We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a night if your ok with a sofa bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines Barbican London
Ranked #387 of 1,077 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I staked here for a work in December, we chose it based on postcode and cost as we were going to an event nearby. The hotel seemed ok and we were surprised to find they were apartments off very strange mini hallways. The rooms are very compact but have everything you need, I feel they are designed for people staying for business during the week. The kitchens are good bar the lack of wine glasses and there are mini supermarkets close by. The hotel is a short walk from the tube. The only real downside is there is no real bed just a sofa bed which Is all made up already but is a bit of a pain to put up and fills the room when it is up. I don't think I would stay ageing but if you are going alone not sharing like myself and you want to be self catering then its a good hotel.

The almond croissants and coffee at breakfast were very good!

Room Tip: Ask for a double sofa bed if your a couple/ good friends as the twin one are very uncomfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 693 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Nothing bad to say everything was ok.
A good place to live.
Tea and coffee free anytime no need to go to Starbucks or Costa.
Free hi speed wifi.
Quiet and clean.
Employees are very kind.
We do recommand it.

Thank Alain T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here for five weeks

Basic stay (perhaps on a budget!(?)); do not expect much. Overall an okayish stay (has minimum requirements though-like kitchen utensils, hot plates, microwave etc.). Location was okayish too, nothing great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGeek25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

...is definitely the cleanness of this hotel. I have found blood spots on the blankets and various messy spots all around. The next problem is terrible old sofa I had in my room. Everything all is rather average without any special value added. Be aware that they made a great photos published on their page. The reality is much more boring than their fancy photos, maybe some good filters used. Good thing about this hotel is close position to Barbican stop and Tesco nearby.

Room Tip: It's hard to say, you just have to be lucky and have the clean one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rastislav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNECURTIN, Manager at Citadines Barbican London, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to read your comments concerning your recent stay. We also received your online guest survey dated 28 November and received on 30 November and an investigation was carried out, our Housekeeper was not able to verify your observations but did indicate that the sofa bed covers may have been changed on your departure.

We always encourage our residents to bring their concern to the Duty Manager at the time when the issue arises. The purpose is to ensure that their concerns are addressed promptly with the objective of making your stay with us a pleasant one. In this instance, the management of the property was unaware of the incident and is very sorry to learn that you were left with an unpleasant experience.

We have a number of different room types available at the Residence, these include sofabed studios, murphy bed studios, Club rooms and 1-bedroom apartments. Please allow us to explain that the interiors of our apartments seen in the photographs on our websites were presented in best light during professional photography whilst using existing furnishings.

Once again, we apologize that we were unable to make you feel more at home and
comfortable. We would have loved to be able to address your concerns while you were
here and had the chance to make your stay more pleasant. We hope that you would
reconsider staying with us again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great option for anyone visiting London on a budget! The small kitchenette includes hob, fridge, microwave and dishwasher. With a tesco down the road it's easy to pick up ready meals and breakfast saving on the cost of eating out. You get a 'halls of residence' feeling, but its clean and warm. There is a fold away sofa bed, so not great if you like a good bed. The location is perfect for exploring north and east London and just a short hop to the west end. Not bad for £104!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Enjoyed my stay for business. Close to the Barbican and a better kitchen than my own one! Comfortable bed and fully equipped bathroom and a balcony with a view of the Shard and Gerkin. TV didn't have full freeview which was disappointing, but did have some international channels. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Basic hotel,room clean but needs updating furniture looks a little tired,staff helpful,all facilities advertised were available,room average sized but gets a little small when fold away bed is open,was given a room key instead of a key card which seemed unusual.if you want a value room which is clean for a short stay its fine

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#699 of 1,077 in London
1,488 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#246 of 1,077 in London
1,551 reviews
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Barbican London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Barbican London

Address: 7-21 Goswell Road, London EC1M 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Green Hotel in London
#278 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $134 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Barbican London 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel with modern accommodations; multilingual staff; situated in the Financial District. Now offering complimentary WiFi throughout the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Citadines Barbican London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines London Barbican Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London
Citadines Barbican London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing