We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't listen to reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Ranked #940 of 1,064 Hotels in London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't listen to reviews!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here for three nights during October and I was worried about staying since reading the reviews but its nothing like them. Could be updated and more selection of snacks and drinks at the bar but overall it was a good stay and would recommend thanks

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kconnollyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    205
    284
    183
    286
See reviews for
176
344
69
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

stayed here for 4 nights from 1st to 5th october 2012 was kinda worried before i got there after some of the reviews i had read on here but i shouldnt have as i found the staff really helpful and my friend and myself are already planning to book here again for next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Unfortunately my husband and I stayed here one night in October for business, room was awful. Staff were indifferent. When I complained to Reception, no comment was made. Are the staff too frightened to say anything? Everything old and worn out. Warning signs up everywhere, (counted about 15 in the car park). Clearly they don't trust their staff or the customers. Only need one sign on front door 'STAY AT YOUR PERIL'.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Paula s,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience, we take pride in our service to all our guests and it seems we missed the opportunity to wow your kind self. I take note of your concerns and will certainly ensure we keep living up to our usual high standards. We are in process of upgrading our rooms as they become available.

Car park disclaimer signs are in line with operational requirements of the business.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Am sat in bar right at this moment had 2 change room as was a mess and after getting staff in reception 2 stop talking 2 each other they said they would come and serve us after 15 mins in the reception whilst they still talking we rang reception to ask could they come and serve us they choose to ignore that so after asking again they said the woman was on her way we have only been here for 3 hours and have booked for the week we have now rang head office to find the manager in the hotel as we cannot I'm hoping my review will improve as the days goes on

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruthie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Ruthie m, I hope your stay was enjoyable as the day went on, I sincerely apologise for the wait in the bar, a duty manager is avaialble 24/7 on site to help and resolve any guest concerns immediately and so was I at the time of your review but not aware of your concerns.

I will be more vigilant around bar service to ensure none of my esteemed guests have to wait to be served in future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Lancashire.
Level Contributor
228 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night when at the Paralympics recently. Got a good rate so wasn't expecting too much. We paid a tenner extra for an 'executive' room which was high up (so reasonably quiet), clean with a decent shower and the bed was comfy but you'd be hard pressed to call it 'executive' really.The public areas were a bit shabby. The guy on reception - the only staff member we saw - was friendly enough without being exactly enthusiastic. Breakfast offered a good choice although the hot stuff wasn't particularly well cooked. One of the two lifts sopped working in the morning - seems to be a recurring theme at this hotel.

The hotel is well located and for one night it was fine but I don't think I'd want to stay any longer than that.

Room Tip: From what I've heard and seen I'd say the higher up the building you go for a room, the bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Chris Rudd,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, a generally positive review from a senior contributor is always a pleasure to receive.

We are in process of refurbishing out lifts and the same is being done, one lift at any given time
I take note on your comments about breakfast and will personally check every morning moving forward.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is shabby & in need of major refurbishment. It looks unloved. both externally & internally. Our bed was clean & the room was clean. The curtain linings were stained & dirty & one curtain would not close. Only one of 2 lifts was working over our 3 night stay & on the morning we were checking out the remaining lift was being serviced & so no lift was available. As we were on the top floor (5th floor) this was a long way to carry luggage downstairs. On mentioning this to Reception they shrugged their shoulders & said the lift was being serviced 'end of story'. The buffet breakfast was indifferent - the 'hot' food was only lukewarm & of poor quality; there were only 2 cereals to choose from, no muesli & no fresh fruit, only tinned fruit. A disappointing hotel & we would not choose this hotel again, although we liked the location. We had to wait for our room to be available & we queued to check in - not a good start.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you have no other choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed for one night on business, never again.
Customer service at reception good, at bar very poor. Quality of food very bad. Quality of room bad. Location noy to bad 7 mins walk to chalk farm. Parking a joke, very limited space and to crammed. It is not £10 as advertised. Would not go again.

Room Tip: Just don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazmc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#436 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Corner House Hotel
#741 of 1,064 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Britannia International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hampstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hampstead Hotel

Property: Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Address: Primrose Hill Road | Hampstead, London NW3 3NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #940 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hampstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel on the north side of Regent's Park in residential Hampstead, 15 minutes from the West End & main line stations. In vicinity of Camden town- London Zoo and Lords cricket ground. Emirates stadium is less than 4 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Britannia Hampstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hampstead London
Hotel Britannia Hampstead
Britannia Hampstead Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing