We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ranked #466 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have just had a superb afternoon tea at the Ambassador, Bloomsbury. Our waiter was excellent, the service was very good and the food was nicely served and very tasty. The strawberries were delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TeddyWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ambassadors, Director of Sales at Ambassadors Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed out afternoon tea so much. All of our items are freshly made in house. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,300 - 1,306 of 2,133 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have used this hotel previously and always had a double room, this time I have a single. I can stand in the middle of the room and touch 2 walls. The bed is rock hard. When i spoke to the receptionist she told me no one else had eve complained and that the mattress's were standard throughout the hotel.

Decor needs to be refreshed.

Room Tip: If you don't like rock hard mattress don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenL_1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ambassadors, Director of Sales at Ambassadors Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

We are sorry to hear that you found the bed to be too hard during your stay. We have just recently replaced all of our mattress with the highly recommended brand of Hypnos and have received mainly favourable comments, sorry that we disappointed you on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We spent 3 nights as a family with an 11 years-old daughter. Before coming we thought that we would fit all in a king size bed but it didn't work. As we stated it, they immediately changed the room with a bigger sized bed without an extra charge. The rooms are small but effectively designed. The bed was good to sleep, breakfasts are quite fresh and good. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsmailPolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is supposed to be a four star hotel, so I was expecting something quite nice...the location is good, but the room we were given was very cramped...the bathroom is a shower cubicle with a WC and tiny basin shoved in, And a frosted GLASS DOOR which is SEE-THROUGH...most disconcerting.
The wardrobe is a cupboard which holds 6 hangers, and there was one small drawer. If you were staying for more than a couple of nights and had a large suitcase full of clothes you would be living out of same suitcase. Goodness knows what Americans think of this hotel...it certainly isn't four star.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Good location. Snotty almost rude female receptionist. Booked a twin, given a double. Room was changed but not without a snotty telling off of us from the receptionist.
Rooms small and basic. Plaster needs tydying. No where to put toiletries in the bathroom and strange idea of wet room style shower which once used makes whole floor wet.
Beds were comfortable and temperature was fine.
Venetian blinds ok at night but not great once sun was up.
Cheap price for a Friday in London.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Edders2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ambassadors, Director of Sales at Ambassadors Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

I am sorry to hear of your experience, can you please contact us directly on sales@ambassadors.co.uk so that we may look into this for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great location close to numerous museums and main line stations. The staff were very helpful and patient.
Lovely clean and compact room with all facilities you could want. Bed was a touch narrow but the mattress was firm so we didn't roll together too much.
Will stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We really liked this hotel, just a short walk from Euston Station, the staff were so friendly nothing seemed too much trouble. The room was very clean and comfortable with a lovely bathroom, and the lighting was good, as sometimes rooms are a little dark in hotels. We paid extra for cooked breakfast with a voucher purchased at the main desk. This was well worth just a little more (pence only) than for the continental. The food was cooked to order and was delicious. We would not hesitate going to this hotel again when visiting the capital.

Room Tip: not really sure regarding the room, we went up in the lift to 216. There only seemed to be 3 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missmc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#634 of 1,077 in London
2,237 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#388 of 1,077 in London
2,167 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#289 of 1,077 in London
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadors Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Address: 12 Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#306 Luxury Hotel in London
#328 Business Hotel in London
#354 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $112 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassadors Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bloomsbury district, this 4-star hotel offers bright, stylish rooms, an Italian restaurant, and a chic bar. King's Cross Station is less than 10 minutes' walk away. Complimentary Wi-Fi and access to hotel gym is offered. Each air-conditioned room at Ambassadors Bloomsbury includes a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, Hypnos mattresses, a safe, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Complimentary mineral water and toiletries are also provided. The Number Twelve Restaurant serves gourmet Italian cuisine made from fresh, seasonal produce with views of the London streets. The stylish bar offers a wide selection of cocktails, beers, and wines, along with a snack menu and plasma-screen TV. Both Euston and Russell Square Station are 5 minutes' walk away, while St. Pancras, the terminal for the Eurostar, is a 10-minute walk away. The British Library is 5 minutes away on foot, and The British Museum is 15 minutes' walk. Major attractions such as the British Museum, London Zoo, Madame Tussauds and Camden Market are all less than a mile away. Camden is a great choice for travellers interested in jazz, opera and street musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassadors Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Bloomsbury Hotel London
Ambassadors Hotel London
Ambassadors Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing