We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great al fresco dining”

Gallery Mess Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #3,635 of 23,041 Restaurants in London
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chelsea
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great al fresco dining”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Lovely atmosphere at this tucked away restaurant. The staff are very friendly and I've been going here for some time now. Busy lunch times and relaxed evenings. Perfect on a sunny day for eating outside and watching the world go by. The menu changes monthly and I highly recommend the sea bass, chocolate parfait and fried whitebait. Yum

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    140
    54
    23
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limoges, France
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Rose to the occasion”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A family group of 14 of us went to the restaurant for a lunch after the wedding of my husband's daughter. The restaurant is well appointed and our waitress looked after us very well. We had a special menu with three choices for each course which our host had chosen. The food was good and our waitress recommended two very good wines to accompany it. The restaurant and cafe are in a lovely spot set back off the Kings Road in what used to be the Wellington Barracks. It has been sympathetically restored and converted and I should imagine that it would be a lovely place to eat al fresco when the weather is good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexandramachray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leikanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful place. Delicious food. Perfect service”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I went here with a friend which I haven't met for years. We had a wonderful time at this very tranquil and beautiful cafe. We had asked for a table outdoor, and had a nice view overlooking the park. We asked for advice on what to eat, and the suggested salmon salad was delicious. Not too much cooked, and crispy salad. The waiter suggested an accompanying white wine which was perfect also. The waiter was very service minded, caring and with a good sense of humor. So we ladies had a really good time at the Mess. The bill was about 40 pound for the salad, a glass of wine, sparkling water, dessert and two cups of coffee. Service of 12,5% was added. A bit expensive, but worth the cost. I'll come back for certain next time I spend time in London.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kristinnorway_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great lunch on a sunny day”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

London on a sunny day.......this is the place to go and have a nice salads and a charcuterie sharing boards 1 for 2, a bottle of rosee and finishing with some home made chocolates truffles to share with an expresso. The location is set away from the noisy kings rd next to the Saatchi Gallery were you must have a wander after, small, free and full of inspiring or just amusing pieces. Also just the place during Wimbledon were the lawn directly across covers some of the games with an outdoor huge screen for every one to see.
Get there early, no outside reservations and will need to queue, the staff are very helpful and friendly and will take your name so you can wander or sit on the benches and watch while waiting also free!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sigrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a warm summers day on the terrace”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Went to this charming spot on one of the few decent days of the year with my boyfriend. Enjoyed a fresh and simple starter of chilled celery and apple soup followed by tea and lemongrass smoked loch duart salmon salad. The food was plentiful, light and perfect for the time of year. The only issue was having to queue for 5 minutes whilst waiting for a free table to become available but it was well worth it. The waitress was very friendly and although rushed off her feet she still managed to smile and remember all of our order.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallery Mess Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Gallery Mess Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing