We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, average service”
Review of Hakkasan Mayfair

Hakkasan Mayfair
Ranked #482 of 22,552 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $60
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Cross street: Berkeley Square
Transit: Green Park / Oxford Circus / Bond Street tube
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food, average service”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Really delicious tasting menu.... Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Unfortunately the service left a little to be desired - we were shown to our table late (despite all arriving in plenty of time) and then rushed off at the end of our allocated slot. Appreciate it's a busy place, but no one wants to be squeezed at either end of the "middle sitting".

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,282
    726
    323
    111
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service, Delicious food”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

A party of 6 of us dined here for a dim sum brunch one brisk January Sunday afternoon. This restaurant is located in the basement of a non-descript building without any signs at the entrance. I suppose when you have a one Michelin star, you don't really need to advertise much.

The atmosphere in this place was very romantic, dim and warm. I knew immediately upon absorbing the decor that this was an elegant fine dining establishment. The staff members of this restaurant were very well trained. They were friendly, warm, welcoming and quite knowledgeable about the menu items. They made me feel like a valued patron of their establishment and it was very nice.

The food and drinks we ordered were served in a timely manner and without a doubt, quite delicious. While I recognize the basics of each dim sum dish, every item was "kicked up a notch". These were no traditional dim sum dishes, but more of a nuevo version. Don't come here to expect the Hong Kong cart service dim sum experience. Instead, be ready for a totally new dining experience.

If you've never visited Hakkasan, I do highly recommend trying this place at least once for a Sunday brunch and return for a dinner service if you like it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Quin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Superb cuisine EVERY time!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a large, very busy, loud stylish restaurant with lots of atmosphere. I have been coming since it opened and the food has never disappointed. Went for dinner for my son's 16th birthday this time as it is his favourite restaurant. Dim Sum to start - soft succulent steamed parcels, generous filling, same for the Shanghai dumplings which are the best I have eaten anywhere, as well as crispy salt & pepper squid, perfect, not at all oily - I would happily eat it all again! Main courses ordered included the piki duck - a must order dish if you like crispy skin. I do think however the wine is overpriced - starting at £28 for a basic white wine, jumping to £38. Service is efficient and good, there are so many staff around but they are personable and check to see you are happy with everything and pay attention to detail. I will be back for a dim sum lunch next time.... already tasting those Shanghai dumplings!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nevines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful food staff atmosphere could not fault it at all one of the best we have had in London will definately return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Appalling service vs. good food”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Where do I start...There is an attitude issue among staff at this place - I would think they all need to be trained again. And again. I had a business dinner there and it was a bad idea. The waiter never took my order for a drink (he thought I asked for the cocktail menu just to have a look?). We were rushed away from our table at 9pm as we had apparently stayed too long. Throughout the evening there was not a smile, not a polite suggestion, the waiter never even took notice we may want some attention. As for ambience: we were sorrounded by people that try too hard to be cool - plastic surgery, outrageous outfits etc etc. Really?!

The music is too loud and it makes it really difficult to have a conversation, especially if it's business. Finally I guess I should add that the food is good and well cooked, but probably not worth going back for. Probably OK at other hours (never tried) but would avoid for dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmjd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakkasan Mayfair also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Hakkasan Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing