We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but on the small side.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines South Kensington
Ranked #176 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice but on the small side.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very convenient for Gloucester Road tube about 8 minutes walk with a Waitrose and Tesco express nearby. I stayed in a studio nearer the front of the building, very light two windows but a little noisey due to traffic on main road, i'm sure some of the rooms at the back would be quieter. Small kitchen area but ok, very clean but shower was not powerful enough and the water was a little on the cool side. Check in and out was efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bricksit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    295
    64
    32
    21
See reviews for
303
164
42
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east sussex
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had difficulty finding the apartments. Even local postman could not help us. Think this could have been because we walked down the road from Hyde Park but it would be helpful if information stated that entrance is, in fact, located in Elvaston Place. No sign on main Gloucester Road.
Good reception area with quick check in.
2 of us stayed one night in a studio apartment. I think if we were staying longer it would not be big enough. The main room with desk where you have to eat is smaller than many budget hotels. Has only one easy chair. One chair at desk but we didn't discover the folding chair in the wardrobe until we were leaving so it would be possible for 2 people to eat a meal at the desk. Only one bedside table. But small moveable table under the desk.
The rooms have wooden/tiled floors which is good for keeping clean but I would imagine it could be very noisy if people above you (unless floors well insulated). We did not hear any noise above but presumed that was because there was nobody staying there.
Room was quiet as overlooking side street but, if overlooking Gloucester Rd I imagine it would be noisy as there is no double glazing.
The TV didn't work and we only discovered this when we returned late in the evening but when we reported it the next morning the staff said we could have called them any time as there is maintenance available 24 hours.
The spare electrical points in the kitchenette are under the shelf holding the microwave. We didnot find these until just before we left when we bent down to pick something off the floor!!
Extending washing line over bath.
Good location. !5 minute stroll to Royal Albert Hall where we went for a concert.
Many restaurants. Waitrose by underground open until 10pm. Garfunkels by Waitrose open at 7am for breakfast. 24 hour general store in Gloucester Road going towards Hyde Park.
All in all a good place to stay for this part of London.
Beds were so so comfortable. The best I have ever slept in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dillyeastsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I had rented a studio apartment for 5 nights here. Used this as my base in London to explore the city.
The room was very comfortable, well-eqipped kitchenette, staff was very helpful and friendly. They offer free wifi and have a self-service laundrette (although it costs GBP 9 to use, 5 for Laundrette and 4 for Dryer).
Location is excellent, less than a 5 mins walk from Gloucester Road tube station as well as Hyde Park. Exhibition Road (which has Victoria and Albert Museum, Natural History Museum, Science Museum) is within walking distance.
Plenty of eating options within 5 mins walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A fine hotel in a fine location. Just walking around the nearby streets is an experience ... fine architecture and simple mews residences waiting to be discovered.

Easy walk to Gloucester Road tube station connects you to the rest of London.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

Our room was surprisingly spacious with a useful kitchenette.

(a slight downside was that my booking was such that I did not receive a credit when we had to check out a day early even though I had notified them weeks earlier ... my fault as I did not check the fine print but it did strike me as a bit 20th century!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjb_lmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hi - I needed to stay overnight in London for work, and find it hard to get anywhere nice on our corporate budget. Thankfully the quality of the Citadines apartment in South Kensington was fabulous. Spacious, clean, well equipped. The reception staff were helpful and courteous. I just wish my stay had been for longer and I could have explored the area for longer... some lovely looking restaurants, foodie shops and galleries on the doorstep.

Room Tip: I was the last to check in at 9pm and was upgraded to a one bed apartment rather than the studio fla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelovesEcudaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
317 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Convenient location, near Gloucester Road Station. Access to Piccadilly line (direct to Heathrow airport) and Circle & District lines.

Walking distance to Bayswater for Chinese restaurants. Try the Four Seasons restaurant famous for roast duck. Pass through Hyde Park along the way.

Room is small but comes with a well equipped kitchen. Wifi access in room can be intermittent, but generally works. Coin operated laundry in basement. Don't recall seeing a gym, in any case, Hyde Park offers great outdoor jogging.

Heating in the room could be stronger but maybe I'm just more sensitive to cold weather.

Like the convenience of having a Waitrose supermarket nearby and delis like Da Lisa offer great takeaway options for solo travellers not wishing to dine alone in restaurants. Plenty of cafes just outside the hotel, so you'll be spoilt for breakfast choices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendywelding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel underwent a major renovation and the rooms are now beautifully decorated with trendy new furniture. The overall look and feel of the hotel is stylish and modern with fabulous rooms and location. Just a few minutes walk to the Natural History Museum, Science Museum, Hyde Park, a supermarket, the Gloucester Road tube station (Central Line) and a number of restaurants and delis that meet any budget.
Rooms are very spacious and there's a fully equipped kitchen. I really enjoyed doing my meals using the kitchen. The rooms are cleaned everyday so there's no cooking smell on the room. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrunoLitome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#418 of 1,088 in London
518 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,088 in London
3,575 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#341 of 1,088 in London
927 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines South Kensington

Property: Citadines South Kensington
Address: 35 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#151 Romantic Hotel in London
#271 Family Hotel in London
#346 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines South Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel; some with full kitchens; multilingual staff; restaurant & bar; situated near Kensington Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines South Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige South Kensington Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines South Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing