We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They went out of their way”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cubana

Cubana
Ranked #2,284 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Price range: $15 - $48
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: London's freshest, juiciest bar-restaurant with fantastically reasonably priced fresh tropical cocktails - including the best Mojitos in London - and freshly-prepared, healthy Latin and Cuban food. Open very late with live Latin music and DJs + great low cost lunches
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“They went out of their way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Myself and friends arrived late on a Sunday eve after being out dancing. Even though the kitchen was closed they made some food up for us - I think it was my puppy dog eyes the waitress couldn't refuse. Great friendly service, good food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L1156TIDavidC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    206
    92
    49
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Late night Mojitos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited Cubana as the bar we'd been in closed at midnight and it was still open.

The bar had live musicians on playing salsa and the bar was full of people dancing.

We had a few Mojitos and other cocktails which were all very nice. The draft beer was poor but the cocktails were lovely.

I'd recommend their 'Revolution' cocktail which was made with a lot of fresh pineapple and strawberries rather than just topped up with juice, all the flavour came from fruit.
I could have drink that stuff all night.

I can't comment on the food as the kitchen had closed when we went.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 125milesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One to avoid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This place looks great from the outside but once inside is a different story.

Obviously geared more towards the night time trade than daytime eaters.

The food is meagre and tasteless, the decor is strange and the the staff very rude and impolite.

However at night it is very lively, but very expensive. It also takes an age to be served and making your way to the bar is akin to running the gauntlet with people shoving and barging.

Not a pleasurable experience all in all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun, great value, fantastic mojitos.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I'm a bit of regular visitor here (about 5 times in the last two months). Cubana offers a couple of different experiences;

1) There's no question about it, as bar this place has a fantastic atmosphere, and the drinks are fantastic. If you can get a seat outdoors during happy hour then you will end up staying all night. The bar menu also has a yummy range of cuban snack, (plantain, sweet potato crisps and tapas style sharing platters). But it's when the dining tables and chairs are stacked that this place really comes alive. You can dance and drink the night away to some banging cuban tunes. A unique cuban experience in London.

2) As a restaurant it serves a small but varied menu packed full of veggie and pescaterian options, all the dishes I have enjoyed all the dishes I have tried (some fish, all vegetarian) and strongly recommend the tuna fish cakes. There's something about cuban spices and particularly cuban salsa that I can't get enough of. I have read some negative comments towards the staff, who can seem flippant regarding table service, but the place is usually rammed and I think you have to be a little understanding if you don't get top notch service! Especially considering the food is such good value (7-11 for a main course).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jevans172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice but rude staff!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I went there on a Sunday with a friend and it was quite buzzing although I can imagine the atmosphere to be better on a Friday or Saturday. There was a guy playing guitar and singing latin songs which was a nice touch.
We were left waiting by the bar staff who seemed more interested in talking to themselves and shovelling ice. Finally a woman asked what we wanted but there were no pleasantries, we didn't get a hello or thank you. She left another guy to serve the cocktails and he then tried to charge us again and after we told him we'd paid he sulked off to the till to check. He didn't apologies or say anything he just walked off after that. I'd liked to also add that it works out cheaper to buy a jug of cocktail but we weren't told this by that staff.
The cocktails were nice and they sell various beers which was good.
All in all it's a nice bar but the staff need some customer service training and to learn some manners

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4georgie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cubana also viewed

 

Been to Cubana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing