We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, good room, just one little niggle.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines Barbican London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citadines Barbican London
Ranked #443 of 1,086 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient location, good room, just one little niggle.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was very happy with the size, layout and cleanliness of my single sofa bed room. The location is perfect for me between Barbican station and my company's London office. Tesco Express practically next door lets you make full use of the very well equipped little kitchen.

I have only one gripe and I hope I don't have to mention next time I stay as I have decided its not really acceptable. The cover on the sofa bed was very dirty and I eventually pulled it back and sat only on the blankets underneath. Real shame as the bed itself was nice and comfy when sleeping.

As I said I will stay here again as its very convenient and otherwise great value. Just hope they wash those sofa covers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Regular cleaning and maintenance is carried out in our serviced residence. We regret that you found your Sofa bed cover dirty. Following your feedback, we have reminded them to be more alert and careful.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    281
    118
    35
    31
See reviews for
95
192
54
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was put up in Citadines for 2 weeks by my company. It is nothing like the pictures suggest on the hotel website. The sofa-cum bed is extremely uncomfortable (i could hear the springs when making the minutest movement). When the sofa-bed is opened, there is not even an inch of space to move around. The bathroom was pretty sad too. Shower was ok but the lighting was dull giving it a dingy look. Breakfast is pretty boring and not value for money. The view from the rooms is not even a bustling road but drab almost empty office buildings. Throw in the English weather and you will for sure feel pretty miserable. I am sure in this budget, much better service apartments can be found.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tanaya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with Citadines Barbican and that we could not make your stay more comfortable.
As a serviced residence, we always consider the comfort of our residents of utmost importance for this reason I want to inform you that all our sofa bed have been replaced by proper bed. Moreover, we have different room types to adapt to our guest needs.

Once again, we apologize that we were unable to make you feel more at home.
We would have loved to be able to address your concerns while you were here and had the chance to make your stay more pleasant. We hope that you would reconsider staying with us again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Tiny serviced apartment that i use as a home away from home. Staff friendly and hotel well located opposite Barbican, short walk to St Pauls and all the sights. Very quiet on the weekends as its in the business end of town.

Room Tip: some face the street and others the rear lane. Lane is quieter but rooms overlooked by offices. Main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing Citadines Barbican as your prefered accommodation during your stay in London. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Citadine barbican is a good hotel to stay for those who has food allergy problem because it is an
apartment hotel with facilities to heat up simple food bought from nearby tesco express. It has storage and laundry facilities to cater for travellers who wishes to visit other European cities or
other parts of UK. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Just two underground stations from
King Cross/St Pancreas.

Will stay here again in the future. It is like a home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slean28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your compliments about our serviced residence during your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

First stay 16 Sept. Travelling with a baby but reception were great, cot ready in the room, took our bags before I could ask, helped with the parking, really great arrival experience.

Only one night but everything worked fine. Would suggest adjusting the internal door closers to a slower pace, a bit inconvenient - presume it's a fire reg to have them on internal doors? Internet should be plug & play, not this MI6/CIA level of security passwords. At least make the username easy, either defaulting to room number or surname off hotel computer system interface.

Hard getting even a 30 minute late check-out (I was stuck in a meeting), but got it in the end.

Overall great, coming back 2 days later.

Room Tip: Stayed in an apartment type room, excellent value. The Studio Club looks good too. High floors prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Des P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.
From all of us at Citadines Barbican, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We often stay in apartment hotels when travelling with our kids. We prefer making our own breakfasts and having access to washing facilities etc. Citadines was okay, but I would choose somewhere else next time - Marlin apartments for example have washing machines in the kitchenette, Citadines just had a shared laundry in the basement.

One thing that drove me particularly mad was the self-closing doors in the apartment. They're all very heavy doors and very dangerous for the fingers of a small child! My best tip if staying here is to take a pocket full of doorstops with you.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back, on the 6th floor, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uddagarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback.
I noticed that we failed to meet your expectations in certain aspects of your recent stay with us, I offer you my deepest apologies for having failed to give you the service all our residents expect.
We do hope you will give us another opportunity to change the impression you have of us.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback. From all of us at Citadines Barbican, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the Citadines Barbican on Saturday night as a group of three adults in a one bedroom apartment. When I arrived, I was pleasantly surprised that the one bedroom apartment is actually two studio flats joined by a small hallway. Each flat contained a comfortable double fold-down bed, large desk, wardrobe, kitchen and bathroom. The kitchen was well equipped with hobs, microwave, dishwasher and kettle. There is also a flat screen TV and DVD player.

The location of the apartment was perfect, being a couple minutes walk to Barbican Underground. Our rooms had a view of the Gherkin and although we faced the main road, we didn't notice much noise.

Downsides to the apartments include lack of space to move to the other side of the fold-down bed due to the massive desk in the room and some blackened grout near the bathtub but other than that, it was very clean.

On the whole, the apartment was very good value (cost less than a nearby Travelodge) and it was convenient to have the self catering facilities. I'll definitely consider returning next time I need somewhere to stay in London.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank octobersky07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team at Citadines Barbican.
Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#268 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#181 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Thistle City Barbican
#579 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,861 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#110 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Barbican London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Barbican London

Property: Citadines Barbican London
Address: 7-21 Goswell Road, London EC1M 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Green Hotel in London
#279 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Barbican London 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel with modern accommodations; multilingual staff; situated in the Financial District. Now offering complimentary WiFi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Citadines Barbican London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines London Barbican Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines Barbican London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing