We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites Apartment Hotel
Ranked #110 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Finally arrived after walking from Ealing Broadway station. The welcome was friendly if not a little slow as other people have previously noted, however what has not been mentioned here was that they take a £50 damage deposit and pre authorise this from your card upon check in. Luckily we barely used anything, just a spoon so I wasn't worried about not getting this back but some prior warning would have been appreciated.

We were told upon check in that they had no studio apartments available which is what we'd booked and were duly upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment. This was a very nice surprise, especially given other people's reviews about being housed in other hotels.

The apartment was lovely, Gangsters Paradise was the name of it. If I can come up with one criticism it is that the wooden floors were so slippery from whatever they've used to wash/wipe the floors that it was hard to stay up right at times, I can safely say that as a non drinker, none of these times were due to too much booze.

It's very conveniently located near to several supermarkets and other food outlets alongside the usual chain stores such as Boots and Wilkinsons.

All in all I was very pleasantly surprised and if I need to stay in Ealing again I will be booking into the apartments again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridon M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the accomadation and found the location central and convenient.

The pre authorisation at check in is a standard procedure in most hotels. the transaction is blocked by the bank but the money is not taken and once you check out if there is nothing to be charged the bank will release this amount back.

We have taken on board your comments about the cleaning products on the wooden floor and we are looking at an alternative product.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    51
    26
    6
    14
See reviews for
49
50
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Book here at your peril.
below is an email I received the day before we are due to stay..

"We are contacting you regarding your reservation at the Best Western Maitrise Suites An Apartment Hotel on the 4th January.

Moin the manager has informed us that the hotel are unable to provide you with the Two-Bedroom Apartment you have booked, this is due to the hotel being overbooked.

However the manager does wish to offer you a One-Bedroom apartment at a lower cost of £100.

As the hotel are currently very busy we ask you confirm to us in the next 24 hours if you accept this alternative room."

3 people in 1 room.. ? hardly professional.. hardly acceptable for a mid range London Hotel..

If this is the way you are prepared to be treated then fine.. but there are much better options available.. this hotel is happy to shaft you.. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Please do not stay here.. this is my best tip for you..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADesert_Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I would like to say a huge thanks to Moin who very kindly looked after us during our stay.
The hotel is roughly 20 minute walk from nearest Underground tube station ( Ealing Broadway) so a little way out of the main hub of London approx 20 minute tube ride on the central line to Oxford Circus. Good selection of local shops within walking distance.
Apartments very clean and well presented , decor very complimentary. Furniture in front rooms very comfortable. Bathroom have a nice selection of complimentary items including sewing kits and flannels etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rendell243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your stay with us!

It is always very rewarding to know that we are doing the right thing although it is fair to say that are a few areas that we can improve on.

Naturally I was very pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

I do hope that you will consider returing to us in the near future.

Regards,

P Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

our first experience of the hotel wasnt fantastic we landed in london at 5am and so needed an early check in. They gave us so much hassles ahead of time suggesting that they were so busy they couldnt guarantee us one. When we got there they had sooo many available rooms an early check in wasnt a problem at all. That in itself isnt a catastrophe but we could have sorted all the admin out before hand and just walked into a room when we got there. In the end we had to deal with all that paperwork and nonsense after a long flight when we were tired and irritable - it could have been avoided...
we also had some problems with our airconditioning/heating but even after asking for it to be looked at we had no joy - we stayed for 9 nights so its a long time to have things not working ideally.
the room itself was nice and well appointed, well furnished and pretty comfortable too! our housekeepers were awesome and the room was always cleaned perfectly.
the people at reception were a mixed bag - we dealt with 3 people there, 1 really helpful, 1 kinda helpful and one not really helpful at all.
so on the whole we had some good and some bad which makes it average in our books...
its also a little far out of the centre of london so if you want to be close to the action this may not work for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craig93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review of your stay with us!

It is always very rewarding to know that our best efforts do not go unnoticed & although it is fair to say that are a few areas that we can improve on I was very pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

I do hope that you will consider returing to us in the near future.

Regards,

P Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I would like to say a huge thank you especially to Moin who very kindly looked after us during our stay. He was very helpful, kind and professional. The apartment was fantastic for the very short stay we were there for us. It had everything we could have wanted in an apartment. The area was loaded with local shops so we did not have to go far to get any amenities.
I am definitely staying again in the near future and would strongly recommend it to anyone.
Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind review.

I was delighted to read your kind comments about Moin as he always does his best to deliver outstanding service.

I do hope that you will return to us in the near future.

Regards,

P Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Best Western Maitrise in West Ealing for four nights and it is definitely not somewhere I would go back.

First off the hotel parking for £20 a day is literally a building site around the back of the hotel and can only take 4-5 cars. I was slightly dubious about the safety of my car tucked away round the back and also worried about other people scratching / bumping it as it's a tight place to park. Next the reception area of the hotel which whilst looking very nice, smelt of damp / drains. The receptionist was friendly but took quite a while to check me in and despite having paid on Laterooms, we were told that the room wasn't paid for...

We had booked one of the Luxury apartments with the hot tub and actually this is one of the best apartment layouts I've seen with a separate large bathroom, medium sized bedroom and large kitchen / lounge. That said the whole place smells of damp / drains, not too bad but you do notice it upon entering. The deck outside is really big and well screened with frosted glass BUT there are literally tens of pigeons and the whole place is covered in pigeon poo (and smells of it too). We wanted to use the hot tub but were unable to find any instructions and the buttons are completely indecipherable and were put off that underneath the decking there were roosting pigeons, eggs and poo everywhere. It smelt. Bad.

The lounge / kitchen looks great with plenty of space, nice side boards, table and chairs, sofa etc and the whole place was cleaned everyday which you don't always get with apartments. That said it lacked some basics essentials that we had to ask for but had varying success in receiving...so I had to ask for a hairdryer (received) and a tin opener (not received). Be aware there is quite a lot of 'stuff' in cupboards so you have to search all over to find things, for example, there were wine and champagne glasses in the sideboard and not in the glass cupboard.

The absolute worst part of this hotel? The beds! We stayed in a luxury double apartment and had one of those god awful beds where you have a hard, solid wooden base with two twin mattresses zipped together on top. You can't cuddle for falling down the crack, we both slept terribly all week and walked out with aches and pains from the poor support and lumpy mattresses. The pillows were pathetic, flat, part filled sacks and the sheets came off the bed every night being only just big enough to tuck under the sides. The duvet wasn't very big either and, a bit like the pillows, was lacking in filling. They seriously need to invest in this area as I'd expect this kind of bed in a hostel, not a 'boutique' apartment hotel.

The location of the hotel is ok but I didn't feel particularly safe walking late at night. It's about 10 min walk to West Ealing station and about 25 mins walk /7min bus ride to Ealing Broadway tube station. There are lots of shops around it but mainly cheap / pound shops. There is a Sainsburys 5 min walk away and an Iceland literally 30 seconds away as well as lots of grocers etc. To eat out though you need to head to Ealing Broadway as there are mainly sandwich / kebab shops around the hotel.

Overall, I liked the apartment layout but I wouldn't recommend this hotel. The damp smell was offputting and the pigeon situation around the hot tub was to be honest pretty foul. It's expensive for the location and I don't think I've slept that badly ever!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LionHeartedGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay.

I was disappointed to read your comments about the bed & the issue with the pigeons.

Please let me know if you would like to contact me directly so that I can try & resolve this matter for you..

I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

P Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I would love to write a review for this hotel, however that was made impossible by the Best Western chain. I recently had a weekend in London planned to go and watch an event at Wembley. I booked an apartment with the Best Western chain as I thought that it was a respectable chain which provided excellent service. I could not have been more wrong! I received numerous emails to confirm my booking to my chosen hotel, yet on the day, an hour before I was due to arrive, I received a phone call to tell me that my room was not available and that there had been a mix up! On arriving at the hotel to sort out the issue, I was told that there was no manager to speak to and that I had to pay an addition charge to stop in another hotel which didn't have the facilities of which I had booked with the apartment. Also when I arrived at the hotel there was in fact 4 empty rooms in which matched my criteria of my booking. However for some reason, unknown to me I was not allowed to check in and stop! I spoke to head office on the day who informed me that I would receive a refund for the hotel in which I had to book extra and also that I would receive a complimentary drink for each of the party who were supposed to be stopping. In fact what I got offered was a stay a Best Western apartment of my choice due to availability. This really frustrated me as basic company policies and customer service skills were not applied! I would avoid this chain at all costs!!!! And I would never book with them again as apparently it is acceptable to ruin somebody's weekend without compensating them.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review.

As you are aware I have responded to you via the booking agent & I hope that the action taken has resolved the matter.

As stated in the correspondence I am very sorry that there was an overbooking issue.

Many thanks,

P Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel
#793 of 1,077 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Britannia Inn
#5 of 14 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
#451 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#18 of 556 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites Apartment Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites Apartment Hotel
Address: 50-54 Broadway, London W13 0SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Maitrise Suites is located in the vibrant neighborhood of West Ealing and brings the excitement of London living into the modern era. These Luxury Serviced Apartments features studios and one bedroom apartments and are the type of luxury that corporate traveller's dream of. Whether you are looking for "short stay vacation breaks" or "extended business accommodation" our facilities will offer you an attractive alternative to any London hotel. With all our apartments serviced daily, 24 hour reception and concierge and daily laundry and dry cleaning services available, we are more than able to offer you the complete corporate housing solution. All our bespoke suites are fitted with flat screen TVs, home cinema systems and free WIFI will allow you to work from the comfort of your "London home." The fully equipped fitted kitchens, with all the modern accessories mean you can have a home cooked meal or entertain friends in style. Our orthopaedic beds, with luxury Egyptian cottons sheets, are the perfect way to retire after a long day. Many of our suites come with private roof terraces to give you added space. For those travelling by car The Best Western Maitrise Suites offers onsite car parking. The Hotel is only 10 minutes from Ealing Broadway Underground Station, with District and Central Line services, has direct links into Oxford Circus, The City of London and Westminster. Heathrow Airport is less than 30 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Suites Apartment Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing