We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look up!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alternative London

Alternative London
Ranked #1 of 166 Food & Drink in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the London you won't find in the guide books with London's original off-the-beaten-track tour provider! Come with us to explore the culture, community and street art of London's vibrant East End. We offer unique and original walking tours, bike tours and food & drink tours and as London's original street art tour provider we also offer street art workshops led by our team of street artists. Tour prices start at pay-what-you-want so there's something for everyone at a price to suit all budgets. Let our expert guides show you the real London, from a local's perspective!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Look up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We very much enjoyed the street art walking tour with our guide Ben. Very interesting to learn about the different waves of immigration in that part of London and of course to discover the subtle and sometimes not so subtle street art pieces. We did it with our 11 and 14 year old daughters and despite the language barrier they were excited. We would highly recommend it! Will remember to look up more often when visiting cities :-)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Els T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlternativeLondon, Owner at Alternative London, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We're really pleased that yourself and your family enjoyed your tour with Ben. On some tours a language barrier can be a real issue - especially when trying to keep youngsters interested. Luckily the area in which our tours are based is so full of interesting things to look at, we feel it doesn't matter if you don't understand everything being said and everyone can enjoy it.
Thanks once again,
Al.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,382
    170
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Ben was a very informative and entertaining guide, would recommend this tour to visitors and people living in London.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheDebdenPope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlternativeLondon, Owner at Alternative London, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank s much for takjing the time to join one of our tours and leave such positive feedback. We're really glad you enjoyed your time with Ben.
Thanks again,
AL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Ben is the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

What a great tour - was worried my grumpy tired 9 year old would not enjoy but in the safe hands of Ben she became captivated and learnt so much - we all did.
Can not recommend higher. Do it!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hkn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlternativeLondon, Owner at Alternative London, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time give us your feedback. We're really glad that yourself and your nine year old had such a great time on one of our tours. We agree - Ben is a fantastic guide and we're lucky to have him in the team.
Thanks once again,
AL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great time and nice people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I did the Street Art walking tour on the weekend and despite the fact it was freezing it was an amazing time. I've lived in London for 5 years and discovered new facts about this gorgeous city as well as some incredible pieces of art!
I'll definitely recommend this to anyone simply visiting the city or who's been living here for a while.
Finally, thanks Ben (our guide) for the tour, it was excellent!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlternativeLondon, Owner at Alternative London, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for braving the freezing cold to join one of our tours! Showing up in the cold and going on to write such positive reviews about your experince with us means that customers like yourself have kept our small independent business running over the winter months.
Many thanks for this and all the best.
AL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best thing to do in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have lived in London for nearly 5 years and kept saying I would book the tour. Hands down this is one of the best things I have done since I've been here.Loved the mixture between the historic and artistic view of the East End.
Ben our guide was super informative, passionate and wanted to teach everyone to open their eyes and take note. East London isn't just full of people in skinny jeans with funny haircuts but a platform for world class artist to share their talents.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_R_3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlternativeLondon, Owner at Alternative London, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write us such a positive review. We're flattered that you think our tour is 'the best thing to do in London' especially as you've livdehre for five years! We read all of our reviews and ones like this really do mean a lot to us and make all of the hard work we put in worthwhile.
Thanks again,
AL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alternative London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing