We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy”
Review of Berkeley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Berkeley Court
Ranked #1,020 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Filthy”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

No cleaning, no service, no hot water, no hair-dryer, no breakfast. I do not recommend (but for the location, very close to shops!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katarina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    30
    36
    177
See reviews for
37
77
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Alarm bells went off when we saw the cracked plastic sign over the street entrance on Upper Berkeley Street, and our apprehension only deepened on ascending the ratty red carpet up to the reception. We were shown three rooms, one more dismal than the next, and --because we were prepaid and couldn't escape--we finally settled on the least objectionable and quietest. Still, the bathroom was filthy and its walls afflicted with a thick black mold, the wallpaper in the bedroom was pocked and peeling, the curtain on the back window torn, the coffee-colored and obscenely stained blanket full of cigarette holes, and the bedsprings--evidently from Dickensian times--creaked ominously. During the entire four nights we spent there, certainly a Guiness record in wanton masochism, the room was cleaned not even once, and the sheets changed only on the last day. When the temperature plunged at night, we turned on the prehistoric heater, only to be met with a blast of stinking air; evidently the mold had invaded its innards.
We are seasoned tourists, and this grim and grubby facility (to say hotel would be a ridiculous exaggeration) was by far the worst we have ever experienced. Fellow travelers beware!
P. S. To its credit, this establishment does evidence a playful kind of gallows humor, as they have put a sign reading "Rated on Tripadvisor.com.uk" on their front window!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giulia751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel itself was absolutely disgusting. The stairs didn't look as if they had been vacuumed EVER. Even the step outside the hotel was covered in what looked like stripped paint.

My room was at the very top of the hotel and there was a ladder up to the attic at the top of the stairs that was down all the time.

My room was only serviced once during my 4 night stay and they never emptied the bin or changed the towels.

Pros: The sheets and towels were clean (at first) and the shower worked.

Cons: Literally everything else.

Find somewhere else. Even the location doesn't save it.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. Seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithtrim_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2011

So creatively dirty that it became entertaining. My particular favourite was the toilet rolls used to prop open windows so they would not fall in on themselves.

The lock on the door did not work so sleep (fully clothed of course) was the luxury item I needed to sacrifice.

Police cell would be preferable. Strathbungo, No Bawbags!

Room Tip: Choose elswhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bovril1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Hi everyone,

I stayed there for 3 nights which was more than enough and luckily i did not get any skin infection. WHen i arrived, the lady on reception said they did not have my booking. When i showed her my printed confirmation she tried to make some excuses and wanted to move me to another 'hotel'. I rejected and somehow they get me one of their best rooms.
WHen i first stepped into room, oh Good! It was smelling, 3cm of the dust on tv and table, bathroom and shower were discusting. I went to complain and the lady told me they 'will give it a good cleaning'. Guess what? Nothing changed during whole stay but she had a curage to ask if i''t is better now'...
Going further, the douvet, sheets and pilows werent probably changed for some time. Most of the other people would just throw up when finding hair and nails on the place where you are supposed to sleep.
Windows were old and dirty and could not be properlu open nor closed.
They want you to pay for your staying upon arrival and now i understand why. The only good think aboout the hotel s the location.
I do not think i need to sum it but i ve read here somthing which i like and i am going to repeat it: DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND NEVER COME HERE!!!

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank vhprod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The hotel room is set up with any kind of high tech and state of the art contraptions. As soon as you walk into the room you notice the creative work of solving problems needed to be fixed.
The really ancient window which looks like it's going to break any second if a bird touched it with its wing is therefore so dirty that you barely can look outside. Not a problem since the view outside is rather obstructed with an old and run-down balcony. Not to mention the modern way the window's incapability of closing and opening it was fixed by a subtle paper bag that cracks the window open a couple inches resisting extreme weather conditions and not letting in any warmth during night.

The moldy, off-coming plaster on the ceiling was professionally fixed with sellotape and nicely re-designed by letting some of it dangling.
The color of the gum stuck on the floor leading to the bathroom indicates a high number of guests it probably brought domestic bless and the last deep-cleaning was done before some of us were even born.

First impression of the bathroom was quite okay. The in-built in the wall shower head is ultra-flexible due to its lacking attachment and some loose screws (I recommend wearing a helmet in the near future using this shower).
No doubt this hotel plays a leading role in the fight of global warming and environment protection!
For the fact there's no hot or even lukewarm water guests shower less frequently and most of all much shorter. Who needs warm water to shower?!
For those of you who like to clean their feet once in a while this hotel holds a special invention for you in store. If you got too cold feet to take a shower there's water leaking from a little hole on the outside of the toilet accumulating in front of the sink. This 'Eau de Toilette' presents a perfect way of keeping your feet fresh and 'clean'.

If you're planning on staying with company, I recommend using the night as an opportunity to talk about everything under the sun since you won't be getting any sleep in this rather uncomfortable bed ( I got better sleep by spending the night on the bare floor). Or it's because of the mold spread all over the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank waggespudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The staff at this hotel don´t care if you bring a reservation, and do not appologise that the hotel is overbooked. We had to find at new hiotel late at night friday night, and it was not easy! The same happend to the people who came after us, so it was not a sort of mistake I guess. Stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreKorsaksel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Hadleigh Hotel
Hadleigh Hotel
#768 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Marylebone
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch
Pimlico
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
#741 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#671 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Mayfair
No photo provided
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#294 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Court

Property: Berkeley Court
Address: 22 Upper Berkeley Street, London W1H 7PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,020 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Berkeley Court 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Berkeley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Court London, England
London Hotel Berkeley Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing