We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Ranked #942 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Fife, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and pleasant hotel”
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights - Room 505 on the Plaza Floor! Spacious room, comfortable bed. Some car parking available (also easy enough to find on street parking overnight). Food was okay if not very exciting. We arrived about 8 pm on our first night and ate in - not much left on the buffet but I suppose we were quite late. Breakfasts okay if nothing special.

After booking we read some of the negative reviews; and having stayed at the Britannia it is difficult to believe that the critics were at the same hotel as we were; as I would be happy to return there in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickStubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    208
    290
    185
    291
See reviews for
181
350
70
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ASHBY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We checked this review site prior to our visit and were very concerned!!! We even contacted our travel agent who offered an alternative at a much higher price but being on a budget we decided to chance it!!
Although the exterior looked a little tired the welcome from the reception staff was very pleasant and we were given room 514, at the rear of the hotel with a truely magnificent view of London's skyline. The room had been recently decorated although the bathroom was a little ancient, lots of hot water. Breakfast was excellent. Staff extremely helpful and pleasent. The location was first class, very quite with easy walking of Belzise Park, Hamstead and the amazing Camden Town. The West End was 20 minutes away from the hotel by 300 yard walk and tube. We found one of the best chinese resturants we have ever been to within 300 yards of the hotel.
We visit London twice a year and this was the BEST!!!! Thank you Hamstead Brittania.
Pete B. room 514 20/2/10 - 23/2/10

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POKEYHOLEPETE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Stayed 2 nights bed and breakfast. Twin rooms on the first floor were large, clean and nicely furnished. Breakfast was excellent with the highest quality bacon and trimmings. All in all a hotel that more than justifies its 3 star rating and I recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solomonbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2010

We have just come back from a superbreak theatre trip in London and were unfortunate enough to choose this hotel to stay in. Never posted a review before but have been so appalled by the state of this hotel just wanted to warn other travellers. First impressions were not good- the windows were filthy and the sign outside tatty. Our room was desperate. Situated on the fifth floor, its decore was old fashioned and sparse and the walls and ceilings displayed damp patches and dirty marks. The bathroom was dirty and the shower fittings hadn't been cleaned for god knows how long and had gunge oozing from them. The kettle provided for the tea and coffee facilities had black bits floating in the bottom which were coming off the rusty/burnt element so didn't both to make a drink. The radiators didn't work at night and the room was cold. When this was reported to reception the response was that we couldn't be moved because hotel was full and they didn't have spare heaters but we could have a bottle of wine if we wished to help keep out the cold. We declined their offer as didn't see how this would help our seven year old son! The food provided in the evening was not nice at all. A hot buffet style, the meat was kept warm on hotplates and was dried and curled up. The only saving grace this hotel had was that the reception staff were helpful and the breakfast was edible and satisfactory. If we hadn't already booked and paid for it through Superbreak we would have turned round straight away and found alternative accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I booked this hotel as it was a great deal and i wanted to take a friend to london for his birthday. I was very anxious as there were some bad reviews but booked it regardless. I must say it was the right decision as this hotel had so many good features- much more than the small unimportant features that pernickety people had pointed out.

On arrival at the hotel we were extremely concerned as the outside was very dated with large windows which made it look like a hospital. However, on entering the building there was a welcoming reception, a pleasant bar and a nice looking breakfast room.

As we arrived at 8am and check in wasn't until 2pm the hotel staff allowed us to leave our luggage- Free of charge! They were extremely helpful and friendly throughout our stay- i cannot stress this enough. My friend and I didn't want to book tickets for the theater from home as icy conditions made us unsure of whether we would even make it to london. Anyway, we booked tickets in london and the hotel were more than happy to print off our reservation- free of charge. After checking out, the hotel staff let us leave our stuff again. They then let us into the luggage room, go and change in the toilets, put stuff back in the room and leave for a night out before returning again to pick up outr luggage and leave for our bus. They were fine when we left our bags from 12pm-10:30pm! They were always wishing us a good day/night and really made our visit pleasant- especially when the majority of people that we encountered in London were rude, patronising and obnoxious!

So i'll sum up points about the hotel that i found to be true (rather than writing an essay on each point! haha):

- It is rather dated with flowery wall paper but it is spotlessly clean with maid service daily.
- When i was there refurbishment work was starting- beginning on the 4th floor so soon the hotel should be completely rennovated- after that i have no idea what people could complain about!
- clean towels daily
- Less than a 10 minute walk from chalk farm underground and extremely easy to find
- Neighbourhood is a quiet town- but felt extremely safe walking home.
- Amazingly helpful staff
- full english breakfast, continental food also available. I would suggest arriving for breakfast earlier though as stuff was there and still hot at 9:45/10pm but selection wasn't as big (understandable)
- Fully functioning lifts
- television with freeview, ensuite bathroom, tea and coffee facilities.
- only ever had to change once on the underground. so basicly its (at the most) 2 subways away from madame tussades, london dungeons, victoria, kings cross, oxford street, london bridge, piccadilly circus etc.
- It is in zone 2 so it is cheap to reach via the underground. A daily zone 1 and zone 2 ticket costs between £5 and £7 depending on the time of day and most if not all attractions are in these zones. We never travelled out of zone 11 and 2 and went to the london eye, big ben, the aquarium, london dungeons, madame tussauds, oxford street, piccadilly circus, london bridge, westminster abbey etc.


Basicly it is a cheap, extremely clean hotel which is extremely close to everything you would want in london.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisast_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Thankfully only stayed for a couple of nights. This hotel is in dire need of some love and attention. Our room was okay, basic and a bit dated. The bed was awful, most uncomfortable, as my poor back can still testify. Breakfast was poor, everything was there, but sad versions, eg. tinned fruit, tinned mushrooms, etc.

I was wary when we arrived and they took payment straight away. The receptionist was polite enough, but she seemed to me like a lady used to fending off complaints. There was a man in reception at the time demanding the number for head office, so I expect she had given him short shift.

The only good thing I can say is that we did get a very reasonable rate on the room, and it was quite convenient for the tube, to get the Northern line straight into the West End. We shall not be returning, and I would not recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2010

After reading several poor reviews about this hotel we were worried about the state of the hotel. However we had no need for concern what so ever. We travelled with both sets of parents and were given 3 double rooms in the basement. All were newly decorated, clean, and very tidy. There was a small musty smell in the basement area but nothing of concern at all. The buffet evening meal and breakfast were of excellent value and the staff were very freindly and polite. We had no complaints about this hotel and would definately stay again. The location was a 5 minute walk from Chalk Farm Station and from there we were 5 / 6 stops away from Leicester Square. We were able to walk to Camden Town and Regents Park from the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#426 of 1,068 in London
623 reviews
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Britannia International Hotel
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#609 of 1,068 in London
202 reviews
The Langorf Hotel
#612 of 1,068 in London
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hampstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hampstead Hotel

Property: Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Address: Primrose Hill Road | Hampstead, London NW3 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #942 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hampstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel on the north side of Regent's Park in residential Hampstead, 15 minutes from the West End & main line stations. In vicinity of Camden town- London Zoo and Lords cricket ground. Emirates stadium is less than 4 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hampstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hampstead London
Hotel Britannia Hampstead
Britannia Hampstead Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing