didn't like the glass door - although opaque glass it didn't feel private.

The breakfast was very good - good choice of fruits/yogurts/cold table fish/meat etc and hot table choice/breads also and we had that in the brasserie which was pleasant, comfortable and quiet.

This is a good, clean, centrally located hotel with good amenity. I don't know if i would wanted a standard room at the price advertized on the site but I booked this hotel as a 'hidden gem' via Hotel Direct and was therefore extremely pleased with the overall B+B package.

Room Tip: room at the front probably better in terms of view and in terms of not being over-looked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your stay with us.

As a team, we really appreciate your kind comments and are glad you enjoyed your time at The Cumberland.

We hope to welcome you back to The Cumberland in the future.

With kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here over New Year, when the choice of available hotels in London is rather limited. We opted for Executive rooms, thinking the access to the lounge would be nice.

Firstly when checking in, the staff were polite but quite difficult to understand with a heavy accent. After a very long confusing description of how to get to the room we were issued with keys and off we went. It soon became apparent there was something wrong and our room numbers were way off those noted on the wall by the lifts. We asked a member of staff who advised us we were in another building! It was not adjoined to the main hotel and about three minutes walk up the street. The reward we were told was the rooms were much better than those in the actual hotel building.

Looking at other pictures posted on trip advisor for this hotel that was true, the room was large, nicely furnished, modern and exceptionally clean. Netherless that didn't make up for the strange feeling of the place. It felt cold, empty and just had no atmosphere. Door entry was by key card and there was a small reception, which was attended, but there was no greeting on entering the place they just kept there head down which contributed to the unease.

Going to breakfast or even to get to the executive lounge resulted in leaving the building and walking down the street to re-enter the main hotel. In mid-winter in the pouring rain it just did not work for us. After braving the elements to get to the executive lounge it was a sore disappointment anyway, shoved in a dark cramped room with limited offerings, we wished we had not bothered. Compared to the executive lounges in other hotels in London this just did not compete. It was so busy we could not even sit and other occupants had already decimated the food and drink offerings. Being fair it was New Years Eve, so no doubt unusually busy.

I did not like the style of this hotel, nothing was seriously wrong, but it was just flat for me. There were no small touches at all, a large impersonal hotel with robotic staff. Mostly though if guests are going to be shoved in what felt like an over-flow building they should be told before arrival. As such be very careful staying here in peak periods.

Room Tip: Refuse to be put in the "other" hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcp_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Absolutely loved being right next to the Marble Arch Tube Station and having Oxford Street right on the doorstep. Perfect for shoppers! Room had been recently refurbished (still smelled a little of paint!) but looked very nice and had everything we needed. Lovely large reception area -very modern. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at The Cumberland Hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would choose to stay with us on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent hotel right in the heart of London. We had an executive family room which was more than adequate for us all. It enabled us to use the executive lounge which provided us with complimentary drinks and snacks which were great. The staff were really helpful. We booked this using a half price so it was excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your stay with us.

Your praise of the hotel and its staff has been communicated to all involved and I am glad you had such a lovely time.

We hope to welcome you back to The Cumberland in the future.

With kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel.
The reception area is large and minimalistic. Many employees, so we stood rarely in a queue.
I think it was 6 lifts, so we stood little in queue, here as well.

We got a standard room, it was ok. Small, not much space to move around. Very clean. It had coffee and tea making facilities, large flat screen tv, safe + +
The bed was large, but is was terrible to sleep in. It was leaning toward the center from all corners. Individual heating / cooling system in the room, which was very easy to use.
The bathroom was ok, but missed heated floors and handheld showerheads.

Breakfast was good, lots of different things to choose from.

We did not try any of the various restaurants / bars at the hotel.

The location is great, located right at the foot of Oxford Street. Great starting point for shopping. Plenty of restaurants and bars in the area.

Very nice and helpful staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MP-Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeskeremA, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and its services. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were particularly happy with the location and breakfast. We will continue to strive to meet our guests’ expectations and make their stay as comfortable as possible. All comments, positive and negative are shared with the entire team at The Cumberland.


Kind regards,

Ian Peck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#89 of 1,075 in London
1,751 reviews
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#315 of 1,075 in London
683 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#163 of 1,075 in London
1,420 reviews
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Address: Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#248 Family Hotel in London
#292 Romantic Hotel in London
#295 Luxury Hotel in London
#342 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $181 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cumberland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's most famous and finest four star hotels. Opposite Marble Arch, it is perfectly located with superb service and facilities. Its inspiring lobby exhibits inspirational original works of modern art, perfectly complimenting its contemporary style. A great hotel in a perfect location in one of the world's great cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland London
The Cumberland London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing