We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four stars my bahookie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ranked #449 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Four stars my bahookie”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Our double room couldn't be called a room it was a cell. Basic would be describing it generously. Mirror the size of an a5 sheet no storage, six inch deep wardrobe three hangers no place to put your suitcase or store your toiletries. Shower was clearly going to flood the floor when used. After complaining they showed us a few rooms of what they said was better quality but were just as poor there was a horrible smell in all the rooms and the lift it was horrible the air conditioning was so noisy no way could you sleep thought that! So we checked out lost our money they have cheek to charge £160 a night and we were booked for three nights. A joke this is petit 3 star business hotel at very best. Don't take your wife or girlfriend it's not for that sort of weekend unless you pay by the hour.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    842
    396
    167
    96
See reviews for
208
800
139
520
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Ambassador for two nights. The service was excellent. Our room was ready when we arrived at 1pm and was spotless. Breakfast was made to order and served in a warm and bright dining room. We had cocktails in the bar on our second night which were potent but lovely. The location was wonderful and so close to the station, shops and various places to eat. I can't wait to go back to the Ambassador, this time with my Husband.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Really please I booked to stay here. Being a Travel Agent I tend to worry about what I'm booking and was looking for a cheap hotel for 1 night. Got a really good offer for this hotel, and I am really pleased I booked it. The hotel has fantastic links for the underground. Less then a 10 minute walk to St Pancras Intl and pretty much opposite Euston. I did get an upgrade on the booking to a deluxe room which gives you so much more space, I'd definitely recommend the upgrade. Didn't get to use the restaurant in the evening, but did nip in, in the morning and there was plenty of choice. I've already recommended to friends and family and would look to stay here in the future more for the convenience of location to the stations.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room for extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Awesome stay, Excellent location in a quiet neigborhood, but conveninet walking distance to oxford street. Very good service with an awesome breakfast. The rooms are good. Overaal it was a pleasant experience at the hotel. However, I think it suits more to business travellers due to its price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somaksarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Fantastic location re transport links makes this a good place to stay. My room was newly refurbished but I struggled to find the wardrobe and missed having a shelf in the bathroom. I also had to wait a while in reception while my room was checked even though it was after check in time. Staff very helpful guiding me to bus for Oxford Street and staff in Restaurant also very good. However, the food was disappointing and the restaurant was cold! Would not eat there again I'm afraid!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is clean and is in a really good location. Reception staff were efficient. The outside of the hotel and the lobby area are attractive. Our bedroom was clean but it was tiny, with the smallest double bed I've seen. Bed linen and towels are in need of replacement. We weren't in the bedroom much as we had such a busy weekend which was just as well. We got the impression that everything is pared right back to the minimum. For example, at breakfast we were given someone else's left over jug of milk. It is indicative, we think, that the coffee at breakfast is served in a filter jug to make it look like proper coffee but it is,in fact, instant coffee. That was a no no for us but other guests may not object to that. However, we did feel that the staff in the breakfast room lacked a bit of professionalism in that there was silly-ish messing around going on, which we felt a little uncomfortable with.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

A very short stay made even shorter by cancelled Eurostar (got up even earlier to get in queue), so full assessment not possible. Room was in the centre of the building, so no windows was a disappointment and the double bed was shoe-horned into room making walking around to the kettle difficult. I enjoyed the wet shower but others may find it "too new". Free wifi was a plus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#639 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#264 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadors Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadors Bloomsbury

Property: Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Address: 12 Upper Woburn Place, London WC1H 0HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#302 Luxury Hotel in London
#329 Business Hotel in London
#355 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassadors Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bloomsbury district, this 4-star hotel offers bright, stylish rooms, an Italian restaurant, and a chic bar. King's Cross Station is less than 10 minutes' walk away. Complimentary Wi-Fi and access to hotel gym is offered. Each air-conditioned room at Ambassadors Bloomsbury includes a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, Hypnos mattresses, a safe, a hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Complimentary mineral water and toiletries are also provided. The Number Twelve Restaurant serves gourmet Italian cuisine made from fresh, seasonal produce with views of the London streets. The stylish bar offers a wide selection of cocktails, beers, and wines, along with a snack menu and plasma-screen TV. Both Euston and Russell Square Station are 5 minutes' walk away, while St. Pancras, the terminal for the Eurostar, is a 10-minute walk away. The British Library is 5 minutes away on foot, and The British Museum is 15 minutes' walk. Major attractions such as the British Museum, London Zoo, Madame Tussauds and Camden Market are all less than a mile away. Camden is a great choice for travellers interested in jazz, opera and street musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambassadors Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadors Bloomsbury Hotel London
Ambassadors Hotel London
Ambassadors Bloomsbury London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing