We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citadines South Kensington
Ranked #143 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I was a disappointed by this hotel. I was initially allocated a room in the rear of the building which was quite large (especially for London) and quiet. However, it was it was directly above the very smoky exhaust vent from one of the restaurants beneath the hotel which quickly smoked the room out when I opened the window. Leaving the window closed wasn't really an option as the hotel was uncomfortably hot (despite it being early November!) and stuffy. This smell was also noticeable in other parts of the hotel, and seems to be a significant problem.

I asked the hotel staff for another room, and was able to move to the front (Gloucester Road side) of the building. While this room was much better as it wasn't affected by the smoke, it was much smaller and still stuffy and also suffered from some street noise (especially at about 6am when various delivery vehicles pulled up on the street). While the condition of both my rooms was very good, the hotel does need to invest in some additional maintenance - the window of my first room wouldn't stay open (though this may have been deliberate!), the handles to the pots in the kitchen of the second room were dangerously wobbly when they were filled and the wireless internet connection was a bit unreliable. In contrast to the comments left by some other reviewers, I found the hotel's staff to be very helpful and professional.

Room Tip: Insist on a room that's not affected by the kitchen exhaust vent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Case_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 937 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

Apartment itself was very clean and comfortable, nicely decorated etc and the compact but fully kitted out little kitchen was a very handy feature.

Bedroom can be made with 2 single beds and there's a very good sized double sofa bed so it's possible to sleep up to 4 people without feeling crowded.

Location is excellent - short walk from Gloucester rd tube and maybe an hours walk to Hyde park corner.

Few negatives - sheets provided for the sofa bed were dirty and stained and the sofa bed itself, while very generously sized, was pretty uncomfortable and left me with a bit of back ache.

Be very careful not to leave anything behind as the cleaning staff will take it for themselves. If anyone notices a cleaner showing off their shiny teeth and fresh breath my electric toothbrush is very probably responsible.

Negatives aside, I wouldn't hesitate to stay again as a group if I wanted location and value for money

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulRoboto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I was travelling with my adult son & daughter & wanted a place where we could have a little space - the one bedroom 2-story suite was great - complete kitchen, everything very clean. When we were there the laundry room was out of commission so the staff offerred free dry cleaning. We found it easy walking to the tube station & the resataurant on the corner was great! It wasn't air conditioned but the staff quickly brought us a couple of fans when we asked.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudy_Toronto_Cda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great location. A little small for three adults and one child. I think the apartments are perfect for a couple traveling. The apartments are clean although the corridors/public areas could do with a spruce up - they're rather dark and dingy and a little smelly at times. Also our bathroom would have benefited from a bit of a spruce up. All in all though, a fine place to stay. Great shops just around the corner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in London and had trouble finding a good hotel that suits our needs as we were traveling with our 2-years old daughter. The 1-bedroom apt. was the perfect solution for us and in a very reasonable rate (we checked almost 20 hotels before booking...).
The apartment has two floors and this separation was very comfortable.
The hotel is situated in one of the best locations in general, and particularly when traveling with kids (the science museum, the museum of natural history and the Kensington parks - are all 5-10 minutes away by foot). Also - there are plenty of restaurants, grocery shops, coffee shops and bakeries just around the corner.
Only downside we found was the fact that there was no AC and we got to the hottest October in 160 years in London... which wasn't horrible, just a bit warm at times.
All in all - I would definitely recommend this hotel to other people, especially when traveling with kids.

Room Tip: If you're arriving on a warm season - ask for a room that is less exposed to the sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agur11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Me and my wife stayed in the citadines with our 1.4 years old boy for four nights. We liked the room very much , the kitchen is very well equipped and near there is a big branch of whole food market so we could get a lot of nice products for breakfast. Staying near the park is a great advantage for parents and Kensington gardens are about 5 min walk from the hotel. The area around the hotel is very nice with nice cafes and pubs and shopping in the near high street Kensington is also good. The public areas of the hotel are small and not welcoming and the staff are functional but not very welcoming or helpful. If you're looking fir an apartment this is one of the best options in London , if you're looking for a 4 stars hotel you can find better and cheaper options.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I needed a place to stay with my in laws for just one night as the 3 of us were attending a concert at Hammersmith Apollo. Citadines Kensington was perfect for one night. We had a one bedroomed appartment on the 6th floor which seemed newly refurbished and was very clean, not massive but on 2 floors. It was equipped to cook a basic meal, no more. The sofa bed was very comfortable. The neighbourhood was lovely, convenient for everywhere. Would like to go back for longer.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJAJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,077 in London
3,882 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#381 of 1,077 in London
1,035 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#495 of 1,077 in London
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines South Kensington

Address: 35 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in London
#151 Romantic Hotel in London
#343 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $132 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines South Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel; some with full kitchens; multilingual staff; restaurant & bar; situated near Kensington Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines South Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige South Kensington Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines South Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing