We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citadines Barbican London
Ranked #422 of 1,067 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Basic but pleasant”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you need to stay near the Barbican center, the Citadines Aparthotel is the right place for you. Europeans know what to expect of Citadines: simple, basic rooms and minimal service for travelers who spend little time in the room and want a safe and modern building with decent central heat and a/c.
The tiny kitchenette has an electric kettle (no coffee maker), small fridge, and electric burner, adequate for simple meals. Eating utensils and china are provided.
Rooms are compact--think sofabed, not king size. Bathrooms are adequate. Linens are not changed daily, nor is there daily maid service. But rooms are clean and fitted with a desk and flat-screen TV. Skip the £12 breakfast and go around the corner to Starbucks or Prêt à Manger.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at Citadines Barbican.
Your feedback inspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that residents have come to expect.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    287
    121
    37
    31
See reviews for
103
203
54
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night in July as we had some evening parties in London. The hotel is well situated near to tube stations, bus stops and in London so that was good for the location. However, the room was really dated and not particularly nice. It was functional - the kitchenette was fine and modern but the sofa bed was a little thin with a thin mattress on it. The bathroom was ok - the whole room was just ok.

We knew there would be a sofa bed as we'd read the reviews on here about it but it was just how out of date it felt and quite souless. However, it was functional and fine for us as we literally were just staying there but £125 for a night felt steep for something that really was quite basic.

However, the staff were lovely and very helpful and the reception area was nice. I don't think I'd stay here again but it's not terrible - just ok.

Room Tip: Even though we were on the road side of the hotel, it was quiet and we didn't hear much traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leicester_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I will share your compliments with my colleagues. As a serviced residence, we always consider the comfort of our residents of utmost importance, that's why I'm happy to inform you that we planed to replace our sofa bed by the end of the year.
We hope to welcome you again at Citadines Barbican.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Not the greatest hotel, but nothing really wrong either. Feels rather cheap inside, beds are a bit odd(our bed was a semi futon). But the hotel was clean and the kitchen was nicely equipped. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The tube station is only 3 minutes walk (circle/district lines).

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank easyman1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a studio with sofa/bed. Although I had no high expectations, the experience was actually quite pleasant. Our studio was clean and had no unpleasant smell, which you often have in carpeted rooms. The sofa/bed was comfortable, although once you pull it out there is not much space left to move around the room. We arranged our own b'fast, which is quite easy as there are convenient stores nearby that are open until 11:00pm. We were not clear about what happened to the change of towels, the restocking of toilet paper and shampoo, so we inquired at the reception. They mentioned that the rooms are serviced once a week (assuming you stay a week), but they offered to replace the towels anyway and restock what was missing. They followed through and upon our return from dinner, everything they promised was taken care of. Location of the place was excellent as we had our meetings nearby. So all in all, my first experience with an apart/hotel formula, but it worked out very well. Excellent price/quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team at Citadines Barbican.
Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here recently whilst out on the razzle in the city, and really only needed a place to rest our heads. To be honest I wasn't that hopeful when we booked, but the price was right. So, location first. Well, it's certainly not the prettiest area, but you do look down on the well-kept balconies of the Barbican estate and there were views of both the Gherkin and the Shard from our seventh floor room. We found our way back to the hotel from Shoreditch even in slightly pickled condition, and the area itself around the hotel felt safe and quiet late at night.

We found the hotel room itself clean and tidy with no evidence of unpleasant smells - however, given that there is a kitchenette, if the previous occupants have cooked strong-smelling food you've always got that risk. The bed was perfectly comfortable (we had a proper bed rather than one of the sofa beds) although the TV reception in the room was a trifle blizzardy to say the least. Annoyingly the free wifi is for one device only - cue some minor marital strife when it was discovered that one of us had snaffled the wifi connection.

We booked via a website deal and got our breakfast thrown in, and were pleasantly surprised. It's contintental-style, but there was plenty of it, with ham, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, jam, croissants, toast, and cereal all available. Plenty to set you up for the day on.

In summary, we found the hotel absolutely fine for our needs - not amazing, but efficiently run, clean, quiet and better than we'd expected it to be. It's in a central enough location and we had a comfortable stay - with the added bonus that we were upgraded.
No complaints here...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your comment about our serviced residence during your recent stay.
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Was attending an event at The Brewery so this place was located in an ideal location and close to the tube station. Stayed in a studio room. Arrived to find that my room shared a small locked lobby with another room - as a solo female traveller I wasn't too keen on this. The room was ok...little tatty round the edges. Had no issues pulling down the bed but left little room to move around it. Had a major problem trying to get the tap to alter from filling the bath to the shower...seemed to be broken. When I left the room to go to the event I was attending I thought some type of nuclear attack had taken place in the corridor as the cleaners had put down a thick layer of what seemed to be green Shake n Vac or similar on the landing carpet - the whole length of this! Had to pick my way through this in my heels...while trying not to breathe it in. Maybe this type of activity should take place when people aren't using the corridor? They needn't have bothered as when I returned from the event the landing carpet was in no way improved - still dirty and smelly! Better spending the money on replacing the carpet.

Room Tip: Imagine that the more expensive rooms are better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MissPernickety77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience you encountered during your previous stay with us.
As we have apartments in different layouts, we would have been glad to show you other apartments if your discomfort was made known to us during your stay. We truly want our residents to feel at home when they are staying with us.
We also apologize for the inconveniences caused by the clenaning of carpets and in your shower.We hope that you would reconsider staying with us again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here for a quick overnight stop whilst having dinner with friends in London and the location was good for me, one underground stop from Liverpool St station and 200m ish from the Barbican tube stop. It took me about 30min to walk back to the hotel from Tottenham Court Road there were night buses but I preferred to walk.
The hotel reception is clean and generally the staff are welcoming, the first room they gave me had a sofa bed, it smelt horrid, and the window wasn't secure. I had paid in advance 130 euros for a studio, I at least expected a bed. They kindly said they'd upgrade me for no cost which meant I got a bed, however this room also smelt disgusting. The third room they showed me was acceptable, and had they given me this first I'd have probably rated the aparthotel an average. It was clean with a small but adequate bathroom, there were all the necessary adjuncts, the dryer overheated and kept cutting out. It was clean and the bed was comfy.
On the website I booked through it said there was parking but when I arrived it was £25 overnight.
Generally the hotel is not what it advertises itself as, they have acceptable rooms but they have grotty smelly sofa bed rooms also and it is not clear about payment for parking. I stayed here as it was a reasonable price in the area I wanted to be in and it was somewhere to lay my head. I would not have wanted to stay more than one night and I would not go back. London is expensive but there are places only mildly more expensive which are much much better.

Room Tip: keep saying no until they give you an acceptable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jivedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
It is our every intention to provide excellent service and products to our residents, and we apologize that we were unable to make you feel more at home and comfortable. We welcome suggestions such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve.

We hope that you would reconsider staying with us again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#260 of 1,067 in London
1,446 reviews
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#314 of 1,067 in London
545 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#159 of 1,067 in London
764 reviews
Thistle City Barbican
#609 of 1,067 in London
2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Barbican London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Barbican London

Property: Citadines Barbican London
Address: 7-21 Goswell Road, London EC1M 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Green Hotel in London
#279 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Barbican London 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel with modern accommodations; multilingual staff; situated in the Financial District. Now offering complimentary WiFi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Barbican London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines London Barbican Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines Barbican London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing