We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for a good value filling meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pho

Pho
Ranked #1,550 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good place for a good value filling meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Pho does really good south east Asian food, I particularly enjoy their noodles. Pho is a good place to go with friends, they have some nice drinks and sides to have with your meal and it is decently priced. The staff are really friendly and attentive. I would recommend you go, try the Pho, or the other dishes if you want a nice relaxing meal, the food is really filling.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    155
    55
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Reasonable restaurant but lots of other choices in Soho...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I went here for a date and had a perfectly nice meal, but it wasn't anything beyond average, and bearing in mind how many great restaurants there are in London, I wouldn't return here.

We had a summer chicken and baby squid which were fine as starters but nothing special, followed by the Pho Xao, one each of the chicken/prawn and the beef. Yes, they were flavoursome, but nothing too fancy, so it served the purpose, but £40 for 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 soft drinks + service seems a little steep for such simplistic, average food. Oh, and the seating where we were was not comfortable!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AngloItalian78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fails to Deliver”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

I should start off by saying that I love pho. Love. So when I go out to eat it, I'm expecting and hoping for a lot. Soho Pho, while having a complex flavor, does not necessarily have a good one. The soup was more oily than it should have been, and the aftertaste was strange. I dumped a ton of sriracha in it to get it to taste familiar (though I would have done that anyway, because I like my broth red). If you'd never eaten good pho, you might not have been able to tell it was lacking, but I'm admittedly picky. If you don't mind paying around ten pounds for a bowl that's "okay," then go right ahead.

Helpful?
4 Thank Mburns2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“disappointing doesn't begin to encompass the disaster of this restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We visited this restaurant in April 2014, as a table for 2. We are very experienced with Vietnamese food and have a reasonable idea of what one should expect from the usual dishes.

One of us ordered a bowl of pho with beef, the other ordered vermicelli (bun) with tofu. We shared a plate of broken rice with chicken between us. The food was very poor quality. The pho was of a reasonable size, but the beef was tough as nails, and the soup was just too salty but at the same time lacked any reasonable similarity to the flavour of pho soup - it was as if they were trying to cover up the lack of flavour with salt. The tofu, too, had been soaked in salt - my dinner partner couldn't even stomach eating it. The rice was a tiny portion, and was served lukewarm.

Overall, the food seemed like someone was cooking it by following some sort of British-ized recipe - without any understanding of what Vietnamese food is supposed to actually taste like.

The bill didn't help either - given how poor the food was, and the usual price of pho, the pricing seemed egregious.

This was _terrible_ Vietnamese food. The service was friendly and attempted to be helpful, and the atmosphere of the restaurant was quite nice, but I suppose these should have been red flags. Vietnamese restaurants don't normally have good service nor a quaint atmosphere - they simply have good food, usually for a cheap price. And unfortunately, this restaurant lacked those essential ingredients - along with everything else that normally goes into pho.

I really, really can't recommend this place at all. Disappointing doesn't begin to describe it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Iclaprim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Okay, just okay. Wouldn't rush back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Was really expecting a tingle mouthed taste explosion and instead found myself eating a bowl of noodle soup which was too heavy on the coriander, with slightly tough meat and nowhere near enough heat and fresh chillies. To be fair, the starters were decent, with pork balls and squid, but quite frankly, have had better in Tampopo. Disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Pho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing