We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Umi London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Umi London
Ranked #799 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Umi as we were advised it was good. It was good. Not great! The rooms are old but clean, the staff are friendly, especially the breakfast supervisor (she was fantastic) and remembered our orders each morning. The floors are very loud and creaky which had us laughing a lot but maybe not so funny when trying to sleep in busy areas of the hotel. We were lucky enough to have a room at the end of the corridor so it wasn't such a big deal.

Internet was expensive - No free wifi here.

The location was great! Just around the corner from the train station and shops. We loved London and will go back again at some stage. I hope next time we're in London we can afford a more modern hotel but we would be sure to stay in the same area. It's true... You get what you pay for. A budget hotel in a great location.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    190
    195
    76
    66
See reviews for
78
161
98
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

London is all about location, if you want to be close to the centre of London where most of the attractions are then you will sacrifice space as alot of the rooms in accommodation around central London are small.
The Umi Hotel is located in an expensive and pretty part of London called Paddington. The Hotel is only a 5 min walk away from Queensway Street where there are plenty of yummy restaurants to choose from along with great bargains in the London souvenir shops. The hotel doesn’t have a currency exchange but there is plenty on this same street. Bayswater and Queensway stations are both located on this street also which you can take a 5 min tube ride into the centre on London, remember to ask about the Oyster Card as it will save you heaps of money and really easy to use.
The Umi hotel is pretty good for space, when we arrived they put us in a bigger room than I booked originally that had extra space which was great.
The rooms aren’t new but nicely furnished with everything you need, tea coffee making in your room, towels, TV, heating, shampoo/soap which is in a dispenser fixed to the walls, shame for those that collect all the free little toiletries though 
The room we had was a Double room located on the 2nd floor where the floor boards are really noisy in the corridor which reminded us of our teenage years sneaking home and trying not to make a noise. The lift is small but big enough for 2 people and their luggage.
There is internet/PC’s and WIFI available at a cost of 1 pound per hour.
A full English breakfast, coffee and a juice was included in the room rate and was beautiful and fresh daily with really good friendly service.
The staff are very friendly and helpful providing helpful maps and information, would stay here again for sure next time I’m in London.
PS - Nearly forgot to mention that the resturant at the Hotel is open to midnight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank figjam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Umi Hotel is for those who want a location well suited for exploring London City. Our room on 3rd floor was tired and with nasty stains on the carpet but clean. Window only possible to partly open and very squeaky corridors.
Breakfast nothing to write about and great coffee. Staff relatively unattentive and the smelly storage room for luggage a strange combination of lost items of clothes and jammed suitcases that you can Deal with using the handed out key.
I know hotels are terribly over priced in general in London. This one is no exception to that rule.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwesth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Be careful of the online booking conditions as there are no changes or refunds. Just thought I would mention this as I booked 3 nights B&B online and paid upfront several months before my trip and as you do there are school events changed so we could not make the first night and were unable to use it. Anyway the Hotel is good and the location even better. Close to restaurants and tubes to everywhere . We will always stay here when possible .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SACLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

this hotel is located in a great location, close to Bayswater train station as well as lots of other things. the staff were ALMOST always happy and greeted you upon arrival or exit. However, the room was tiny and more like a prison cell than anything else. The room had clearly just been repainted as the smell of fresh paint was still strong. the beds themselves were comfortable. there was a small amount of noise coming into the room from the restaurant downstairs. all in all an average place to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night on 21 June 2013.

Only cost abut £55 for a single room so expected it to be basic - it was. Situated about 5-10 mins walk from Bayswater tune station in Leinster Gardens - which was a nice leafy oasis in the city.

Hotel is an old building (like all the others in the area) and most of the residents seemed to be young backpackers. Reception people were nice (although you definitely cannot book in before 2:00pm) and helpful. Room was on 4th floor - very basic, tv, shower, toilet, coffee and tea making facilities, a bed, wardrobe and old chest of drawers. Carpets badly stained and window surrounds were in need of a paint. No fridge or safety deposit box in room. Bed was comfy enough but right next to the window. A fair racket in what I thought was a room above but then realised that is where all the gear for the lifts was and thats what was causing the noise. Quitened down considerably as the lifts were used less in the evening - actually got a good nights sleep. 2 lifts in the hotel as far as I could see, small bar and food serving area. Could have had breakfast as an added charge but didn't bother.

I knew what I was getting for the money and have no complaints - however if you are going expecting a classy hotel this is not the right place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C Saloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Found the hotel (eventually after some wandering!) in a relatively nice bit of London, fairly conveniently located near Bayswater Tube station (maybe 10 mins walk if you don't get lost). The walk to the room down the corridor was bizarre... most lumpy floor I've ever seen, hilarious really! But the room (by London standards) was pretty big, clean enough and not too noisy. OLD but ok. Staff were nice, wifi has a fee (don't pay... head down the road and use it somewhere where you eat). It's not too bad for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnabellalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
New Linden Hotel
New Linden Hotel
#592 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#599 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#445 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#600 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#580 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Notting Hill
Space Apart Hotel
Space Apart Hotel
#317 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umi London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umi London

Property: Umi London
Address: 16 Leinster Square, Notting Hill - Bayswater, London W2 4PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #799 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Umi London 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities overlooks a pretty garden square; near Kensington Palace, Portobello Road Market & Queensway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Umi London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umi London Hotel London
Umi Hotel London
London Umi Hotel
Umi London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing