We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally Located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines South Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines South Kensington
Ranked #185 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Centrally Located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

The location was good, our air conditioner did not work in the first room we were in, but when we were relocated to another room it was good. We couldn't get the WIFI to work which was a little disappointing, but on the whole we enjoyed our stay. The kitchen was handy, we bought our groceries at the Tesco store up the road. The apartment was not far away from Gloucester Road Station which was handy for travel. We would recommend the Citadines to stay to others. Having the laundromat in the basement was great for us. Our room was serviced every day and the apartment was very clean all the time. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite, which was a little more spacious. Having the hallway within the unit was exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    289
    63
    32
    21
See reviews for
291
163
41
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Cosy and clean serviced apt. Helpful though not the most informed front desk staff. Angeline was one of the more helpful ones. Another front desk staff did not even know the television listing for World Cup. Given the time of the year, it was quite a surprise that he could not provide this information though it was evident that there was a channel showing the WC matches.
There’s a nice coffee machine near the entrance and it’s promptly refilled. Good for those who need a cuppa first thing in the morning.
Conveniently located near the tube station and supermarkets. Nice eateries just round the corner. Feels like a very safe district. Can do a nice morning walk to Kensington Gardens / Hyde Park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sellabathma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Our family of 3 stayed for 4 nights. Tight in all quarters for 3 tall people but managed. NO A/C or Vents in bathrooms-extremely hot. Keep the main door to living quarters open at all times.Bed and sofa bed pretty comfortable. Cheap tubs-crack which grew with time. WiFi poor( intermittent). If you depend on your computer constantly, my advise is pick another place. Enjoyed the hospitality station in front lobby. The Hotel is situated in a quiet and cute village with lots of good places to eat for all meals. The Underground is a few blocks away and very convenient..get the Oyster card..what you don't use may be reimbursed. A nice walk to wonderful stores and Hyde Park. We spent most of our time away from the Hotel. I would recommend this place for the location but disappointed in the price for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

It was such a pleasure to stay at the Citadines Prestige South Kensington. I stayed at studio facing the outside, very clean and spacious. Service is great and location is amazing. When back to London, I would absolutely stay again at a Citadines.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor T, General Manager at Citadines South Kensington, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Virginia,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Citadines Prestige South Kensington.

We appreciate your feedback, as we like to take on board any comments and suggestions that can help us to improve our services.

I’m very glad to hear that your stay was so positive. We are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our guests, motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

I hope we are able to further exceed your expectations should you stay with us again, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our residence.

Yours Sincerely,
Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of days and enjoyed my stay. I had a functional kitchenette and good wi-fi. I enjoyed the short trip to Waitrose and Gloucester Road underground. It's also close to High St Kensington for shopping.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Tee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor T, General Manager at Citadines South Kensington, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor.

I'm glad to read our apartment meet your expectation and you had a pleasent stay with us.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back in our residence in the near future.

Best regards,
Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed for 2 nights in a duplex apartment. Check-in was good, though I don't like it when I have to pay the full stay already at the check-in; feels like distrusting me as their guest. Anyway, wifi was working, though signal was not very good in our room. The apartment had a little kitchenette with a fridge. Bathroom and bed were good but the quality of the sofa bed in the living room was so poor!!! Our daughters slept on it for 2 nights, well longer is not possible as the mattress is so thin that you feel the wires constantly. Not comfortable at all! Further I woke up the first night of a strange noise; it did not know what it was but it sounded like the neighbor was playing with a bouncing ball. We heard it again the next night and found out that it was the water pipe/drainage in our bathroom. I have informed the hotel about this and also about the quality of the sofa bed. Location of the hotel is OK, walking distance to Gloucester Road station with a supermarket next to the underground station. Opposite the hotel is a lovely small bakery where we bought our breakfast each morning and there is a Starbucks located next to the hotel. All in all we a good stay but I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Nathalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor T, Manager at Citadines South Kensington, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor.

As we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. We welcome feedback such as yours, as they indicate the areas we can further improve.

I have noted your comments about your recent stay with us and I most certainly will check with my facilities team how we can improve on these areas. I hope the issues did not cause to much of an inconvenience for you.

Once again, I would like to thank you for your feedback and thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you want a hotel to spent your whole day in this is not the place. If you're planning to visit London this quiet hotel in Kensington will do the trick. It's located five minutes walk from a metro station that will take you to almost every sightseeing place in London. The borough, even if posh, is really nice and you can stroll up to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Notting Hill. The staff were really helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgios M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor T, Manager at Citadines South Kensington, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor.

I'm glad to read our property meet your expectations and you found the location convenient to travel around in London.

I hope you will return to Citadines South Kensington on your next London visit, we very much looking forward welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Gabor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#422 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,537 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#333 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines South Kensington

Property: Citadines South Kensington
Address: 35 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#151 Romantic Hotel in London
#271 Family Hotel in London
#346 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines South Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel; some with full kitchens; multilingual staff; restaurant & bar; situated near Kensington Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Citadines South Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige South Kensington Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines South Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing