We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be better.”
Review of The Cumberland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland
Ranked #442 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here mid-October on an organised concert trip. We've stayed here before since the refurb years ago and were hoping for a better room this time.

I'd say that the reception, bars and restaurants are to a very good standard and the staff are pretty attentive without being intrusive. The lobby bar/restaurant is very accommodating by staying open 'until you're finished'!!

The rooms are a still a little disappointing. Not really thought out for the visitors comfort and convenience. More for the 'contemporary' look and feel. Our double bed had one side up against a wall, wardrobe definitely not suited to medium height ladies with long dresses to hang, bathroom with illogical and annoying layout etc. However, it was clean with a decent size room safe and free wifi.

Overall, this was a very conveniently located hotel for our trip and had some really good social space for meeting friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HippiExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumberlandGM, General Manager at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Hi Hippieexplores,

Thanks for the comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your Cumberland experience, come back soon.

Kind regards

James Berry
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,722 - 3,728 of 6,209 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

A great central location for anyone wishing to visit London but one cannot help thinking after two visits in quick succession that the quality of the room is rather hit and miss. On the latest trip,the shower could have done with a good scrub and the shower head was stuck on massage - something that did not come to light until it was too late! I was still charged the full rate! That said, the room itself was perfectly adequate and bed comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinotnoir61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel was very nice, great location and we had a wonderful seven day stay. Try to get the breakfast included, the buffett was huge, fresh and a great way to start each day. Make sure they are offering the free internet too, that was not offered until our third day. I recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letstrvlmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My visit was short to this hotel, which was exceptional and the greeting/help and guidance from Jimmy in The main Entrance was remarkable. He sure is a credit to the hotel. The room was very clean and air conditioned and the food was excellent with many staff available for assistance if required. Excellent Hotel, sure will visit again. Thanks!

Room Tip: Just wonderful, a real treat to say the least. twin room over looking Marble Arch. Very quiet consid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djw1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This modern hotel was perfect location situated at the top of oxford street, staff were friendly especially Jimmy the concierge, rooms were well equipt with kettle, iron, hairdryer all in a very modern sleek design, breakfast was delicious with everything on offer from full English to pancakes and waffles, fresh yoghurt and fruit and as much as you could eat. Taxis were situated outside the hotel and found this easier to get around the city. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisabernadettewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel several times when visiting London, both business and pleasure. Great location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms.
WiFi not included, which is not optimal for business travels.
Though - ask for a room NOT facing Oxford Street, and an upgrade is not worth it!

Room Tip: Not facing Oxford street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eterem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Never again
Although it is comfortable.
My daughter and me stayed on September for 2 nights .
My mother called me from abroad but operator claimed that no such person or family in the hotel .
My husband and my parents tried to call me for several times but they insist that we didn't arrive to hotel.
You can assume how hysteric and worried they were since it looks as if we were lost in London.
Finally after 2 hours of stress and the manager stupid and not reasonable reason for that fault ,our family found us.
The stupid reason was: my privet name was written as my family name!
Besides this hotel is great location great breakfast small rooms and no bath .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amalia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#87 of 1,076 in London
1,757 reviews
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#303 of 1,076 in London
684 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#160 of 1,076 in London
1,420 reviews
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Address: Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#248 Family Hotel in London
#292 Romantic Hotel in London
#298 Luxury Hotel in London
#342 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $178 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cumberland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's most famous and finest four star hotels. Opposite Marble Arch, it is perfectly located with superb service and facilities. Its inspiring lobby exhibits inspirational original works of modern art, perfectly complimenting its contemporary style. A great hotel in a perfect location in one of the world's great cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland London
The Cumberland London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing