We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish & Hospitable Cafe in Sloane Square”

Gallery Mess Cafe and Bar
Ranked #3,361 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Jaffrey, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Stylish & Hospitable Cafe in Sloane Square”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

On a cold, rainy day in London I popped into the Gallery Mess Cafe, simply because it was the
closest, dry place to sit down. How pleasing then to discover a room that's an enclosed loggia, with a high arched ceiling, and with serene views of the greenery outside.
For lunch I had an exquisite bowl of pea and mint soup, and a plate of grilled vegetables
(I'm a vegetarian). Dessert was a subtle lemon sorbet. Everyone who works in this restaurant is professional, observant & welcoming.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    129
    50
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent meal & wine.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had lunch with a colleague here on 11 Oct 2012, and was delighted. We both had the Aberdeen Angus burger, with added cheese & bacon, which came with delicious crispy, chunky chips, and a small dollop of coleslaw. It was nicely presented, and absolutely delicious!

Desert was the special, being apple & blackberry crumble with a scoop of ice-cream. again, absolutely delicious. We chose the house red, an excellent Merlot, and good value (for London!) at £19 a bottle.

All in, with service charge it came to £36 per head, not bad for such a posh area, for 2 people, 2 course, and a bottle of wine. Worth every penny, we thoroughly enjoyed it, and will definitely go again.

Also noteworthy were the quirky & interesting staff, who made us feel welcome, and were confident, chatty, and efficient. You get the feeling they enjoy working there, which is the key to good service. Also it was nice to be offered the choice of tap water, instead of having to pay for expensive bottled water, or feel like a cheapskate asking for it! I appreciated that, as we wanted to keep the cost down.

Nice decor too, and would be lovely to sit outside once the weather is warmer. So all in all, highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
537 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Ditto Afternoon Tea!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Can only echo comments below. Afternoon tea served on the terrace was quite delicious. Beautifully presented, dainy individual portions and the treat of a glass of champagne. £9.50 per head, considerably cheaper than nearby hotels and do eat outside if time and temperature allow! Views of Chelsea Farmers Market and general business of The Kings Road quite delightful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coolcookingteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The perfect afternoon tea”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

After complaining that the Saatchi Museum didn't have a place for a cup of tea, I walked outside the museum and to the left, there was a charming rather large cafe/bar associated with the museum. And it's really nice. My husband and I ordered the afternoon tea, at a very reasonable price, and it was perfect. Tiny sandwiches (cucumber, egg mayonaisse, Coronation chicken), tiny scones and clotted cream with raspberry jam, and itsy pastries: a rasberry meringue, a chocolate cream puff and a rasberry macaroon. It was the perfect amount and all delicious. the service was excellent and ambience very nice. I'm just wondering why I rated it very good instead of excellent. Well, when i go back for lunch, maybe I'll correct my error.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ducksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great al fresco dining”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Lovely atmosphere at this tucked away restaurant. The staff are very friendly and I've been going here for some time now. Busy lunch times and relaxed evenings. Perfect on a sunny day for eating outside and watching the world go by. The menu changes monthly and I highly recommend the sea bass, chocolate parfait and fried whitebait. Yum

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallery Mess Cafe and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Gallery Mess Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing