We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines South Kensington
Ranked #140 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for 12 nights in a one-bedroom apartment. It was tiny, a big chunk of the space was taken by the corridor for some reason. When the sofa bed was unfolded, it was impossible to walk in the living-room. Also, I never understood what the rationale was for the cleaning, when it was done, what was included, etc. We stayed there with two young kids which was painful as the 45 square meters were layed out in a way that meant the usable space was scarce. Location is good though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sayaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 869 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Could not fault Citadines at South Kensington. Staff were great, the room, which we were upgraded to a duplex was brilliant, and the value for money was absolutely superb. I will definitely be returning here. It's only a 5 min walk from Gloucester Road tube and there is a very hand row of shops opposite.

Excellent find.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lipschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very good.

I book this hotel many times for work.
In general, good and comfortable. Close to the station of Gloucester Road Tube Station. Comfortable rooms and excellent cleaning.
For this reason we always return

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZ2318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night in May. We were granted our request for a quieter room away from the main road (after reading reviews abou the noise levels in rooms overlooking Gloucester Road). The room itself was a standard double complete with en suite bathroom filled with a good sized tub and powerful shower, a kitchenette with basic amenities such as a kettle, toaster, microwave, stove and fridge. The sleeping area had a fairly comfortable double bed, a nice although very small and drafty window (not soundproof), small TV, table, chair and good sized cupboards. The room was clean and kitchen and bathroom were stocked with basic necessities. However, I was woken by noise, not only from the street, but also from outside our room as well as footsteps from above and adjacent rooms. On the whole, a pleasant stay but would prefer carpeted room for cosiness and better insulated window for warmth and soundproofing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Sophisiticated reception decor and immaculately clean rooms, great area for the tube and restaurants nearby. Reception staff however need a refresher on customer service - they were without exception, unbearably rude, everything was too much trouble, they could hardly be bothered to check us in. Room not ready at 3pm despite a 2pm arrival being previously confirmed, sofa bed not made up despite the room again being confirmed as suitable for 3. Staff would put me off from staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JABRoslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is my third stay in four years, each time arriving after the long flight from Australia. The first time was with my two teenage sons and a friend and her two sons. The next time was with my husband, and the most recent was with my husband and niece, so I have a varied perspective from which to comment.
All our accommodation to date has been clean and well appointed, and the service efficient. However, I have found the one-bedroom apartment works the best for us, whether there are two or three people. For two people, it provides a lounge area in which to wind down after a day spent seeing the sites of London. For three people, the fold-out lounge bed works well and is surprisingly comfortable! It does not take very long to set up or put away, and therefore does not encroach on the living area.
The kitchen is well appointed and very useful for those of us who like to prepare our own healthy breakfast (there's a magnificent Whole Foods Market nearby on Kensington High Street!).
We make good use of the Barclays Bike stand, which is just across the road, whether setting off for early-morning exercise in Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park, or riding to the nearby museums (V&A, Natural History).
Best of all, it's just a short walk to the Gloucester Road tube station.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
7  Thank Su H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Up to Citadines standards. Holborn is more convenient but Kensington is quieter. the location of the tube is a bit farther than expected making travel in bad weather a challenge. The restaurant downstairs is good and not to costly. The shops are close and a starbucks attached to the building. I had to move from Holborn to KEnsington due to a schedule change and I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmackDatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#374 of 1,076 in London
1,008 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,076 in London
3,803 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#371 of 1,076 in London
1,174 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#481 of 1,076 in London
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines South Kensington

Address: 35 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in London
#151 Romantic Hotel in London
#271 Family Hotel in London
#346 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $162 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines South Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel; some with full kitchens; multilingual staff; restaurant & bar; situated near Kensington Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Citadines South Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige South Kensington Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines South Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing