We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location excellent rooms poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ranked #462 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location excellent rooms poor”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for weekend with my partner. Location of hotel was perfect as its only over the road from Euston station. However for the price we paid the room we were given was quite poor.we were given a disabled room with a large wet room for the bathroom with no window or ventilation hence it smelt musty and fousty in there. The bedroom was tiny also with no outside windows so no view or daylight whatsoever. There was no room to walk around the bed so to get on the one side you had to climb over the bed all the time. The tea/coffee making facilities were in the bottom of the bedside cupboard. Not good. This should be in a more easily accessible place. The room and hotel were clean. I asked reception for an iron and they did bring one up within 10 minutes. Breakfast was the usual cereals pastries cooked breakfast. Nothing special really. Probably wouldn't stay here again and would rather find another hotel nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    854
    402
    170
    100
See reviews for
209
819
139
527
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent location, excellent room, excellent staff, excellent breakfast.

Really enjoyed our overnight stay at the Ambassadors. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble.

The room was clean & modern, although not huge, but the size didn't matter - it was perfectly adequate for our needs.

Breakfast was fresh, plentiful, well presented, and they even had soya milk (great for me as a dairy allergy sufferer).

And, a massive bonus, was the left luggage facility. We were able to store our luggage before check-in, and after check-out which meant we didn't have to lug it around London.

Couldn't fault this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexGirlAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was given a voucher for Afternoon Tea as a present at Number 12 Restaurant. Even if you take into consideration that the price you pay is much lower than some of the grand London hotels, you still think that the food offered should much better. The sandwiches although fresh were very bland. We had not yet finished eating the finger sandwiches when the waiter brought us the sweet tray. The scones were cold, one had a crumbly texture and the other was not cooked properly and was still doughy. The jams were of the cheap variety. The cakes on the tray consisted of a very large bland & doughy cup cake with a very sickly sweet butter icing top, a little fruit tart of which the pastry case was very hard and again tasted very bland, a little slice of fruit cake and half a strawberry dipped in chocolate. The strawberry was the best thing. There was a very small selection of tea served in plastic cups and tea pots. Brown or white sugar were in sachets like in any greasy spoon cafes. There was no ambiance but at least the staff was smiling and polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonConstance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I recently treated a Friend to a Champagne Afternoon Tea at Number 12 Restaurant, at the Ambassadors Hotel, Bloomsbury.

We arrived early, but were able to be seated straight away. We were offered a glass of Champagne and it arrived with a dish of Strawberries. Very tasty!

Afterwards we were offered quite a choice of different Teas and then we were given the delicacies. Four types of Finger Sandwiches, slices of Fruit Cake, Pastries, Cupcakes and two types of scones with Clotted Cream, Raspberry and Strawberry preserves. It tasted heavenly and we were so full and struggled to finish it all. Definitely worth the price - we had a 2 for 1 offer.

It was all very well presented, the staff were pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed it - so much so, that I have decided to treat another Friend for her Birthday in a few months time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkLioness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The only saving grace for this hotel is its location. Great for Euston and St Pancras stations. Booked a mystery hotel for this location and price. Received a disabled room which had a larger than average bathroom and a smaller bedroom without an outside window. Coffee making facilities were on the bottom shelf of a bedside table tucked into the corner of the room which I found hard to reach having to climb over the bed to access and I am able bodied. Room drab. Hotel needs some refurbishment especially the carpets. Staff and service ordinary.
I wouldn't return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 311 without the outside window, not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19Beverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
476 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here for five nights in September 2013 during a business trip to London. I did not choose (or pay for) the hotel myself - my client did. I saw the bill, and £235/night for the smallish room was in was way over the top (even for London).

Location was perfect for my meeting venue, but I cannot think of any other reasons to choose this hotel at that price.

The bathroom was small, even a low ceiling. Almost nowhere to put bathroom kit (wash bag, shaving foam, aftershave, toothbrush). There was an ever-so-slightly musty smell in my room too - but definitely my room was very clean.

Breakfast was uninspiring, though I only took the continental option as I did not have time for an ordered choice. The breakfast restaurant does not open until 7am. I went down at 6.50 on day 1 and the door was firmly locked...

There is only one lift, and it seems to operate very slowly. I always had a few moments wait before it arrived whether I was going up or down.

The hotel is VERY convenient for Euston station, and walking distance from St Pancras, Kings Cross and the British Library.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

we stayed here for its location to st pancras station as we were catching the early euro star to Paris. I often visit London and will book this hotel again, it was value for money the rooms were very nice and clean and the staff were also very nice and helpful, Russell square underground is just a short walk from the hotel for exploring London's west end and other attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jooolz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#632 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#281 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadors Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Property: Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Address: 12 Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
#329 Business Hotel in London
#355 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassadors Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bloomsbury district, this 4-star hotel offers bright, stylish rooms, an Italian restaurant, and a chic bar. King's Cross Station is less than 10 minutes' walk away. Complimentary Wi-Fi and access to hotel gym is offered. Each air-conditioned room at Ambassadors Bloomsbury includes a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, Hypnos mattresses, a safe, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Complimentary mineral water and toiletries are also provided. The Number Twelve Restaurant serves gourmet Italian cuisine made from fresh, seasonal produce with views of the London streets. The stylish bar offers a wide selection of cocktails, beers, and wines, along with a snack menu and plasma-screen TV. Both Euston and Russell Square Station are 5 minutes' walk away, while St. Pancras, the terminal for the Eurostar, is a 10-minute walk away. The British Library is 5 minutes away on foot, and The British Museum is 15 minutes' walk. Major attractions such as the British Museum, London Zoo, Madame Tussauds and Camden Market are all less than a mile away. Camden is a great choice for travellers interested in jazz, opera and street musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ambassadors Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Bloomsbury Hotel London
Ambassadors Hotel London
Ambassadors Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing