We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkeley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Berkeley Court
Ranked #1,040 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Appalling”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This budget hotel was disgusting, years worth of dirt on doors etc. The bathroom door didnt shut, the room actually slopped to the right slightly. The bathroom sink was blocked so the water drained away very slowly. The beds were like sleeping on hard springs. The worst thing of all was the smell of mould which was all over the walls and in the bathroom..

Room Tip: just dont go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    29
    35
    173
See reviews for
36
76
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked this room through Budget.rooms.com. This company is in Spain, When we arrived
told our room was not available, given the strorage room in the basement. The room we booked supposed to have en-suite, and other facilties all were not there.
The room was dirty, we had to use a washroom on the next floor, the washroom sink was blocked, the shower only had cold water. There was rat poison open in the hall, was not allowed to pay by credit card only wanted cash. There was mould on the ceiling, wall lights were broken. You could have electrocuted yourself on them. The reason we stayed is because it was 16.45 on a Saturday afternoon, and was too late to look for anywhere else,and my partner was recovering from a stroke. That is why we were in London as a suprise for him.
Complained to Budget rooms, they do not to know anything about it., and they are still advertising this hotel on their website even though they have received a large number of complaints. WE have put this compliant to the city of Westminster enviironment agency , they have said they cannot control the cleanlyness and conditions of the hotel and have noit investigatged my complaint but have taken the word of the hotel owners.. City of Westminster trading standards said "as long as they have one room meeting their advertisment they are breaking advertisment rules"

Room Tip: Investigate this hotel with trip adviser before you book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Smelly, dirty flea-pit of a 'hotel'. Insisted on full payment and then refused a refund when confronted with a very long list of complaints, including no bedding, stains on matress and carpets, disgusting smell, filthy bathroom, tv cellotaped onto the tv stand, surfaces covered in dust. . . the list goes on. The receptionist was rude and confrontational when the complaints were made and refused to provide the name/contact number of the manager. Walked out and currently being treated like a VIP elsewhere. Took photos to evidence and will seek legal advice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great central location, but the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The website is completely misleading: says there are TVs (they don't work, just a blue screen), a restaurant (there wasn't one), telephones in rooms (they don't work) a hairdryer (there wasn't one), 24 receptionist (was not there on several occasions). Our windows didn't lock, the bathroom door had no handle and the door didn't fit, so it couldn't be closed. The walls were mouldy, the beds uncomfortable, bedding very shabby, no quilts, just a sheet, there was a very rusty waste bin in the bathroom and no mat for the shower. One positive feature - the towels were clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Pathetic room. No windows. TV did not work, which the receptionist attributed to 'an issue with the license'. Uncomfortable sloping bed. A bizarre flapping noise outside throughout the night. Simply awful. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I don't mind paying cheaply and getting a basic room, but this hotel was just awful. Firstly, they didn't tell me that my room had NO WINDOW. It was in the basement. The bed was covered with a sheet and a thin gray blanket. There was a duvet rolled up in the cupboard, but it had no cover and was filthy. There was loads of dirt and empty beer cans under the bed. Disgusting place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boop5907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night only..and that was to long!! It was awful, the room we stayed in was upon entering the hotel and the window was directly onto the street which wasnt the problem...it was the fact that it did'nt lock! But when we told the person who showed us to our room(if thats what you wanted to call it) he said its ok no-one will come in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! we could'nt wait to get out of there...the room had a tv that only showed blue screens, there was no quilt on the bed only a sheet, the pillows were as flat as pancakes and it was very dirty...I even considered sleeping in a bin outside it was that bad...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#796 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Marylebone
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch
Pimlico
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
#743 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#297 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Marylebone
The Zetter Townhouse, Marylebone
Mayfair
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Court

Property: Berkeley Court
Address: 22 Upper Berkeley Street, London W1H 7PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,040 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkeley Court 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Berkeley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Court London, England
London Hotel Berkeley Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing