We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$153
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$153
View deal
Destinia.com
$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/04/21
Hotels.com$153
Trip.com$151
getaroom.com$172
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,222)
Filter reviews
1,222 results
Traveler rating
593
449
109
44
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
593
449
109
44
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gloucester road great location hyde park small kitchen the sofa bed self catering the royal albert hall high street minute walk would definitely stay here again easy access reception area short stay apartment tube laundry microwave
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 1,222 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2019

We stayed 4 nights at the Citadines South Kensington in July 2019 and we loved the location for it's access to the park and the tube, as well as the quiet charm of Kensington. Unfortunately, the room we were given when we checked in was not fit for guests. It had a smell of smoke, a non working refrigerator, and was not an appropriate level of cleanliness for guests. We checked at the desk after our 1st night to see if the room could be checked for the smoke smell, after we had already tried opening the windows for fresh air. We were offered another room, which was much better quality, but had to wait another night for it to be available. It is unfortunate that we had to repack and move during our time in London, and while we appreciated the better quality of the room, we do not feel that our initial room should have been available for guests as it was not appropriate quality.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KCtravel20197
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony B, General Manager at Citadines South Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback. I am truly sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your recent stay, and I would like to take this opportunity of offering you my personal apologies. I have shared your feedback with the team and please be assured that we take your comments very seriously. We are currently in the process of refurbishing the corridors, and the next step would be to start repainting the apartments. This project takes time, and will be completed by mid next year. I do hope that you may give us another chance in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anthony Bull
Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2019

I have stayed at this property regularly over many years and again, if it is no frills consistency you are looking for then look no further. The Citadines in South Kensington is ideally located for shops, restaurants, underground and Kensington Gardens. You will not be dissapointed with this no frills apartment hotel.

Room tip: Ask for a high room overlooking the Mews at the back
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank WilsonGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony B, General Manager at Citadines South Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2019

Dear Wilson,

First of all, thank you so much for sharing your review with us and for your regular valued custom. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay at Citadines South Kensington yet again.

We really appreciate your nice comments about the staff and the facilities that we offer. We pride ourselves in providing high standard apartments and our outmost aim is to make all our guests happy.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and until then we send you our very best wishes.

Kind regards,

Anthony Bull
Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019

Great stay overall. Love the location. Very close to South Kensington and High Street Kensington. Lots of shops, dining options, convenience, museums, etc very close by. Partridges, other convenience right outside the hotel. In my opinion, a nicer, perhaps better option that some of the noisier/busier parts of Central London. Yet, relatively close to almost everything.

Fantastic, accomodating staff. Special mention to Bezawit, Sokol, and Maya. All were nice though. Comfortable rooms (2 studio suites for a family of 4) . Nice lobby, sitting area.

This is a good, clean, comfortable option for the price (for London/and summer season). Their booking terms (cancellation allowed almost up to the start date of the stay) is also rare for London for summer season.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting London, especially families. Safe neighborhood.

Only downsides - cleaning is only once a week. Water in washroom was hard, and a bit difficult to wash off.

Room tip: Rooms 201 and 206 recommended for studio suites.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FRHSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony B, General Manager at Citadines South Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Dear Reviewer,

First of all, thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay at Citadines South Kensington.

We really appreciate your nice comments about the staff and the facilities that we offer. We pride ourselves in providing high standard apartments and our outmost aim is to make all our guests happy.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and until then we send you our very best wishes.

Kind regards,

Anthony Bull
Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019

We stayed Citadines South Kensington in July for four nights. The location is really good with a short walk to Gloucester Rd tube station as well as to Hyde Park and the shops on Kensington High Street. The area around the hotel is also really nice with plenty of cafes and restaurants.

We have stayed in quite a few hotels in the area and this was our first stay in Citadines South Kensington.

Although the location was really convenient we weren't too impressed with the hotel. The room we got was nothing like the pictures on the hotel website. The windows were really dirty and you could hardly see through and you couldn't open the windows at all for security reasons apparently. To one of us this was definitely a deal breaker!

We asked for a quiet room and you couldn't really hear anything from the street but you could hear a lot from the rooms next door.

The room itself was ok. There was just one proper chair in front of the desk and a dirty foldable chair in the cupboard. The kitchenette was ok for breakfasts but I don't understand why there was a tiny saucepan and a mega big one. Who will ever need the big one is beyond me. In addition, the frying pan was really scratched and pretty much unusable. With some consideration, the kitchenette could have been a lot more practical.

I still don't know if we could have had daily cleaning to our rooms. I asked about it from the hotel in advance and my question was never answered. Anyway, if you don't mind doing everything yourself including taking the rubbish out Citadines South Kensington in a very convenient place to stay but on the other hand you sometimes like small luxuries like a made up bed and a breakfast made ready for you.

One of us was really happy with the free coffee (especially cappuccino and caffe latte) available at the reception.

We might go again because of the location but we have had far better stays in other hotels in the area so, on the other hand, we might opt for a more convenient hotel next time.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank travelfansFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony B, General Manager at Citadines South Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Dear Reviewer,

I regret to learn that your stay was impeded by the issues you have highlighted in your feedback .Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that we may have caused you. I have shared your experience with my executive team so we may provide the additional training to further improve the services and courtesies we extend to our guests.

I sincerely hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence in us. Kindly please call me when your travels next bring you to London so that I may personally ensure that you have a much better experience.

Kind regards,

Anthony Bull
Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem. We stayed here due to its close proximity to Hyde Park as we were seeing Barbra Streisand but the whole area around it is really lovely. The photo is the view from our bedroom so you can see how beautiful local streets are. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was spacious and comfortable. The only minor negative is that the room could maybe have done with a lick of paint but it was very clean and well equipped. Two nice little touches were the free hot drinks available in reception and the focus on recycling rubbish. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank 706sophiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony B, General Manager at Citadines South Kensington London, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2019

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It’s great to know that you enjoyed the views from your room and you had a pleasant time during the entire duration of your stay. It is great to read you highlighted some of the best features of the hotel such as the the convenience in getting to other parts of London but also if guests want to explore the local area, they have a lot of options ranging from bars to restaurants etc. We are glad you liked the amenities of the room and our staff were delivered outstanding customer service.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back at Citadines South Kensington in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anthony Bull
Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews