We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live in a shoe box with no reception!”
Review of Notting Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Notting Hill Hotel
Ranked #887 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in room 4. The room was the size of a shoe box with no mobile reception as we were in the basement. The double bed was very small. They want you to give your key card in a reception every time you leave the premiss i feel this gives us no sense of security as when we left the first time we gave it in came back asked a new receptionist for room 4's key and he just gave it to us WE COULD HAVE BEEN ANYONE and with people's passports and belongings in there rooms this is such a easy target for theft! Apart from the hotel the location was good to end on a positive note.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in the basement for phone reception. Do not give your key card in for security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeanPierre1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 203 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

Warm welcoming, discreet, old English stuff, professional receptionist, very kind and helpfull. If you chose that area, it's best for trips and joy! All the best travellers! Notting hill is a joint way to London trips


Room Tip: Double room one bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Costin X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Booked 2 nights as it was close to tube station ,very basic guest lounge our room was disgusting mould allover wall near window checked mattress (DISGUSTING)it was brown with loads of stains,I asked them if they would sleep on it ,was given room 15 clean mattress bathroom bad needs a lot of bleach everywhere .Stay away from this place

Room Tip: Just choose elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesleyw105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our stay in the Notting Hill Hotel was terrible. The room (nr. 15) was dirty, the matras was old and ackward, the walls were full of stains, the bathroom was like an pre-war East European one, etc etc.
Besides that the staff was not too pleasant. When I asked for an international charger it was like I asked for a golden bar. And the most annoying thing was that we heard the family- who runs the hotel- constantly arguing. "Nicholas this, Nicholas that" followed by a slammed door. Two nights in a row...never again. It is a shame, because the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SDB860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

On the positive side, this hotel has a great location. Just off notting hill station. Nice quiet road. But as you approach it, you get a clue of what you are in for. It's the most dilapidated building on the street, a theme that continues inside. The bedrooms are tiny, although they were clean. Bathrooms are very compact and ours had a broken door and toilet seat. At £95 a night, I find this a total rip off.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MiaandHunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I emailed hotel to book 3 nights twin room from 18 July, included my mobile phone number. received email confirmation. Did not read all the way down to see they wanted email address and mobile number which they had, time of arrival at airport ( travelling from within the UK by train) and full postal address. Why would they need this? Arrival to be before 6.00 pm or room would be cancelled. Arrived at about 3.00 pm. Told that room was cancelled - very unhelpful staff. Place looked dirty and dingy so on balance glad we went elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janehelen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

There were three of us staying on a very limited budget. We found this hotel to be exactly what we needed. Clean sheets, shower, helpful friendly staff. Right around the corner from restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping. A couple of minutes walk to Portobello Market. Close walk through Kensington Park and Palace. Very conveniently located around the corner from the underground.I would stay here again. If you are looking for luxurious accomodations, look elsewhere. If you want an inexpensive safe nights sleep, this is your place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiddo911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#814 of 1,078 in London
507 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#769 of 1,078 in London
462 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#602 of 1,078 in London
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#355 of 1,078 in London
1,566 reviews
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#410 of 1,078 in London
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notting Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notting Hill Hotel

Address: 2 Pembridge Square | Bayswater, London W2 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #887 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: $66 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Notting Hill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Notting Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Notting Hill
Notting Hill London
Notting Hill Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing