We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regent's Park Hotel
Ranked #805 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2005

I just got back from a 2 1/2 week stay at the Regent's Park Hotel. I was traveling by myself and I was given a double room. It was a pretty decent size room, with a big shower. I was given a room on the first floor in the back so I wasn't bothered by any traffic noise, but the floors on top were kind of squeeky so sometimes I was woken up by the noise. Breakfast was served in the restaurant next door and consisted of 3 kinds of cereals, meats, cheese, hard boiled eggs, fruit salad, tomato and lettuce salad, yougurt, croissants, and rolls, coffee and tea. Great way to start out a long day of site seeing. The restaurant next door (Malasian) was excellent if you are to tired to go out to eat. The Baker Street tube is a 5 minute walk from the hotel, as well as Tesco, a supermarket with great ready made sandwiches, pasta, and salads. I would definitly stay here again. The staff was great and helpful (the manager helped me lug my 2 suitcases upstairs).

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelgal32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2005

Neighbourhood: This hotel is located in a pleasant area, close to two Underground stations (Baker Street and Marylebonne. Glouscester Place is a one way street that gets very busy from about 7a.m. until late in the evening.

Our Room: Not bad. We (two people) were placed in a room for three. It was clean and comfortable. And, apart from the room needing a fresh coat of paint, we were happy for the extra space and good the good sized bathroom. The shower was a little tight. If you dropped the soap one would have to "plies" gracefully (like Anna Pavlova) to pick it up. The room was cleaned daily.

Breakfast: Served in the adjacent Singaporean restaurant's main dining room on the basement level. We were very impressed with the massive atrium. The breakfast fare consisted of: cereals, yoghourt, fruit, croissants, cheese, juice, coffeee, etc...

Staff: They were always very friendly and helpful. I had difficulty starting the heater, so I called for help and the concierege came immediately.

Not a bad place to stay. I would seriously consider staying here again on future trips to LONDON.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank dgflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2005

Had a problem with the key upon checking in and didn't appreciate the condescending owner telling us that we "don't listen". His contact with the public is limited thank god and we only saw him again once (grey hair in pony-tail). Regent's Park Hotel appears to be run by a Turkish-Brit family. I have no real complaints about the place, it was bare bones yet wasn't lacking in any necessities. The first picture on the expedia website of the hotel is inaccurate, there is no green overhang. The buffet breakfast is in a quiet adjacent restaurant and included yogurt, croissants, sliced ham, slice cheese, sliced turkey, orange juice, tea or coffee, rolls, 3 kinds of cereals and was great. There is also a McDonalds and Starbucks down Baker Street if you miss the breakfast. Its in a good location since its only 5 minutes to the Baker Street Tube stop but i'd try another location next time. Good cheap food is not readily available in all parts of London and Gloucester Place is one of those areas. Good food at affordable prices required a hike down to Oxford Street or over the Edgeware Road. We ate once near the Paddington Crown Quality Inn and agreed that hotel was in a better location.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erieswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgileDog
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2005

We stayed here at the tail end of a business trip for some personal travel days. After staying in one of the best hotels in the city, I was expecting the contrast to be difficult but keeping in mind the excellent price (67 GBP) I never regretted the decision.

The room key is a long rectangular plastic card, about 1.5 the length and twice the thickness of a credit card. It unlocks the door mechanically and also must stay inserted in the room fusebox to activate electricity.

Avoid the upper rooms if the weather is warm as they're warmer than the lower ones. My room had a standing fan but it made a lot of noise; there was a bit of a heat wave at the time so I resorted to sleeping under a wet towel, which worked pretty well.

The bathroom had seen better days but was nonetheless functional. Soap and linen provided. No clock or alarm is available (not counting the TV), and the wake-up call service is unreliable; hence, a traveller's clock would be a good idea/purchase. Say hello to the parrot in the lobby, but keep your distance if you're standing nearby as the droppings splatter.

Madame Tussaud's is within easy walking distance, as is an excellent pub, a camera store, and a cheap (1GBP per half hour) internet cafe, all south/southeast within 2-3 blocks. Several convenience stores within a block or two. If you are looking for good restaurants/pubs head South/Southeast about 6-7 blocks and just wander from there.

Tube (Baker Street) is about 4-5 walk away. If you're not familiar with London, major attractions (West End, Leicester Square, etc.) are reachable within 15-20 minutes but you will have to transfer subway lines probably once.

If you are a business traveller or don't mind the extra expense, avoid the hotel's taxi service as it was slow and took away from the time we'd allotted to check in early at the airport. Rather, hail a street cab (faster) or take the tube to Heathrow (cheaper).

The bed was clean, the bathroom was clean and functional; both were cleaned daily. That's pretty much all I was looking for. If you are prepared for a few rough edges, you should be able to enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AgileDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2005

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in Sep 2004, purchased for a good rate on expedia. The location is excellent - near baker street tube stop. Also within walking distance of the lovely Regents Park. There was some street noise in the room but not too bad. The beds were decent and the room was OK clean. Initially we had a problem with the plumbing but the staff were quick to help. All the staff I met were very friendly and helpful, one of the best things about this hotel. There was no lift but the staff were happy to help me with my luggage (which I did not experience in other hotels). Breakfast was decent as well. All in all a great stay and recommended.

  • Stayed September 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2005

Good London hotel for your money. It's a little walk from the underground, but is close to a great stop with several connections. It is also very close to a great, inexpensive pub.

The free breakfast was good - coffee or tea, meat and cheese for sandwiches, toast, crossants, hard boiled eggs, etc.

The room was very small but clean. I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2005

The room was clean. The bathroom was as well. The bed was very comfortable. The area was excellent. The staff was helpful and friendly. It's a good budget hotel for the money.

Helpful?
3 Thank Travelguru4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#324 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Marylebone
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#659 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#418 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#624 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Marylebone
Regency Hotel - Nottingham Place
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent's Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent's Park Hotel

Property: Regent's Park Hotel
Address: 156 Gloucester Place, London NW1 6DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #805 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel in refurbished Victorian offering modern standards of comfort; multilingual staff; situated near Baker Street Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Regent's Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regents London
Regent London
London Regent
Regent's Park Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing