We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines South Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citadines South Kensington
Ranked #185 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at this apartment hotel twice during our recent trip to London. We first stayed for 2 days in August before we flew out to Europe for a few days and then for 5 days upon our return to London.

During our first stay, we were in a basic studio apartment which was rather cramped because we had a rather large kitchen which was appreciated but perhaps an open plan design would have given us more space. We had a small table which served as a desk and dining table and two fold up chairs which we found in the wardrobe. The apartment was clean and apart from the need for more space, we had a comfortable stay.

As we were returning for a longer stay, we decided to change our booking to an executive studio. We checked on the Internet and found a promotional rate for the larger apartment but when we tried to get the reception to make the change, they could not access the promotional rate, so we ended up cancelling our original booking online and making a fresh booking ourselves. The apartment was substantially larger and more comfortable and the sofa in the room meant that we did not have to sit on the bed when we wanted to relax. So go for the larger room as the difference in the rate is not huge.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful but service at the reception desk was rather slow, especially during peak hours when guests were checking out and new guests were trying to check in. They need to put on more staff during these times.

The location is great - very convenient for the Gloucester Road Tube Station which has the Picadilly, Circle and District lines and the bus to and from High,Street Kensington stops just outside the hotel. Lots of restaurants and food shops just outside the door and if you want to cook, a Waitrose supermarket is situated right next to the Gloucester Road station, and Sainsburys is just a little further along Cromwell Road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road. Back of the building is best for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essie2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SK_Residence_Mgr, General Manager at Citadines South Kensington, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Essie2211,

Thank you for your leaving your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear compliments of our staff members at Citadines Prestige South Kensington. Your kind words will be shared with the team. Receiving such feedback from guests like yourself inspire us to continually improve our service delivery.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.


Yours sincerely

Tim BOOTHE
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    289
    63
    32
    21
See reviews for
291
163
41
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The room had all the usual inclusions: TV, telephone, dryer, safe, kettle, heater, air-con as well as the kitchen gadgets.
Three things made sleeping good here - the room was quiet at night thanks to double glazing and the fact that it faced the rear. You could close the curtains and door so it was nice and dark. And you could leave the window open a crack to let fresh air in so you didn't need to sleep with the air con on all night.

Reception staff were polite and efficient, not overly friendly.

You could head out the door and find a meal at the Med Kitchen at the front or a number of cafes or bakery outlets within 20 metres.

The nearest tube station Gloucester Road was a short 10 minute stroll (300 metres) down the road. Next to it was a good Waitrose supermarket, Boots chemist plus sandwich shops, Byron Burgers, Paul patisserie and Starbucks. We bought milk, muesli, fruit and ready meals at Waitrose which we heated up in our microwave.

The bed was made up daily and fresh towels provided. But they only did a full clean twice a week which was fine.

Such a good location. You could stroll up to Kensington Palace and Gardens to ride a hire bicycle or simply take in the greenery.
Or walk to the tube or catch a hop on, hop off bus. Or catch a red bus from Cromwell Road.

I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: No room services. Halfway bw a hotel and a serviced appartment. Close to everything in London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodhistoryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel meets expectations. Reception staff not very customer focused though and need to understand the importance of the customer. Location however is great, good restaurant on ground floor. Ask for a high level room. We had a one bedroom apartment. This has 2 levels but bedroom upstairs is a mezzanene so all sounds , tv etc dowstairs goes stight upstairs.
All in all though meets expectations

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 280beac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

From the moment we walked in we felt welcomed and pampered. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the room we had was not huge but we had a kitchen also so you can save a bit on the dining out if you wish to. There are laundry machines also if you have been traveling Europe like us and need some freshening up. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SK_Residence_Mgr, General Manager at Citadines South Kensington, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Sherri M,

Thank you for your leaving your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear compliments of our staff members at Citadines Prestige South Kensington. Your kind words will be shared with the team. Receiving such feedback from guests like yourself inspire us to continually improve our service delivery.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.


Yours sincerely

Tim BOOTHE
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is well situated less than five minutes from the Gloucester Rd tube station -- the station provides access to three lines that can take you to St. Pancras for the Eurostar or to all Heathrow terminals. The location makes site-seeing easy, too. Many good choices for restaurants just outside the door and still more restaurants on Kensington High Street are a 10 minute walk away. We had a good sized room, it was modern and clean, and the kitchenette was fully functional so you could make a meal though we only used it for breakfast and snacks -- food stores were conveniently located beside the tube station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here and I have to say it was one of the best places I have stayed in a while. There were apples you could help yourself to and also mints. They have a tv in every apartment as well as a small kitchen, fridge, freezer, bathroom, shower, and much more. The tv is freeview. They have earth hour on the 1st Friday of each month which is when they turn down the electricity. They are so friendly and I would really recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feel_like_a_sir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sogn og Fjordane, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Again my stay here was a fab experience. A guidedog friendly apartment hotel,always eager to serve.
There`s a good reason to why I choose Citadines in Kensington,and one is the welcoming and the great feeling of being remembered. Another is the apartment,easy to get around in when you are visually impaired. And generally a lovely staff so nice,helpful and a nice comment is never far away. Also ,always traveling with my guidedog never is a problem at the Citadines Prestige South Kensington. This Place has become a home from home! So a great thank you to all of the staff and I look forward to my next stay:-) A place I recommend!

Room Tip: All the room`s are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#422 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#333 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines South Kensington

Property: Citadines South Kensington
Address: 35 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#151 Romantic Hotel in London
#271 Family Hotel in London
#346 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines South Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel; some with full kitchens; multilingual staff; restaurant & bar; situated near Kensington Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Citadines South Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige South Kensington Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines South Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing