We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great except for the Hostess!”

The Blues Kitchen Camden
Ranked #534 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Camden
Transit: Underground Stations: Camden Town Tube (4 minutes) Mornington Crescent Tube (5 minutes) Railway Stations: Camden Road Railway Station (8 minutes) Euston Railway Station (15 minutes)
Description: Serving up hearty Texan BBQ and blues music, The Blues Kitchen brings a touch of southern soul to Camden High Street. Vintage music posters, mix and match grandma lamps, light fixtures made from tyres and sinking settee style booths, not to mention the knowledge that music icons including Gary Clark Jr, Seasick Steve and Billy Childish have played here, make The Blues Kitchen feel like its been here forever. With all American favourites, including the most epic burgers and buttermilk chicken on the menu The Blues Kitchen will have your stomach singing a more cheerful song.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
647 reviews
439 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
“Great except for the Hostess!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went here on Sunday night and was near mocked by the hostess when she asked if we had reservations and we said no. She laughed and looked down her nose at us. Absolutely no need for this! We had come all the way out from Kensington just to eat here. Since we made the effort we decided to stay and have a drink. They have a great bourbon menu and the bargirl was great, it went some way to make up for the wench hostess.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rockfist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    287
    111
    62
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Soul-less”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went on a weekday night as my boyfriend loves blues and jazz music but this place was not what we expected. Its just basically a typical after work pub like any old fat cats/varsity kind of thing with a blues theme. we didnt see any live music because we didnt want to stay. The service was bad, we couldnt order food as there we no tables - we weren't asked if we wanted to wait or put our names down, just that there were no tables. If you like blues and jazz you'll hate this place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bany1781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Seafood Jumbalaya & the Sha La La's perfect!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Great Friday night out in Camden with friends. Loved the venue. Pre booked a table for four to eat. Table allocation was 2 hours so perfect to relax and have a drink before the band came on.

We had a shared starter and side dish of Padron peppers. I had the Seafood Jumbalaya for main it was all fresh, spicey and delicious. My friend had the chilli and said it was the best ever!

The band was the Sha La La's. Three piece MOD & Soul band well worth looking up.

All in all great venue, great food, great band.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Don't like the compulsory service charge.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went for the Mardi Gras party, which was great music and a great atmosphere. We ate great food and have no complaints at all. The place is really busy and people really seem to love it, you will find a good selection of food on the menu and cocktails on the drinks menu. Our bill was £62 with a compulsory 12.5% service charge added on top which I wasn't happy about! I do tip but like to do it myself.
I would go back for drinks and buy them myself at the bar in future.
It was a good night out however, but this was more the band and the chef rather than the waitresses!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank manchestermum40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cold food & blind dinner”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was there with friends a Saturday night. We had a table reserved at 8 but we sat down at 8.30.
My burger was cold and the shares were cold too. Around 9 they turn off almost all the light so it was very difficult to read the menu or even to see what you were eating! The girls from the bar asked us to leave the table because there were more people coming, even when we sat down there half an hour late.
I wouldn´t recomend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Termita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blues Kitchen Camden also viewed

 

Been to The Blues Kitchen Camden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing