We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow-shi”

Ichi Sushi and Sashimi Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Ichi Sushi and Sashimi Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,132 of 23,677 Restaurants in London
Price range: $20 - $34
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Southbank
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Not bad, nice friendly staff, but very slow service and nowhere near the best sushi available in London, having said that it was a nice addition to the hotel, just don't expect to be in and out very quickly.

Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel K, Manager at Ichi Sushi and Sashimi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Chis W,

I am deeply sorry if your experience at Ichi Sushi was overshadowed by what you defined a very slow service.

All of our dishes are freshly prepared through a meticulous process which requires care, great passion and also a little bit of patience when it comes to the service.

Having said this, there is definitely not excuse for not having provided the attentive, excellent service that in normally op to our standards.

Please accept my apologies for this.

I do hope to be able to welcome you to the restaurant again in order to rebuild you trust in us.

Regards,
Axel Krueger
Food and Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 166 of 288 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

This restaurant is inside the Park Plaza Westminster hotel, is little, and has nice views out of the window.
When the sushi arrives at the table, it is really good. Quite fresh. Quite tasty.
However, out of the 8 items we ordered (nigiri, rolls, etc.) the ONLY item that arrived correctly at the table was one order of Miso soup. Every single other item was wrong. I was very clear about wanting a salmon roll and salmon nigiri arrived. When I asked if just an eel and rice roll could be made for my daughter who doesn't like avocado, I was told, of course. Then first eel nigiri arrived, which we ate, and it was good, but we said we specifically asked for the roll. So then a dragon roll arrived. I said, but we just wanted an eel roll, and the server said, yes, there is eel on the inside. Ugh. Well, it was expensive and good, but the service will likely keep us from trying it again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gogotraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel K, Manager at Ichi Sushi and Sashimi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Godoteraveling,

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment.

I am glad you enjoyed the amazing quality of our freshly made sushi and I do apologize for the issues occurred during the service.

We will continue to install in all of our staff members the passion of delivering a great customer service, being more attentive to every guest’s need and desire.

Thank you again and see you again soon.

Regards,
Axel Krueger
Food and Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Food is OK. Standard sushi a sushimi. Standard presentation.Nothing earth shattering.Miso soup was as good as I've had though the spoon was very awkwardly shaped.
Everything arrived at the same time even though we'd asked for the meal to be split into 'starters' and 'main course'.
Staff smile a lot but aren't particularly attentive. Wanted to order more food but couldn't get anyone's attention.The drink i ordered didn't arrive.Struggled to get the bill. It wasn't really busy.
In short, OK food but plenty of better alternatives in the London

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TKPUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel K, Manager at Ichi Sushi and Sashimi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear TKPUNK,

I would like to thank you for your valued feedback.

I apologize on behalf of the restaurant Manager and the whole team at Ichi Sushi & Sashimi for not having met your expectations on this occasion.

I will personally share your comments with them in order to ensure these incidents will not occur again.

I hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

Regards,
Axel Krueger
Food and Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Did the sushi masterclass last weekend with a friend. Such good value (which I guess why it's booked up so far in advance). Welcome saki cocktail and endmame beans was a good touch. Learnt how to make maki, inside out and hand rolls which we got to eat too. Plus there was extra sashimi on offer. Would have been nice to have had some written instructions in addition to the information on the history of sushi. Think it costs about the same as the Yo Sushi class but I imagine this is a much nicer location, more authentic and a morre sophisticated.

Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axel K, Manager at Ichi Sushi and Sashimi Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Jay E,

Thank you for this really nice feedback.

We are delighted to read your pleasing comments on our lovely masterclass.

I will pass on to our Chef your suggestion of having written instructions on the history of Sushi as well.

Do not hesitate to come back to visit us soon.

Regards,
Axel Krueger
Food and Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very Poor Service, waiters do not care about what they do. Poor ambience for a 4 star hotel. Good Food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robbindp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichi Sushi and Sashimi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Ichi Sushi and Sashimi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing