We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good atmosphere”
Review of Regency Cafe

Regency Cafe
Ranked #80 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Westminster
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

There is always a long queue but it's worth the wait. Once you have finally reached the counter where you can place your order, the food comes quickly. The scrambled eggs are light, tomatoes and mushrooms are well grilled. The atmosphere is friendly and the setting interesting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cham0is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    176
    32
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnprior, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Film buff will love this cafe - featured in many films”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Good food, good atmosphere. Listen for the lady who shouts out your order - she is tiny but sounds like a man, very amusing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dowlingsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Perfect place for breakfast”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Superb cafe. Outstanding typically british atmosphere. I really like its breakfast sets: free range eggs are fantastic, beans are tasty, pudding is perfect and bacon is great. Superb place. One of my favourite cafes in London to have breakfast. Worth visiting even if you're not staying in Pimlico. Worth coming here by tube.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis-from-Fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Traditional British cafe at its best”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Having wandered past this cafe on hundreds of occasions in the past on way to work, I took the opportunity to visit during a weekend break. Wandered in on a bitterly cold Saturday morning expecting to find an empty cafe but on opening the door found a queue 12 deep waiting to place orders and all tables taken. Your Order must be taken before you take a table. Place your order and then find a table and wait for you food which you are informed is ready in the most surprising way. I had set menu traditional british breakfast which was superb with everything cooked to perfection with a steaming mug of tea. Did not manage to sit in the Daniel Craig seat but in summary highly recommended for a good value honest breakfast in central London.

Helpful?
Thank Hipha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great service but mediocre food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I came early for dinner and the service was amazing! The guy behind the corner was very helpful in giving recommendations and even chatted with me about my travels before I left. However, the food was mediocre. We had the chicken & mushroom pie with chips and beans (which oddly tasted like canned corn) as well as a chicken breast (too dry and overcooked!) with chips. The portions are generous and the prices insanely affordable (just £11.05 for both dishes plus a tea and a Coke) though. I wish I had come in the morning though because most of the reviews raved about the English breakfast. Because of the great service, I'm definitely willing to give it a second chance on my next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank framboise8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regency Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Regency Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing