We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Notting Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Notting Hill Hotel
Ranked #890 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Bemus Point, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

The location of the hotel was perfect. Only a block away from the tube and in a very comfortable & safe area. The staff at the hotel was nice & very accommodating. The hotel itself was adequate & my sense was that the staff was doing their best with the resources they had. Obviously, a bit of updating is needed. Would I stay there again? It wouldn't be my 1st choice, but I would. Our hotel need was to stay(sleep) in a safe & secure hotel. It met that need.

Room Tip: Be specific about your needs. It is located in a residential section & a good view is not reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47308Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    50
    40
    72
See reviews for
27
51
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

I stayed with my 2 sisters in a tripple room which was more like a single room with 3 beds shoved in. Beds were very uncomfortable. The room itself was filthy dirty looked like it hadnt been cleaned in weeks. The lift in the hotel only fit one at a time, the staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful. I would not recomend anyone to stay here. The website is very misleading, it shows pics of lovely big rooms and fab dining room, we didnt even risk eating in the dining room it was that filthy I can only imagine how dirty the kitchen itself was.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Don't even think about staying at this hotel. It's dirty, shabby, staff are very rude & I saw a rat running up the steps. It's something out of a horror movie. It should be reported to a health standards authority... Which I will do

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

At first glance i was unsure of this hotel but the family owners are very helpful and you can not ask for a better area to stay in. Tube station less than a block away, an easy walk to kennsington palace and hyde park. Great area restaurants & shops. and a decent price at 85 GBP. the rooms are aged but very clean....

Room Tip: book through hotwire or laterooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristic28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is not so gorgeous, but it's enough for the price. It was clean and convenient enough.

Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MikaTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

it is a bit shabby - no doubt about it, but not so bad. considering the price you get what you pay for. very cheap for notting hill.
the location is unbeatable. cleanliness is OK as bathrooms and bed sheets are clean (don't look to close at the carpet though).
the hotel has a lift and the building is a lovely (victorian?) building.

brekkie is very basic, staff's fiendlyness is OK (neither outstanding nor horrible), the amenities quite outdated.

biggest plus is the location, close to tube and bus routes, cafes and portobello market, hyde park etc.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate76404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

After reading the reviews of this hotel I was quite scared. When we arrived at the hotel, we foun out it was not at all that bad.

The hotel is located within a minute's walk from the Notting Hill Gate station, so the location is perfect.

The check-in was quick and OK, we were then given the keys. After taking a look of the lift we decided to use staird instead :)

The room was OK (3 beds), with view of the filthy backyards. The beds were great, clean sheets, no trace of any stains. TV worked properly, although it was a very small one. The bathroom was very small too. Not dirty, but very, very old; some repair would do it good.

The breakfast, served in the basement, was a very basic one. Orange juice, cold milk, instant tea, coffee, chocolate, even instant milk (!); cereals, toasts, butter&jam (and a fruit salad if the cook had a good day). The cleanliness of the breakfast room is disputable, but we survived.

All in all, I think this hotel is good value for what one gets. The best advantage, in my opinion, is the private bathroom which you don't get in hostels for that price.

Room Tip: Room 30 - view of the backyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panceltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#809 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#597 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#362 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#538 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#364 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Notting Hill
The Lennox Hotel
The Lennox Hotel
#711 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notting Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notting Hill Hotel

Property: Notting Hill Hotel
Address: 2 Pembridge Square | Bayswater, London W2 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #890 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Notting Hill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Notting Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Notting Hill
Notting Hill London
Notting Hill Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing