We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, nothing glamorous and a little scruffy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines Barbican London
Ranked #402 of 1,077 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This aparthotel was suffice for my 1 week stay in London. It's very basic, but has all the amenities required for a short stop. The kitchen was 'a little worn' and bathroom a bit scruffy. The bed was comfy and room was clean. Good location for the tube network.will come back. Good price.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I was sorry to read that you felt that we are a little basic and worn. Please be reassured that both our housekeeping and maintenance teams are working on keeping up the standards. We do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne Curtin

-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 697 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

at first i was skeptical to book this apart hotel but during my 2 days stay in london, everything exceeded my expectation. the rooms are clean, bed is comfortable and the staff were excellent. i won't hesitate to book this hotel again when i go back to london!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeyrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I am happy to read that you have a very pleasant stay with us at Citadines Barbican. We do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Anne Curtin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Barbican is a very trendy neighbourhood in London nowadays, so the hotel is at the great location. The metroplitan is very close, but even if you had to walk (as I had to due to London Tube strike in April), you can reach the centre in some 20-25 minutes on foot, which is great!

Ask for a back room, since it guarantees you peace and quiet.
If you like to completely darken you room, no problem here. You can sleep late in the morning.:))
The cushions are soft and very nice, which is also very important.

The kitchen is small but enough for making a tea or coffee or something simple if you're up to cooking.

The wi-fi signal is strong in your room, which is excellent.

I gave everything 5 stars except for the room, since 5-star room has to have a balcony or be a little bit bigger, in my opinion.

I was very satisfied and would come back for sure.:))

Room Tip: Ask for a back room, since it guarantees you peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notanorherbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I was happy to read that your have a very comfortable and pleasant stay. We do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Anne Curtin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Friendly staff, clean comprehensive facilities. We stayed on the Saturday of the late May Bank Holiday weekend, booked quite late but still excellent value when other hotels were charging premium rates.
The Citadine model, where you have a kitchen facilities in your room, and a clothes drying rack in the bathroom, won't suit all but was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcam1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I was happy to read that you had a nice stay with us at Citadines Barbican. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff.

We do hope that we get opportunity to welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We have stayed here twice this year and both times we have found it comfortable, close to the underground and supermarkets and some smaller resturants. It is an apart -hotel so is self catering if this is your choice, with a fridge, dishwasher, stovetop and convection microwave. Within walking distance to some wonderful attractions. I would recommend this for couples even a family.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter. During the day there is some noise if the window is open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review. I was happy to read that you found your apartment comfortable. We are indeed situated near to some exciting places of interest including St Pauls Cathedral and The Tower of London.

We do hope that we will get the chance in the not too distant future to welcome you back to Citadines Barbican.

Kind regards,

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Citadines barbican for 1 week due to proximity to a school. The hotel is walking distance to Barbican tube station, Tesco express and a nice Italian restaurant (corner of a room).

We took the 1 bedroom apartment, with kitchen and living room. Good amenities in the place. However the hair dryer stop working after being used for a couple of minutes but the staff managed to get a replacement.

Thank Kelc32
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. Regarding the issues that you experienced with the hairdryer please accept my sincere apologies over any inconvenience caused. I do hope that the team at Reception were able to organise a replacement one for you. We do hope that we can welcome you back to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I should first of all that we enjoyed our stay of 9 days. On arrival we had a strong smell of mould in the apartment. Strong enough to bring on an asthma attack. Talked to reception who were pleasant about it but they were fully booked. No we could not be moved the next day. Housekeeping and maintenance arrived but they could not help, but could smell the mould. We solved the problem by keeping the sink and bath plugged at all times. Room number to avoid 607.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Aussietriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne C, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks you for your feedback. I was sorry to read about the issues you experience with the bathroom. Please accept my sincere apologies over any inconvenience caused. Please be reassured that our maintenance and our housekeeping team were dealing with the situation. I believe that there may have been a breakdown in communcation of our side as we were offering to room move you the following day after the issue was brought to our attention. Once again my sincere apologies that this was not make clear to you. I will address this with the team members concerned.

We do hope that we can welcome you to Citadines Barbican in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Anne C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#668 of 1,077 in London
1,526 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#251 of 1,077 in London
1,561 reviews
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Barbican London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Barbican London

Address: 7-21 Goswell Road, London EC1M 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Green Hotel in London
#278 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $136 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Barbican London 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel with modern accommodations; multilingual staff; situated in the Financial District. Now offering complimentary WiFi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Barbican London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines London Barbican Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines Barbican London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing