We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty standard hotel for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines Barbican London
Ranked #387 of 1,077 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was a pretty average hotel, was used for a 3 day business trip. Proximity to tube and the conference hall were both great (less than 5 minute walk to each). Close to coffee shops and restaurants. Room was pretty good - clean, nice bathroom, good bed, good kitchen. The big bottle of water they gave was also great. Only complaint about the room was that there was a sliver of space above the curtain that let in very bright light in the morning. But that's about it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all, a fine hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keem27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It was good to read that overall you were happy with our product and our services. We will be undergoing a full refurbishment to both our rooms and public areas in 2015.

We do hope that we get to welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 693 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

According to the literature the hotel is available from 2pm for check-in. We arrived at 3pm and were told that the room was not ready and were asked to wait 15 mins, as both my husband and I both have serious medical conditions this was not a first good impression. The room had everything available and was clean. The staff did not take time to explain certain issues, breakfast times, accessing the lift etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddyBear58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was sorry to read about the issue with the room not be ready at check in time. Please be assured that this is not the standard that we strive to achieve for Citadines Barbican. This issue will be looked into by both our housekeeping and front office team. The issue with the front desk team not been helpful will be addressed by the front office manager and the necessary retraining will be given. Please do accept my sincere apologies over any inconvenience caused. We do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here for one night when we went to see a show in London, and were happy with the accommodation. It was in a good location for the tube network, and the staff on reception were friendly and helpful. The room was a good size, and fitted our needs fine, and the kitchen was a useful addition. We didn't find our room noisy at night, and slept well. The bathroom was good sized, and the whole room was clean. We thought that Citadines Barbican was good value for money for our stay in London, and would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed very close to the Barbican tube station which does offer a variety of links to other tube lines and railway services. We do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne Curtin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This aparthotel was suffice for my 1 week stay in London. It's very basic, but has all the amenities required for a short stop. The kitchen was 'a little worn' and bathroom a bit scruffy. The bed was comfy and room was clean. Good location for the tube network.will come back. Good price.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I was sorry to read that you felt that we are a little basic and worn. Please be reassured that both our housekeeping and maintenance teams are working on keeping up the standards. We do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne Curtin

-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

at first i was skeptical to book this apart hotel but during my 2 days stay in london, everything exceeded my expectation. the rooms are clean, bed is comfortable and the staff were excellent. i won't hesitate to book this hotel again when i go back to london!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeyrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I am happy to read that you have a very pleasant stay with us at Citadines Barbican. We do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Anne Curtin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Barbican is a very trendy neighbourhood in London nowadays, so the hotel is at the great location. The metroplitan is very close, but even if you had to walk (as I had to due to London Tube strike in April), you can reach the centre in some 20-25 minutes on foot, which is great!

Ask for a back room, since it guarantees you peace and quiet.
If you like to completely darken you room, no problem here. You can sleep late in the morning.:))
The cushions are soft and very nice, which is also very important.

The kitchen is small but enough for making a tea or coffee or something simple if you're up to cooking.

The wi-fi signal is strong in your room, which is excellent.

I gave everything 5 stars except for the room, since 5-star room has to have a balcony or be a little bit bigger, in my opinion.

I was very satisfied and would come back for sure.:))

Room Tip: Ask for a back room, since it guarantees you peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notanorherbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I was happy to read that your have a very comfortable and pleasant stay. We do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Anne Curtin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Friendly staff, clean comprehensive facilities. We stayed on the Saturday of the late May Bank Holiday weekend, booked quite late but still excellent value when other hotels were charging premium rates.
The Citadine model, where you have a kitchen facilities in your room, and a clothes drying rack in the bathroom, won't suit all but was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcam1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I was happy to read that you had a nice stay with us at Citadines Barbican. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff.

We do hope that we get opportunity to welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#699 of 1,077 in London
1,486 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#246 of 1,077 in London
1,552 reviews
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Barbican London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Barbican London

Address: 7-21 Goswell Road, London EC1M 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Green Hotel in London
#278 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $134 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Barbican London 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel with modern accommodations; multilingual staff; situated in the Financial District. Now offering complimentary WiFi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Barbican London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines London Barbican Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines Barbican London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing